We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of lifetime!”

American D-day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: American Landing beaches guided tours in Normandy by an AmericanAir conditioned van seating 9. US sector of the beaches: Ste Mere Eglise, Utah, Point du Hoc, Omaha beach, US cemetery and off the beaten tracks...All year ! competitive prices !" You've got Allies here in Normandy !"
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Experience of lifetime!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

What an amazing and touching experience. My siblings and I just returned from taking our 73-year old father to France; visiting the beaches of Normandy has always been at the top of his bucket list. We did the 1-day tour with Trevor and it was the highlight of our 10-days in France. Trevor is so knowledgeable and passionate about the history of the area and the battles that occurred there, and his personal experience with veterans makes his stories even more interesting and moving. My father has watched every movie and documentary on WWII that exists, and Trevor was still able to provide information even he didn't know. We loved how he took the time to draw out descriptions of what happened at Utah and Omaha Beaches in the sand, so we could better understand what those young men faced. While standing on Omaha Beach, Trevor also relayed the story of a veteran who had landed on that beach on D-Day and had previously taken the tour with him. The veteran's story had us all in tears, it was so moving. I also have to mention how special it was for Trevor to host a lunch at his house, which could double for a WWII museum with all the memorabilia and artifacts. The meal was lovely, his wife is so sweet (and a great cook), and it was just a wonderful experience. I highly recommend this tour.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tmq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    2
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trevor covered it all - with passion and respect”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Trevor Standefer's American D-Day Tour outstanding! Trevor proved to be a master of the history of the area and the events that transpired there 69 years ago. He also displayed a respectful enthusiasm and understanding of the sacrifices made on the beaches and in the towns of Normandy. We covered a lot of ground in one day, including St. Mere Eglise, Utah Beach, Point du Hoc, Omaha Beach and the Normandy American Cemetery. Trevor provided a brief overview of the action at each location, before allowing us to venture of on our own. He efficiently guided a mixed tour of seven through each of the stops, keeping us on schedule but also providing a thought-inspiring, visual interpretation of the events at each location. He also arranged a lunch stop at “the German commandant’s” house near Utah Beach, which proved to be an interesting break from the main stops. In between stops, he provided interesting stories and additional background on the area and D-Day. His fluency in both English and French, as well as roots in both Normandy and the USA, provided an additional flavor to the tour. The most impressive thing for me though was his heart-felt devotion to telling the story of the sacrifices made at Normandy during WWII. Highly recommended and well worth the time and cost.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Royal, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Trevor's Tour is Outstanding”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

What I wanted to say was already said by "ReillyPB". I confirm everything that was said, and put an emphasis on the passion with which the tour was conducted. Sure anyone could drive you to Pointe du Hoc, the American and German cemeteries and Omaha Beach. Trevor brought those sacred places to life with his passionate and knowledgeable accounts of the events of those days. Thank you Trevor.

And yes, our tour was all day and the quiche was the best!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Trevor Standefer American D Day tour”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Amazing D Day trip to Normandy. My wife and I and two other couples were guided in a comfortable van from The port of Le Harve after our cruise ship docked. Our guide for the day, Trevor Standefer, was very knowledgeable and passionate in his presentations. He brought you back into history and made it come alive. This was our first visit to Normandy. Trevor tied all his presentation in a very neat manner. We visited Pointe du Hoc (where the US Rangers scaled the cliffs on D Day. Also had an extensive visit to Omaha Beach where Trevor aptly described the Allied forces landing on the Beach. This was a very moving presentation. Trevor was full of extraordinary information on all the local facets of the invasion and the countryside. We visited both the German and American cemetaries. I was almost speechless after visiting the American Cemetery....the sacred place and serene ocean surroundings.....
Trevor well exceeded our expectations. A bonus on our all day tour was a wonderful lunch. Order the quiche.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank REILLYPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“D-Day Tour”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had a group of 5 that spent 2 days with Trevor visiting all of the D-Day sights. Trevor is a great resource of information and we totally enjoyed our tour. I would definitely recommend Trevor to anyone interested in finding out more about D-Day and actually visiting the sights where so many gave their lives for the cause of freedom.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa00123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American D-day Tours also viewed

Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, Manche
Sainte-Mere-Eglise, Manche
 
Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer, Calvados
 

Been to American D-day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing