We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and hosts”
Review of Harmony House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harmony House
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely location and hosts”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We just had a wonderful stay at Harmony House with Hilary and Paul. It is in a very peaceful location and our hosts could not do enough for us that extended to giving us a lift and cooking to order. We had a double room and had another 4 from the family in the annex at the back: both very comfortable. Pretty sure we have found our new base whilst visiting relatives in the York area. We will see you again! Thanks so much for a lovely stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nigel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary F, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much. It was a pleasure to have you to stay and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to meet you again soon. Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
88
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed at Harmony House for 2 nights when attending a family function. Hilary and Paul are very friendly and their hospitality is second to none. The bedrooms are very comfortable and beautifully furnished with spacious bathrooms. Breakfast was delicious with an excellent choice of food, all beautifully prepared. There is a lovely sitting room for guests. I will certainly stay at Harmony House again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerzack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary F, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you to stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sotira, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Having stayed at Harmony House on several occasions, both for business and pleasure, I can honestly say that, without exception, the welcome and hospitality has been consistently marvellous. The bedrooms are not only beautifully furnished, but exceptionally comfortable, with plenty of 'extras', both with the toiletries provided and, of course, the homemade goodies, which are scrumptious!!

Hilary, the host, is a Cordon Bleu trained chef therefore I know that all the meals prepared are totally 100% home cooked and 100% mouth watering. The breakfast is to die for - and sets you up for the day!!

On occasions I've also eaten out, and tried local restaurants, but out of choice, I now always arrange 'to eat in'.

I regularly recommend to friends, family and colleagues that they should stay at Harmony House, as I can honestly say that I know they will have a memorable experience. Those who have stayed are now in agreement with me and are regular visitors and fans of Harmony House.

Room Tip: No tip as all the rooms are excellent, as is the annexe. Just depends how many in of you are stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary F, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your view. It was a pleasure having you to stay and hope you had a safe journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My children and I stayed in the annexe this weekend. What a gem of a place. Beautiful location, great facilities.We were wonderfully cared for and all we needed we got and more. A warm welcome that continued all weekend. The homemade cookies were delicious. The sort of little touch that makes a stay all the more delightful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary F, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
My apologies for taking so long to respond, but it slipped the net. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one night at the end of a touring holiday on our motorbikes. We had stayed in 6 different B&B's so expectations were high. This was by far the best B&B we have stayed in. We arrived mid afternoon (earlier than expected) and we received a warm welcome. There is a lounge for us to relax in and was given complimentary cakes and scones as well as coffee and juice. Our en-suite room was gorgeous and very spacious with a huge bed. The room was immaculate with tea, coffee, fresh milk, cold drinks, crisps and homemade cookies for us to enjoy. The hosts also gave us recommendations for eating out if you did not want to eat there. We had a indian, 5 mins away which was gorgeous and we ate it in the conservatory before retiring to bed ( we had our own key so could come and go as we pleased) We had the perfect nights sleep and awoke to a lovely breakfast with lots of choice. I cannot recommend this B&B enough as the hosts are amazing and are prepared to help and make your stay perfect. We will be staying here again and again. The best B&B in the world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nici_and_Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary F, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you very much. It was a pleasure to have you to stay and we look forward to seeing you again. You were such a lovely couple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed in the annexe of Harmony House with our 2 young children. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, so much that 2 nights turned into 3. The facilities were excellent with a well equipped kitchen and comfortable living room. The owner was extremely welcoming and couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable. Will definantly be visiting again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary F, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you very much it was a pleasure to have you to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Stayed for one night in this little cottage, which is an annexe to a stunning main house. The cottage is very small but cute. It's not modern but it's clean and very cosy.
There is a little kitchen with a basket of cereals, homemade jam and bread etc. There's a front room with a fold out bed and a table and chairs. There's also a dvd player. Upstairs is a twin room which is tiny - but perfectly functional. There is also a shower room. Note this cottage gets very warm very soon!
The owners are also very friendly and the village is gorgeous. very handy for York using the park and ride at the designer outlet.
All round an excellent base for a quiet weekend or family break.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillingfleet
5.4 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
6.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 192 in York
851 reviews
7.2 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#25 of 192 in York
1,075 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony House

Property: Harmony House
Address: Harmony House The Green | Stillingfleet, Stillingfleet, York YO19 6SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Stillingfleet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stillingfleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmony House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony House B&B overlooks the wild flower meadow in the centre of the quiet rural village of Stillingfleet. York and Selby are both about 6 miles away, yet Harmony House benefits from a peaceful country setting.Some parts of Harmony House date back to the 17th century yet has been renovated to accommodate a modern day lifestyle. It is the perfect antidote to City Life for both business and holiday guests alike. If you book your room direct with us and not through a third party channel we can always offer a more competitive rate. You will find all our rooms are ensuite and have complimentary hot and cold drinks, mini fridge, fresh milk, flat screen TV and free WIFI. We now how important a break away is to us so strive to make your stay as comfortable as possible. A full English breakfast with locally sourced ingredients or lighter options such as eggs Benedict or smoked haddock is cooked to order in the morning. We are happy to provide a midweek evening meal or weekend cold snack. Hilary was trained at the Cordon Bleu school of cookery and has a small cookery school attached for small groups of friends or family. We cannot accommodate children in the hosue but have a family 2 room annex with a small kitchen where we can provide a DIY cereal and toast breakfast. There is a local bus 422 which travels to York hourly except sundays, or the McArthur Glen outlet park and ride is 10 minutes away. We are close to Naburn Lock & Marina, Cawood, Escrick and Elvington airfield . Access to York racecourse & York University is easier being on the south side of York. Sustrans 65cycleway Sherburn Aero Club and Squires are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harmony House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing