We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely village, great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fairfax Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fairfax Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Gilling East B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely village, great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights in MAY 2010. Met with a brilliant warm welcome. Great accomodation and service, excellent food in a pretty village setting setting. Would definately stay again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bologna97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    60
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
47
183
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

I booked a 2 night stay for my partner's birthday after seeing other reviews on tripadvisor, and it lived up to all the positive comments made in the other reviews. My partner is coeliac and needs a gluten-free diet, and the thing that made this stay so special for her was that she did not need to worry about the food - I e-mailed the Fairfax before the stay, and when we arrived, everyone there knew exactly what was needed, making this stay a relaxed and special one for her (the food itself was not only suitable for her but was excellent). Aside from that, all the staff were friendly and professional and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. As noted in other reviews, the Fairfax was a comfortable and charming place to stay in a beautiful village close to a wide range of places to visit around the North Yorkshire Moors; and it was not expensive we've stayed in other places that cost a lot more and offered little in comparison. If you're visiting this area, it is definitely worth trying.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pele1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

Spotted this whilst searching for somewhere to stay near Helmsley. So glad we plumped for the Fairfax. Excellent location in the pretty village of Gilling. The pub was about 5 mins drive to Helmsley and well positioned for visiting York, Castle Howard and other sites such as Rievaulx Abbey. Our room was beautifully decorated with extra touches such as fresh fruit and home made biscuits. Food in the restaurant and pub are of an excellent standard and portions are HUGE! We particularly loved the lamb hot pot and huge fish and chips. Breakfasts were also great. Staffing at the Fairfax is superb. From Manager (?) and bar staff right down to chamber maids we received an excellent welcome. If you want a cosy pub with high standard rooms, good food and great real ales you won''t go far wrong stopping off at the Fairfax. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paleninteresting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

The two days we spent at this Inn are two of the most pleasant that we have spent anywhere. Reception by Alison was warm and welcoming, the room was comfortable and clean - the bathroom had really hot water in plenty. The real Yorkshire breakfast certainly set us up for the day and the meals available in the Evening went far beyond 'Pub' standard. Added to all this was the warmth and friendliness of the local people. Its situation among the Yorkshire Dales close to Castle Howard and Hemsley makes it an idael location to enjoy the peace and quiet beauty of the surrounding countryside and an ideal base for exploration and serious walking.
We both recommend this Inn most unreservedly to all.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandMaggie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

Spent a very pleasant weekend here with a group of friends. Rooms are well decorated and comfortable, quite trendy decor but perhaps a bit short on hanging/wardrobe space.
We did suffer a bit with noise from a fan that ran the cellar cooling system and was situated just below our bedroom window. They need to take a look at that!
Food was very good, excellent quality and very generous portions.
Staff were friendly and helpful even though they couldn't fix the noisey fan.
Not the cheapest pub b&b we've ever stayed in, but certainly one of the best.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mafcaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed for two nights during a stay visiting family in Gilling East. The room was beautifully furnished. There was a fabulous big ensuite with a shower, a bath would have been nice perhaps. The staff were very friendly and most helpful. There was a very large choice for breakfast, a nice change from the usual full English breakfast which I'm not keen on. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celine26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
630 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

The Fairfax Arms is in the quiet and charming Ryedale area of North Yorkshire, close to the moors and Castle Howard. From the outside the hotel blends in well with the old buildings of the village. But the previous owners modernised the interiors to turn the hotel into a 'gastro-pub'. The pub certainly has succeeded in attracting good crowds to the restaurant and rooms have all mod cons including smart modern bathrooms (though the landlord couldn't get the hot water in our room to work). The food is better than average. But the modernisation has left the bar/eating area a bit sterile and charmless and the locals apparently don't feature much among the regulars.

The energetic new owners are aware of the potential for improvements. In the meantime you couldn't ask for a friendlier couple - and because of the hot water problem, they only charged us half price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank higvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilling East
4.3 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
4.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
12.2 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax Arms

Property: The Fairfax Arms
Address: Main Street, Gilling East YO62 4JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Gilling East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gilling East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairfax Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax Arms Hotel Gilling East
The Fairfax Arms Gilling East, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing