We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidden gem”
Review of Gasthof Rebland

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eichstetten am Kaiserstuhl
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gasthof Rebland
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Not many British tourists will find themselves in Eichstetten, a village on the outskirts of the Kaiserstuhl, bordering the Black Forest. Four of us chose to stay here as we completed the long distance footpath that ends in Breisach on the Rhine. It turned out to be an excellent choice, as the couple who run it certainly know how to keep a first-rate hotel. I doubt if anyone there speaks much English, which could be something of a drawback, but if you're prepared to be adventurous, then this is the place to stay. The breakfast and evening meals were of a high standard, the service was friendly, and I can't find fault with any aspect of this hotel. It is very obviously family run - our wet walking boots were taken from us and dried overnight. We were given a bottle of wine as a leaving present and generally made to feel at home.
A ten-minute walk takes you to the station, and a fairly frequent service between Freiburg and Breisach. There are also local buses, and all public transport is free when you stay in Eichstetten, an added bonus for the traveller without a car.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidForres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 22 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2011

We didn´t even know where Eichstetten was, we found the place by chance thanks to their internet page. It showed beautiful pictures of an idyllic village close to Freiburg. We had very high expectations and they really met them! The rooms are small but very clean and functional, one of them (we booked 2) had been renovated shortly before our stay and both were quiet and comfortable.
The price of the rooms was very reasonable and we even got a special ticket to travel for free with the trains everywhere we were planing to go in the area (Freiburg, Titisee and Breisach) and we also even rode for free all the way to Basel (Switzerland) and to a town next to Strassburg (from there we only paid for the tram into the city). The price also included a nice breakfast, everything you could ask for: coffee, tea, bread, jam, cheese, juice and even an egg (we stayed in other places in Germany and we never had such a good breakfast).
But the very best thing was the food, the best place we ate at in Germany! Every day we were looking forward to come back to have a nice dinner in their lovely terrace. Not only the food was excellent, also the service, nobody in our party spoke German but their chef spoke perfect English and gave us great recommendations (they also had someone who spoke French and even Spanish!).
All in all it was a great stay, we´re looking forward to coming back soon! We recommend this place to all travelers who want to explore the southwest of Germany and appreciate a nice room and great food for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

A friendly welcome, a clean room good German dinner and breakfast. It was just a chance hit we arrived here but a really good choice. Good address for a overrnight stay, close to Freiburg. Cheap!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank maryde17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank maryde17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carma67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Reservez à l'avance. Choisissez une chambre au premier étage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bepper263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gasthof Rebland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Rebland

Address: Nimburger Str. 15, 79356 Eichstetten am Kaiserstuhl, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Eichstetten am Kaiserstuhl
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eichstetten am Kaiserstuhl
Also Known As:
Gasthof Rebland Germany/Eichstetten Am Kaiserstuhl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing