We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my sadness at the lack of customer consideration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forresters Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Forresters Arms
Ranked #1 of 3 Kilburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“my sadness at the lack of customer consideration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I travelled to the Forrester's Arms for the fourth time in the same number of years for a two night stay. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and booked a table for four on the following evening. The occasion was our 42nd wedding anniversary, and we had invited my brother and his wife who have live in a local village for the last 30 years. On the morning of the planned celebration we were told that we would have to vacate the restaurant by 9.00pm at the latest as it was needed for the bi-weekly village quiz!! I am an advocate of ensuring the cohesion of village life, but could they not have used the breakfast room? We (my wife and our guests) ate elsewhere, and could not have been more disgusted at this lack of regard for customer care.
We departed saddened and disappointed at a once favourite place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermonicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    81
    22
    6
    8
See reviews for
45
171
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Only had one night stay for bed and breakfast and apart from the room being very cold when we arrived the rest of the stay was good with breakfast being excellent, the room was very clean and the staff very pleasant. Had already been to this pub on a previous occasion for Sunday lunch with was also delicious. Will certainly return again but will probably wait for better weather.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppetUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Fantastic pub lunch in a warm, friendly atmosphere. Dog and child friendly too. The food was a pleasant suprise to s fussy bunch that love to cook! And eat! Really nice to relax with a good meal and drink after a beautiful walk.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mydsdsamilkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Booked a three day break to coincide with half term. Chose pub as described as dog friendly and we were taking our pup away for the first time. Had a vision based on previous reviews of a typical country pub, comfortable with good beer and food; it was even better than expected and exactly what we wanted.

The biggest compliment I can give is that we felt at ease and very welcomed from the moment of arrival until we left. This isn't a fancy, pretentious establishment but if you want good food, good beer and a bit of peace and quiet in front of a log fire, this is for you.

On a practical level dogs are allowed with you in the middle bar where you can still access the full menu but not in the restaurant or breakfast room. Plenty of parking immediately outside the front door. Had room four which was very clean and catered for all our needs with a nice comfy double bed.

Nice friendly local people and enjoyed the company of the repeat visitors who had an understandable love affair with the place, especially the unofficial PR team of Marjorie and Roger!

Will definitely be making a repeat visit. It was exactly what we were looking for and we certainly found it.

Thank you

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank des2568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our 4th visit yet again no moans.To sum the Forresters up,
Great beer,
fantastic food,
Brilliant breakfast's (poached eggs,Nigel)
Great place.
Lovely rooms,
Fantastic host's.
Child & dog friendly.
Try for yourselves.
Will be booking again for next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobitEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have been visiting this pub for a few years now with our dogs and have never been disapointed. We always stay in the accomodation which is lovely. It is comfortable and very clean and depending on what room you get, sometimes you get a 4 poster bed!
The food is really very tasty and home cooked, our favourites are, Lasagne, steak, steak pie, and COLD ham and eggs with chips! ( we ask for the ham cold by the way!) try it! The ham is thicly sliced and delicious!
Nigel and Dawn are really friendlyand helpfull. They run a dog friendly pub which is a massive bonus to us.Dogs are not allowed in the restaurant but can sit in the pub and you can eat in there. one of the most important things (to my dad!) Is that the beer is always spot on! they do have a good selection of beer, cider and wine to suit anyone!
The surrounding area is beautiful and we thouroghly enjoy walking. You can walk from the pub and do not have to drive if you do not want to. In winter it is great to come back to the pub, enjoy a drink and sit infront of the coal fire in mouseman furiture!
We have booked to come on new years eve and can't wait!
See you soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thornergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

The main reason to come here is to sit and admire the wonderful selection of Mouseman Furniture. See workshop next door.
There is a wide variety of food and it is all very tasty.
The publican is very friendly. It is a very pleasant place to spend a couple of hours.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fangnaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilburn
6.7 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
6.6 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
5.4 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fauconberg Arms
Fauconberg Arms
#3 of 3 in Coxwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forresters Arms

Property: Forresters Arms
Address: York Rd, Kilburn YO61 4AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kilburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kilburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forresters Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilburn is located around 20 miles north of York centre. It is ideally located for walkers participating in the Cleveland Way. They can look forward to roaring log fires and an excellent selection of real ales, and an extensive menu incorporating local produce.Renovations to the Forresters Arms have been recently carried out where care has been made only to enhance the quintessential Old Country Inn charm that the Forresters bed and breakfast has become famous for. Surrounded by immense natural beauty in the North Yorkshire Moors National Park, also known as Herriot Country. The B&B nestles below the famous White Horse, a unique landmark of North Yorkshire, believed to be the largest of its kind in England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Orbitz so you can book your Forresters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forresters Arms Hotel Kilburn
Forresters Arms Kilburn, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing