We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Fairfax Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fairfax Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Gilling East B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant.
Went with 2 young children and they are very welcoming.
Room was lovely!!
Couldn't ask for better!
Room was lovely and warm during these cold winter nights.

Pub was busy with shooters but don't let this put you off they are all really friendly

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicnoc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    61
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
47
188
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed for one night dinner, bed and breakfast at the Fairfax Arms. Friendly welcome, bedroom (number 1) good with nicely modernised shower and bathroom facilities. Bar busy with diners and those seeking liquid refreshments. Staff friendly and efficient. Several informal and slightly more formal and cosy dining areas. Delicious dinner and attentive service. Breakfast next morning offered plenty of choice and was more than adequate. A pleasant night's stay and at a competitive price. Would certainly return if we were in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddydepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

A lovely cosy pub, delicious food, quite family orientated. Reasonable as far as cost is concerned. service was good. We were served fairly quickly and efficiently. We were in a cosy room where, in the winter, the fire is lit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelightedLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Fairfax Arms looked to be just what we were looking for, on arrival is everything anticipated and more, a stone inn with a rill small stream in front, rooms modern high standard, food good standard, could eat outside but nice inside also. Kind of boutique village Inn standard with a bit of old English inn charm also. Lots of English heritage nearby Rievaulx Abbey, Castles etc so many picturesque villages make the trip like a step back in time, recommend most highly would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1nightonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Arrived to a very warm welcome and a very efficient check in despite only booking 55 minutes previously! The bar/lounge area had a roaring fire and was very cosy.
Room was exceptionally clean, well equipped and there was room to sit and work - and the wifi was excellent.
I dined in the bar and had a wonderful meal, clearly freshly cooked food here. Staff we're very professional and nothing was too much trouble.
I would definitely stay again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Very happy :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honda_dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed here for the second time to celebrate a birthday and you sometimes think when you have had a lovely time on a previouis occasion, you shouldn't go back in case it doesn't compare favourably, but this was well worth a revisit and we will definitely do so again.

The staff are friendly, professional and welcoming and even when we had a problem with our table, despite the fact that the bar and dining room area were busy, we were relocated with efficiency, good humour and politeness. It seemed that nothing was too much trouble, including a candle for the birthday!

The food was again superb and we couldn't recommend this place more highly.
Thank you Fairfax staff for another lovely weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathT59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night, wonderful place to stay, although very isolated.
Had a courtyard room, very big, everything you could need is provided.
Staff very efficient and helpful. Food delicious and well presented, would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisjohn81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilling East
4.3 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,530 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
681 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
4.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
361 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shallowdale House
Shallowdale House
#2 of 2 in Ampleforth
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax Arms

Property: The Fairfax Arms
Address: Main Street, Gilling East YO62 4JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Gilling East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gilling East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Fairfax Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax Arms Hotel Gilling East
The Fairfax Arms Gilling East, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing