We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced, food disappointing”
Review of Llangoed Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Llangoed Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llyswen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Llangoed Hall was the third and last hotel we stayedl during our one week trip to Wales. As we spent most of the week at Portmeirion, and Llangoed Hall was designed by the same architect as Portmeirion, we had been interested to compare the two. I am glad to have seen another piece of work by Sir Clough Williams-Ellis, but I cannot think of any reason to go back there.
The dinner was most disappointing, easily the worst among what we had during our holiday. The salad was either sandy or moldy. The summer pudding, tasted as bad as it looked, really stodgy and starchy. Even Waitrose does a much better job. The rest mediocre. At £45 per person, I would expect better, much better. The room was spacious, but some of the furniture looked shabby. The staff seemed willing, but willingness goes only so far. Of the three hotels we stayed, it was the most expensive and the least satisfactory. Unless somebody else is paying, I am not going back there again. And if I did go back, I would avoid dinner there.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Quincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 649 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2007

After a fantastic weekend celebrating our wedding, we were really looking forward to spending our short honeymoon at Llangoed Hall. Unfortunatley we found it rather stuffy, precious and overpriced. The atmosphere in the restaurant was particularly stifling although the food was very good. It has to be said that the location by the river Wye was the hotel's saving grace.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Donners_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2007

My wife and I spent a week in Wales visiting some of her family. This was one of three places we stayed in the Powys area. We stayed on the winter break rate of 3 nights dinner bed & breakfast with the third night's accommodation free albeit I still had to pay for dinner.

This is a short review as it can quickly be summed up as excellent. If I had to come up with a negative then it would be that the hotel was very quiet and at dinner there was never more than one, at most two, other couples having dinner each night. However, if it had been busier then there would not have had a deal on!

I am sure that we will stay here again. I think next time we will stay on a B&B basis for all but one night as I think I would like a bit more going on at dinner and a more varied menu ( the menu was the same for all three nights). Although the menu was the same, if you had a request for dinner when you were having breakfast then they would happily make it for you, nothing was too much trouble and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2007

If you stay at this hotel, ask them to confirm in writing that your stay will not coincide with a wedding. I booked our weekend away months in advance, and called in January to confirm that we would not clash with a wedding. The hotel assured me that no wedding would be take place during our stay. How wrong they were. I was hugely upset that on Saturday, a wedding party dominated the day. During the late afternoon, noise from the party filled our bedroom. We could not enjoy our pre-dinner drinks outside as the lawn was full of people. Wedding guests trooped in and out of the drawing room throughout the evening, despite a sign put in place on the door to ensure that non-wedding guests retained some privacy. At about half past ten we finished dinner and went to bed, or would have done so; but for the noise from the party below. It didn't matter that we hadn't been invited to the wedding — we felt as though we were there already.

The hotel is beautiful, the scenery stunning and food pretty good. But to be asked to pay £250.00 per night when I could have enjoyed a quieter night at home in London was an unacceptable insult. We felt as though Llangoed hotel was taking two bites of the cherry - accepting both a lucrative wedding contract and hosting private guests at the expense of our stay. Disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BatterseaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

Beautifull surroundings and lovely Jacobean Manor House. Owned by the
founder of Laura Ashley, the public rooms etc. are very well done. Service is good albeit not particularly warm. Food is about average for this type of hotel but the wine list leaves something to be desired. Excellent venue for weddings and family gatherings.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank plkmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2007

We were really looking forward to a return visit to this hotel but were a little disappointed. OK, the best features are still there - the location, the fabulous house and the staff - but the attention to detail wasn't. We stayed for 2 nights. On the second day we returned to our room to find that the only thing that had been done to our room was that the bed had been made and the towels changed. Not good enough for a hotel of this standard. The tea and scones that we ordered arrived 20 minutes apart and when the tea arrived it was Tetley's, again not something you expect from a hotel charging such a huge amount of money. We have better tea at home. The kitchen had run out of one of the entrees in the evening and the next morning the Welsh breakfast had spent too long under the warming lamp.
I have just looked at a recent bill from The Howard in Edinburgh - better service, better hotel and we spent as much on 3 nights as we did here for 2. So - pull your socks up folks. You can do better in what is a really splendid spot.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Berkshirebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2007

Booked a short Stay at LLangoed Hall with my wife. Had a wonderful time. extra touches make it stand out from other so called five star hotels. A Letter from the manager was in our room. Fresh flowers and fruits and free sherry, which went down nicely before dinner. Dinner is a formal and at the same time relaxed. The staff are friendly and efficient and make you feel relaxed as you sit by the fire and have some canapes. We had a fantastic meal using lots of local produce. We chose a bottle of house wine for our meal. When the chap on duty heard my wife talking about chilean wine the staff suggested a bottle of chilean wine at £22.00 which was a few pounds more but tasted excellent. The staff can easily guide you on what to eat and drink and seem caring and very confident without being stuffy. After dinner we sat by the fire and had coffee and chocolates, and enjoyed chatting to the charming staff. Tea in the morning is complimentary and your very own butler brings it to you in bed. Breakfast was an extravaganza with a mixture of buffet and freshly cooked breakfast. Overall the best thing about our stay was the atmosphere, service, grounds, and food. they have a large well attended garden and a maze. We will definately return. Nothing is to much trouble for the hotel staff. Our favourite members of Staff were the polish porter Charles and Sam who was the duty manager.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank efj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llyswen
8.6 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
985 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
480 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,361 reviews
8.7 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
829 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llangoed Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llangoed Hall

Address: Llyswen | Brecon, Llyswen LD3 0YP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llyswen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llyswen
Price Range: $165 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Llangoed Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the banks of the River Wye amidst 17 acres of stunning landscaped gardens, this elegant Country House Hotel enjoys the full scenic beauty of the Welsh Countryside, within easy reach of the main A40 and the main town of Brecon. Enjoy the finest Welsh cuisine in the 2 AA Rossette award-wining restaurant, or just soak up the ambience by the blazing log fires. In the summer enjoy the views of the River Wye and the Black Mountains whilst relaxing with a drink on the outdoor terrace. The hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and free parking. Dating from 1632, Llangoed Hall is rich in local history, a fact that is expressed in its numerous period furnishings and antique fittings and a distinguished collection of paintings and drawings from such notable artists as Whistler, Herman Dudley Murphy and James Cowie. Such refined splendour has contributed to the hotels enviable reputation for hosting weddings. From large lavish parties with a marquee, to smaller affairs with a just few close friends and family, guests can relax safe in the knowledge that there every need will be catered to. Indeed, with such a picturesque location, including breath taking views across the Black Mountains, it is hard to imagine a more perfect venue for that most special of days. Each one of the hotels twenty-three en-suite bedrooms has been individually designed and exquisitely decorated with a full refurbishment in 2013. As well as the classic room types we also offer graceful four-poster rooms and luxurious suites. Every room is complete with all the necessary creature comforts one needs for a relaxing, stress-free stay including a flat-screen TV, telephone, free Wi-Fi access, bathrobes and slippers, fresh fruit and mineral water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Llangoed Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llangoed Hall Hotel Llyswen
Llangoed Hall Brecon
Llangoed Hall Hotel Brecon
Hall Llangoed
Llangoed Hall Wales/Llyswen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing