We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fairfax Arms
Nearby Hotels
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$78
$72
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel(Huby)(Great Value!)
$74
$53
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lastingham Grange(Lastingham)
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveler rating
272
67
23
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
272
67
23
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubgarlic mushroomssmall streambeautiful villagenorth yorkshireevening mealjacuzzi bathlambbooked a tableyorkshire breakfastsunday lunchcomfortable bedswell worth a visitfantastic staytwo nightsbe visiting againlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 374 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I booked this pub / hotel for one night on the strength of the reviews and we weren't disappointed in fact I was over the moon that I have chosen so well!!
The pub is what you would want as a typical English village pub. The staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient. The room was traditional but modernized and the bathroom wasn't too small and was very clean and modern. The room had everything you would need. I won't list everything just look on their website and trust it will be as described...
I can't fault this place, I loved it!!!

Room Tip: Classic rooms are upstairs above the Bar / restaurant so if this bothers you because of the potential noise, ask for a different room. It didn't bother us, but we stayed during the week.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robbokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Beautiful location, warm friendly welcome, nice bar and outside areas, helpful staff, great food, beautiful well appointed room. Can't imagine how anyone could find anything to complaint about this place. We only had one night but Emily and Andrew and their staff did more than enough to ensure a return visit. Thank you.

Room Tip: Just hope they have a vacancy and make sure you book a table to eat in the evening
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a 3 night stay at the Fairfax Arms trueley a diamond beautiful setting fantastic food and very friendly and attentive service what more can one ask. Had a fab time definatley be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAZ6897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Fairfax Arms epitomises all that is good in an English Country Inn. Situated in the quiet Yorkshire village of Gilling East, The Fairfax offers easy access to all parts of North Yorkshire and is close to Ampleforth College. Gilling itself has a lovely 9-hole golf course and an amazing model railway both just 200 metres from the Inn.

For my part (and I have high standards) the Fairfax experience was quintessential. The Inn itself is a delightful building and from the moment one enters, you are met with a welcoming experience: The interior is immaculate with tables beautifully laid both in the dining rooms and lounge areas alike; the food preparation and quality is excellent and presented by staff who’s attitude is first-rate; the accommodation and bedrooms are also immaculate with the highest standards of cleanliness and care applied by the house-keeping staff.

The Fairfax Inn offers excellent value for money with the owners determined to provide visitors with the highest standards of service. Well worth visiting and a stay.

A resounding 10 on the scale and I have never done that before

Room Tip: Look on the web site
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Called in for impromptu evening meal. Able to get a table despite being busy. Nice menu and food deffo all fresh. Fish was massive. Scampi was sooo good.....large scampi tails in gorgeous batter. Will deffo come again. Lovely venue and superb toilet facilites too. A popular place with locals as well as visitors and golfers too. Very busy but staff lovely throughout.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews