We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to see”

Stillingfleet Lodge Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We visited for the first time today on a Groupon deal. Having discovered this place via the deal site we saw that on their actual website they were offering a free voucher for a cup of coffee. After sending our email address we got the vouchers, printed them out and presented them with our Groupon deal, only to discover that they were not accepted with any other offer. It only stated that on the voucher once printed out and did not state this before ordering so this is obviously a data collection exercise as we have already received emails. Putting this to one side we entered the garden and discovered that this is not the type of garden that is perfectly manicured and stylish. It was definitely end of season and nothing had been cut back, deadheaded or cleared. Everything was dead, overgrown and no colour to be seen. It looked like a never ending piece of waste land. A nice feature was the pond although this was badly in need of cleaning up and cutting back some foliage. The garden was laid out in many different sections, all secluded, which was interesting. The best feature was the small waterfall/water feature area which looked relatively new landscaping. Other than this the only interesting things to see were the hens and their small chicks, the stunning rooster and the wire figurines on display from an artist. The fox was the best but the prices were exorbitant at £415 for the fox and the cheapest being the duck at £75. Hate to think what the deer in the trees would have cost!!
These gardens may be at their best in the spring but to charge the same all year round when there is very little to see is a bit of a rip off. If I had paid full price to come here rather then the Groupon deal I would have been quite annoyed.
Give it a miss and visit Scampston walled garden or Studley gardens in Ripon instead.

4  Thank ELAINE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa C, Owner at Stillingfleet Lodge Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Thank you for visiting the garden with a half price Groupon ticket.On out website it clearly states that anyone applying for a free coffee voucher will have their name added to our mailing list and the voucher says they cannot be used with any other offer. We are a wildlife garden, some seed heads will be left for the birds and at the moment the plants round the pond are in flower and covered with butterflies and bumblebees. The wire and willow sculpture exhibition takes place every August, I am please to tell you that all the wire sculptures, except the stag have been sold !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 163 of 213 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2014

Visited in August 2014; small gardens but well laid out. Unfortunately, most of the flowers were past their best and there had been no attempt to deadhead or tidy the garden but they were still charging the same entry fee. Labeling of what plants there were was very poor. They took your money but didn't seem to want to do much for it.
After the welcome at the reception, we were told that we weren't allowed to eat our own picnic inside as they had their own cafe! Many other attractions in the area have cafes but provide picnic sites, too. We had to eat in the car park!
Judging by the prices in the nursery, my neighbours must owe me a small fortune. Almost all the plants on sale are so easily grown and spread that I give them away. Don't worry about the limited opening hours; it doesn't take long to get round.
By the way, there are no photos to add as photography is not allowed either. There are many better gardens to visit in this area. Try Benningborough, Breezy Knees or Studeley Royal all much, much better.

1  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa C, Owner at Stillingfleet Lodge Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to our garden. As I explained we do provide a picnic area with tables, in our grass car park and many visitors have lunch there before visiting the garden. We are delighted for our visitors to take photographs, in fact many people take pictures of plants in the garden they would like identifying, which we are very happy to do.
As you will see from other comments, we are a wildlife garden, we collect seeds to sell to our customers and to use in the garden, so some plants will not have their seed heads removed. We also leave most berries and hips, as well as seed, to help the 58 varieties of birds we have in the garden.
All trees and shrubs are labelled in the garden and we have a map showing where many of the rare trees are growing, there is also a list visitors can borrow if they are looking for a specific plant.
We have more than 800 different varieties of herbaceous plants for sale in the nursery, many of which are unusual and available in few nurseries in Britain, disappointing that you did not find anything to tempt you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

As a Yorkshire resident, I'm always on the look out for new places to visit on a weekend. I had never heard of this place until I got a Groupon email with a voucher, so decided that was my Sunday sorted.

It was a beautifully warm, sunny day to visit so it made the place even more beautiful. Words can't do this place justice, when you walk into the courtyard it's the beginning of a gorgeous little hidden gem. The gardens are divided into sections, a small garden with arches of hedges and climbing flowers, leading to a large main garden with seating, beautiful borders of flowers, a long garden with chickens roaming free, a large pond with marsh flowers growing tall and seating, a huge wildflower meadow with overhanging trees, a sculpted water feature that wouldn't look out of place at the Chelsea Flower show and a short woodland walk.

The flowers are beautiful, the place is wild and manicured all at the same time, I didn't want to ever leave. On top of this there was a lovely little 'DIY' cafe, with a spread of hot and cold drinks, delicious homemade cakes, ice cream, and even eggs to buy, all ruled by an honesty box. It was fabulous.

I would highly recommend this place to all, children, families, couples and older people. Its a place to while away a couple of glorious hours.

2  Thank 11amTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Lovely natural gardens with lots to see and many unusual plants many of which were for sale at a good price. Great little tea room and unusual to see an honesty box!
Bought some great plants and received lots of advice from the owner.

2  Thank Madge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

What a lovely place to visit. We went on a cloudy, quite windy day, but the protection given by the hedges, plants and buildings ensured that a jumper was hardly needed. Each turn on the paths that meander through the gardens brings another view or another place to sit and take in the different planting schemes. We took advantage of the Groupon offer which meant that we got in for half price, but it would have been worth the full price. Our 18 month grandson came with us and he loved watching the hens in the poultry run. Watching him try to copy his granny on the ‘hopscotch’ squares was a sight to see. The vegetable area was perhaps not as extensive as I had hoped for as I keen to see how it compared with my allotment. Afterwards we had tea and cake in the café. The fruit cake was outstanding. Moist and full of many different fruits and very reasonably priced. Disappointingly for such a lovely environment, the tea was not served in a tea pot but from a tea bag in the lovely crockery.

2  Thank yorkie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stillingfleet Lodge Gardens also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Stillingfleet Lodge Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing