We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Llangoed Hall
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tower Hotel(Talgarth)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Swan at Hay(Hay-on-Wye)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Guesthouse(Builth Wells)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhydspence Inn(Whitney-on-Wye)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lake Country House & Spa(Llangammarch Wells)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (679)
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveler rating
435
131
59
36
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
131
59
36
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslaura ashleyafternoon teadecanter of sherrycountry housethe rivermichelin starcream teabeautiful buildingfour poster beddownton abbeybilliard roomtasting menustately homea la carte menusconespublic roomsbutler service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
483 - 488 of 679 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

A friend described the place as the most romantic place in UK. This indeed raised our expectations. We were not disappointed. The staff was very good. By some bizarre occurrence,
we were practically the only customers, especially during the dinner (thanks to this, the need to wear a long sleeve shirt was waived) and we got really pampered.
Definitely a memorable stay including a good walk to the nearby and beautiful river.

Room Tip: We selected a state room, a bit more expensive, but Worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16frogprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have stayed at Llangoed a couple of times in the last 2 years and were recently lucky enough to hold our wedding at this very special venue.

It is a wonderful place - the building is breath taking, the grounds are beautiful, and the interior is really special. There is so much history here and the recent investment by the new owner has transformed an excellent hotel into an outstanding one. The little touches like a decanter of sherry in your room, morning newspapers, tea tray service etc... make your stay seem far more homely than you would imagine in a stately property like this one.

What really sets Llangoed Hall apart though is its staff. Totally professional while being very warm and friendly. Non-intrusive but always on hand for the smallest of requests. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is handled smoothly with no fuss and smiles on faces. Lynn Tonkin managed all of the details of our wedding with us from day one of planning (a long while ago!), and she was an absolute joy to deal with. On the day, every little detail felt perfect and seamless - all of our guests were blown away by Llangoed and its staff, and all of them commented on how perfectly they felt the wedding went. That was in large part down to Lynn, Brian and their colleagues - a real A Team!

This review would be incomplete without mentioning the food - it really is superb. We have enjoyed several dining experiences at Llangoed - breakfast, dinner, afternoon tea, evening buffet, wedding breakfast - and on every occasion it has been top notch. Even when catering for large groups there was no dip in quality - a difficult feat. Many of our wedding guests told us that it was the best wedding food they had ever experienced, a real testament to the quality of the chef and his kitchen.

So in short, a wonderful location, a magical property, great food and fabulous, amazing, attentive staff - what more could you ask for?!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I have visited Llangoed hall several times now and every time we have been very impressed by the staff. Even when we visited whilst the hotel was in administration ,which was a tough time for them ,they were exceptional .
We returned this weekend , the hotel is under new ownership and we were greeted with the same level of service , politeness and friendliness. The hotel was looking more "loved" - touch ups of paint etc
The room ( number 8) had been tastefully updated retaining the homely feel of the hotel which we love. The bathroom was beautiful ( just waiting for the telly on The wall which will be the icing on the cake)
It looks like exciting new developments will be happening with a spa being added and for foodies like us a new chef ( Nick Brodie) has been taken on. I had a look on the internet and Nick is looking to increase the use of local and potentially on site produce - with the hope of a Michelin star !
We took our 9 week old son and all of the staff were very kind to him and the room was a great size for us to stay with the travel
cot .
I excited about the enhancements which are scheduled to take place at Llangoed - which should make it even better !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AHolbrookCaunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at Llangoed Hall for 1 night, we arrived at 2.30pm on a lovely sunny day and were warmly greeted. We enjoyed a walk along the nearby river followed by a pot of loose leaf tea whilst relaxing with a variety of complementary magazines in the sitting area.

We booked in for dinner which was £55 pp. and well worth it! After ordering we had canapés which were presented by one of the chefs, they were amazing! We then enjoyed a muse bouche, accompanied by some of the best bread i've ever tasted and 3 delicious courses! The portions were perfect and flavours spot on! I would definitely recommend booking for dinner.

The bedroom was wonderful, plenty of space, character, v.clean and the bath and separate shower was great! Only minor detail was that the TV only had 3 (or maybe 4) channels but that didn't bother us. View over the surrounding fields was lovely, and there was complimentary fruit, water and whiskey.

Breakfast was another highlight - there was a choice of cereals/porridge and fruit to start, followed by a choice of cooked delights including French toast with crispy bacon and maple syrup and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. We finished off with toast and pastries.

Overall we had a lovely stay and would definitely consider returning. As we stayed on a quiet weekend (when there were only 3/4 other couples) it was sometimes a little too quiet in the dining room/ seating area and we felt like we had to whisper at times...perhaps a little music in the background might have helped.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

As you drive down the driveway and sweep around the bend you are met with a magnificent view of this gorgeous Country Manor in all it's splendour.We were met at the door by Brian,who took our bags and helped settle our dog into the kennels.I cannot rate Brian highly enough,his 'nothing too much trouble' attitude was reflected in all of the staff and it lasted all weekend.We stayed in one of the suites and it was superb,recently refurbished, tastefully decorated in duck egg blue (my favourite) and had all amenities,the bathroom was large and had a fantastic shower and duck egg blue bath with legs all very stylish and opulent.The views from our window were superb, beautiful open countryside.
I forgot to mention the reason we came to Lllangoed, it was for our sons wedding.
As I mentioned the venue was superb and ideal for the wedding and guests.We had exclusive use of the hotel too which added to the whole experience, the weather was touch and go at times but didn't stop the happy couple and guests from making the most of the amenities, which included croquet on the lawn, oversize outside chess,snooker room, maze and of course the beautiful grounds.
We had a rehearsal dinner/buffet on the Friday evening and once again the staff and Brian were attentive, personable and professional.The buffet was tasty and plentiful.The breakfasts were tasty and well prepared.
On the actual day itself,The staff now joined by Lynn who is the onsite wedding planner made sure everything ran smoothly, even issues with the cake (but that's another story).
The actual wedding breakfast was of a high standard, and drinks were served in crystal glasses and even the ice buckets for the wine were crystal.
I cannot think of one negative thing to say about the whole experience except some more sunshine would've been nice,however it didn't detract from our day.The bride looked stunning and the groom was smiling all day.Who could ask for more.No hesitation in recommending this venue for a wedding or a lovely weekend break.Thanks Lllangoed.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so if you have one of the suites it's up a few flights of stairs, but well worth the climb if you're able
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMC266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews