We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely afternoon out.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stillingfleet Lodge Gardens

Stillingfleet Lodge Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon out.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I live quite near to Stillingfleet Gardens, but I have never paid a visit until today. I can highly recommend it...it is a truly lovely peaceful and tranquil place to browse around. The gardens are really well maintained and the coffee shop is a fabulous place to stop for a nice hot or cold drink, a piece of cake or an ice cream.

The rare breed poultry wandering about in the gardens are quite comical to watch with their little fat feathery legs.

The colours of the various flowers and plants was amazing....I took lots of photos.

Definitely go and pay a visit if you are in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarrollyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    23
    4
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The highlight of my stay in York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I went here with a friend last week and can only describe my visit as inspiring. Obviously this garden is a bit worse for wear because of the hot, dry spell we are having. But the true garden lover will not fail to see that this is a wonderful space with excellent plants and owners who are very knowledgeable. Take the trouble to ask these charming people for advice and you will see they are a treasure. Buy delicious eggs and leave with a smile on your face and a glow in your heart. Delicious cakes and don't forget the honesty box although this time we were served by a charming young lady.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank savisperl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Seen a lot better gardens”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went to these gardens with a groupon deal,glad I wasn't paying the full price.The gardens were scruffy, no dead heading had been done on the roses no pruning or weeding had been done the only thing that had been done was that the grass had been cut.
The nursery prices for un-kept plants was outrageous.
Would not recommend a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank a7tsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The garden that we all wish that we had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This garden is a 'liitle gem' with so many garden rooms that you become dazzled by its planting. Make sure that you allow yourself enough time to take it all in then wander through the nursery and buy the plants that you have seen 'in situe'.
We will certainly visit this garden every time that we come to York.

The best things come in small packages!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely peaceful garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I visited with a group and can't believe it has taken so long for us to visit this lovely cottage garden when it is so near to us. There were so many hidden gems, the orchids in the old meadow, the beehives and the beautiful natural pond with plenty of seats to sit and admire the views. Ours was a private evening visit and Vanessa Cook was there in the gardens to talk to which proved very interesting. The tea-room with the home-made cakes and interesting jams and chutneys made locally was a fitting end to a lovely evening. Will definately be going again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennibee364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stillingfleet Lodge Gardens also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Stillingfleet Lodge Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing