We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food , biker friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wye Knot Stop

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llyswen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wye Knot Stop
Ranked #1 of 2 Llyswen B&B and Inns
Lancashire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food , biker friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Called in on the way home from holidaying in caerphilly for breakfast , the food was excellent quality which set us up for are ride back home , I did notice they do b&b , ideal for bikers , they have off road parking , I can also recommend there cream tea , we tried that on route to caerphilly , yummy !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LadyHarleyRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
30
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just stayed here for two nights B&B and really enjoyed our stay, Sue and Martin really made us feel welcome and our dog too, we stayed in the annex attached to the main building which was great as it has a wet room... the only negative about it is the unfortunate location of the windows as they face directly onto the road outside which is a bit noisy but the noise does ease at nighttime... But the positives are many... really comfortable beds, clean, lots of tea/coffee choice, clean thick towels, everything you need, and places to park too... The breakfast was delicious and hot, good choice of cereals, yogurt, croissants, toast, egg, bacon, local too, sausage mushrooms and tomato.... really nicely cooked and served fast..Cannot fault this place..
Sue and Martin extremely friendly and helpful and informative.... give this place a go you will not regret it... the area is lovely and picturesque..its also a tea room which is lovely...
They even didn't mind when i nearly forgot to pay our balance.. !!!
All in all a good experience...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our second time staying at Wye Knot Stop. How we wished to stay longer than the three nights! We were drawn back by the absolute friendliness and at-home feeling. We had the Mill Room again and that was bliss - lovely windows to curl into for reading or writing. The breakfasts were deliciously fresh and filling. One afternoon, after exploring Brecon, we tucked into one of Sue's cream teas. Yum!
The bus stops just outside the door, so one can leave the car behind to just relax and enjoy this amazing countryside. Discovering the different walks is an adventure and purely refreshing. Also, being in a welcoming village atmosphere was special for us. This area is exceptional for its Dark Sky designation so we were keen to hear Martin's vision on future plans to share this experience with others. We cannot wait to visit again and the next time we will try the bikes!
p.s. My son says that he was made to feel like a long-known friend-plus the apple pie and custard is the best!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stopped here on my way down South, desperately looking for somewhere that was open early and had the best full breakfast ever. Perfect egg, luscious thick bacon, real, proper sausages (three of them!). Never even noticed the place before. Will definitely call again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at the Wye Knot Stop. Sue and Martin were very helpful and accommodating - nothing was too much trouble - they even offered my husband some walking boots when we realised we had forgotten his! Lovely room with the most comfortable bed and great breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucysheps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

After a very wet walk we stopped at the Wye Knot Stop Cafe for a much-needed cup of coffee and a toasted teacake. Despite our muddy walking boots we were made very welcome and enjoyed a cup of excellent coffee, certainly worth a detour if you are in the vincinity.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank infrequenttraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in the upstairs room. It was nicely furnished, clean and all the creature comforts you needed were there. The en-suite was clean and functional with nice fluffy towells! The atmosphere was comfortable, relaxed and welcoming and the breakfast was fab! Martin and Sue were kind, generous and helpful giving much needed advice reference local walks and activities in the area. The B and B is close to the Griffin Inn which was perfectly located for a good meal and a few after a long days busy activities. Martin and Sue have 2 dogs who were friendly and were so quiet you wouldnt know they were there! They both go out of their way to ensure that their guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay and we definitely did. Value for money! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wye Knot Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wye Knot Stop

Property: Wye Knot Stop
Address: Llyswen LD3 0UR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llyswen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llyswen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wye Knot Stop is a Cafe in the centre of the village of Llyswen some 8 miles from Brecon and the famous Brecon Beacons National Park, 8 miles from the renowed Book town of Hay-on-Wye and 11 miles from Builth Wells and the Agricultural Showground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wye Knot Stop Wales/Llyswen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing