We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Booking”
Review of Forresters Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Forresters Arms
Ranked #1 of 3 Kilburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were let down by another establishment who had double booked us, so we had to book the Forresters at the last minute, the nearest we could get to York at the time.
But we were delighted with the old world charm of the Inn and the beauty of the surrounding countryside which we hadnt visited before.
We will definitely be back to stay again and discover the area,

Room Tip: check the door lock, ours stuck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank richard f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 321 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were a bit apprehensive after reading someone's review,as we had booked in for 3 nights,so glad we went and decided for ourselves,The room was clean and bed was comfy we slept well,after a HUGE meal in the evenings,The food we couldn't fault and how nice to have it HOT,both evening meals and breakfast,we couldn't manage a starter and struggled one night with a dessert,Great location,friendly staff,would definatley stay there again :-)

Room Tip: we stayed in room number 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boldeyandpleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Booked in for a night away for our wedding anniversary. Were made very welcome, nothing seemed to be too much trouble, comfortable room and enjoyed a splendid dinner with a well chosen wine from Nigel. Full English Breakfast tasty and filling. Would have no hesitation going back.

Room Tip: Stayed in four poster room number 8, overlooks an internal courtyard, so fairly quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We Hd a wonderful stay. The management and staff were very friendly. We was allowed to change the meals to each persons tastes. The rooms are lovely and clean as was the whole pub. Stayed there last year and wasn't disapointed when we went back this year. The little village is beautify. Looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GinaGee1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very friendly welcome on arrival. The rooms was good value for money & very clean.
Pub food in the evening was good but breakfast was disappointing. No fresh fruit. A member of my party ordered a boiled egg which was so undercooked it was inedible. It was sent back to the kitchen but the next one was just the same. No apology from the kitchen or offer of alternative.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gr0mit2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Beautiful building in beautiful true country surroundings, wonderful cosy clean room, double shower, toiletries and towels provided,
On entering the Forresters arms and finding no one in reception I went into the bar to let the staff know we had arrived. The bar maid gave us our key, booked us in then took us to the bottom of the stairs where we was left with a few hurried instructions as to where our room was then left to find it ourselves, which was not the warm welcome from Dawn and Nigel we had read about on the website. As I said earlier the room was wonderful and clean and I could not have wished for better. After driving our hire car all day and many stops between Lincoln and Kilburn we were both exhausted and ready for an early night as we had a full day planned with visits to the wonderful abbey's, castle and priory in the area and hopefully squeezing in a quick visit to Ripon and Harrogate, so we quickly unpacked, showered and bedded down for the night and much to our horror the noise coming from the bar directly below was so loud we felt like I was in the bar itself. At around 10 pm we heard a bunch of teenagers in the car park playing football, and the constant noise of the sliding door also directly beneath us vibrating on its runner and slamming shut each time it was used, prevented us from sleeping. This went on until 12.15 am until the last customer left, and then for another hour or so from the staff going about their duties also using the sliding door and allowing it to slam, knowing full well that people were booked into the room above. We felt so utterly distraught and stressed, I myself in tears as we still couldn't sleep due to being so very upset by all of this. First thing in the morning we packed and left with still no sight of the proprietors Nigel and Dawn that are said to offer such a warm welcome. Due to having had no sleep we drove straight back home to Lincoln as having such little sleep we were left with little energy to walk around all day and then to face the drive home would have been too dangerous, risking falling asleep at the wheel, As soon as we arrived home we emailed The Forresters Arms to explain all of this and now Sunday evening much to my disgust we have still had no reply. It takes nothing to offer a sympathetic ear and an apology, but sadly it would seem even that seems to be beyond the capabilities of Nigel and Dawn.
Incidentally we stayed in room 11, however on the website they only offer 9 rooms, I fail to believe that no one has complained about this before, we had expected some noise with it being a pub, but being expected to wait up until the bar was closed is totally unreasonable to expect from any paying guest. We have no experience of what can be heard in the other rooms, but I fail to believe that no one has ever complained before, or that the proprietors are not aware of the noise problem.

Room Tip: don't go unless you are deaf !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel-Dawn, Manager at Forresters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

We are sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay with us and are completely bewildered at your leaving without speaking to either Nigel, myself or any member of our fantastic staff to allow us the opportunity to rectify your disappointment. We were off site on your arrival as having been informed by the brewery that drivers were working to rule we found it necessary to drive to Hartlepool ourselves to collect some of our beer order so we wouldn't run short throughout the weekend. We are a family run country Inn and we work extremely long hours in our business in order to meet ours and our customer expectations.
Had you mentioned your difficulties on Friday evening to a member of staff we could have allocated another room away from the bar which may have suited your needs better. We could have also possibly moved you to a B&B in Kilburn where you would have been totally removed from the bar noise.
On Saturday morning both Nigel and myself were on breakfast duty and this would have been an ideal opportunity for you to share your grievances with us directly and again allow us the opportunity to put things right. However you felt it necessary to walk out and air you complaints in an e-mail which I have already said left us bewildered and was received on Saturday evening when we were again both working until midnight and unable to respond. We had another busy day on Sunday, and a funeral wake on Monday lunchtime, and responded to your email as soon as the wake was finished, by which time you already posted this review.
We were unaware that you had left our Inn on Saturday morning, therefore our house keeping staff tidied your room expecting you to return that evening.
There was noise from the bar that evening as people were out to enjoy their night and they were mostly your fellow guests also booked in for the weekend.
Our bedroom is actually room 12 which is also directly above the bar and we had no difficulty sleeping neither were we concerned about the volume of bar noise or we would have got up to resolve it ourselves.
The car park in question is not ours, it is public parking, and we have no control over it's use.
It is such a shame that you felt it necessary to abandon your holiday in the way you did as you have missed out on all North Yorkshire has to offer and I feel saddened at your lost opportunity. We realise that we are unable to please everybody all of the time and feel that by voicing your complaints with us directly at the time we would have done all in our power to reach a compromise even if it meant moving you to a quiet B&B nearby.
We will of course wave the £60 bill outstanding on your account and once again apologise for failing to meet your needs and expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our room No. 9 was a nice room with plenty of space to turn around and had a double sized bed.
En suite good with shower facilities over the bath and towels etc.
The room had tea/coffee facilities and a biscuit to go with it.
The room itself was clean and tidy.
On the negative side the room had a very noisy cylinder cupboard next door with a sound like a generator running all night.(kept me awake.) I think it was a faulty pump.
On asking other people at breakfast they said they could also hear a similar noise.
Our room closely overlooked a grave yard, Just in case this could bother anyone.
Most people seemed to mention the very squeaky floorboards throughout the first floor.
The building itself is very old and could do with some updating.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room not near the boiler cupboard or above the bar area and one without squeaky floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilburn
6.7 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,671 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
832 reviews
3.7 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Fauconberg Arms
Fauconberg Arms
#2 of 3 in Coxwold
291 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Stapylton Arms
2.1 mi away
Sutton Hall Resort
Sutton Hall Resort
#5 of 12 in Thirsk
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forresters Arms

Address: York Rd, Kilburn YO61 4AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kilburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kilburn
Price Range: $110 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forresters Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilburn is located around 20 miles north of York centre. It is ideally located for walkers participating in the Cleveland Way. They can look forward to roaring log fires and an excellent selection of real ales, and an extensive menu incorporating local produce.Renovations to the Forresters Arms have been recently carried out where care has been made only to enhance the quintessential Old Country Inn charm that the Forresters bed and breakfast has become famous for. Surrounded by immense natural beauty in the North Yorkshire Moors National Park, also known as Herriot Country. The B&B nestles below the famous White Horse, a unique landmark of North Yorkshire, believed to be the largest of its kind in England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Forresters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forresters Arms Hotel Kilburn
Forresters Arms Kilburn, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing