We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mouseman Visitor Centre

Mouseman Visitor Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Kilburn
Certificate of Excellence
North East
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Set in the beautiful village of Kilburn, visiting the very nice tea room first we then moved on to the museum side after a short informative film on the history of this furniture making family we past through some interesting rooms we then had a walk up the garden from where we had a good view of The White Horse we then crossed the road to enter the workshop where there is viewing gallery from which we were able to see the furniture makers at work.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Honey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    27
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Very pleasant place, standard food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The cafe is very clean and pleasant - especially outside on a sunny day. The staff are friendly and well-organised. The food is fairly standard but OK. The coffee is too weak.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MVC499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were still feeling Yorkshire's euphoria after Le Grand Départ of the Tour de France and, with a Living Social voucher for this visitor centre in my pocket, we set off from York towards the White Horse of Kilburn on a bright, sunny Wednesday afternoon. The staff at the Visitor centre were very welcoming and showed us how best to enjoy the Mouseman experience. In some ways reminiscent of the Herriot experience in nearby Thirsk, we learnt much about Kilburn village, the White Horse and Robert Thompson, the Mouseman. The furniture has to be seen to be believed and the only things that stopped us buying up the furniture on display were the fact that we could not get the furniture in our house and the cost - albeit that we are looking at craftsman-produced items. Before leaving, we could not miss having a Yorkshire Cream Tea followed by a walk around the gardens.

Somewhat off the beaten track, this is a destination that definitely warrants a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollyfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Set in a beautiful village. Lovely informative museum, excellent tea room. Furniture show room just across the road. Visit the local church to see examples of his work in the setting they were made for. Spend a couple of hours here easily. A true master craftsman and to this day a family run business. Enjoy

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Look for Mousey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Having seen the leaflets when staying at Griffon Forest(York) we decided to have a look at the visitor centre.Parking was easy as shown on the leaflet and then a short walk across the road.Very nice eccentric lady in the centre ad she wont mind me saying that.Bring a lot of money or lots of plastic.Items with the mouse carved into them are very expensive ie napkin ring £27.Small cafe .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mouseman Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing