We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fairfax Arms
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$78
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$101
$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
$208
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
Free cancellation until 05/31
Book now, pay at stay
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel(Huby)(Great Value!)
$66
$53
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 05/31
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lastingham Grange(Lastingham)
Free cancellation until 05/26
Book now, pay at stay
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveler rating
272
67
23
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
272
67
23
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubgarlic mushroomssmall streambeautiful villagenorth yorkshireevening mealjacuzzi bathlambbooked a tableyorkshire breakfastsunday lunchcomfortable bedswell worth a visitfantastic staytwo nightsbe visiting againlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 374 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2011

this pub is set in a lovely rural village which has a nice stream running beside the road, the food itself was very nice and the service was good

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevieWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Lovely feel to this hotel with a small village.Staff attentive and courteous,booked dinner over the internet and everything was in place when we arrived.Room was of a very good standard everything you would need for a stopover as we were doing,clean, tidy and all mod cons including i-pod dock and free wi fi,ours was not in the hotel but that was of no issue.The only thing that bothered us during the stay was the birds chittering in the morning (tough your in the country!!!).The meals evening and breakfast similar high standard.I would recommend this hotel, as on business I stop at a lot of hotels that do not come near the standard of this establishment

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flasks39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights (20/06/2011) and had a great time. The room was very comfortable. We enjoyed bed and breakfast - and we also chose to eat in the pub every night - the menu was varied and the food was excellent. It was a great base to explore the beautiful Yorkshire countryside. We would highly recommend and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sascotney29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed in the room wth a lounge and Jacuzzi bath. It was a beautiful room, very comfortable and as it is just across the courtyard from the main hotel is very private and quiet.

The owners are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Whilst we did have some issues with hot water they did everythng conceivable to deal with the issue and ensure that we had facilities and were comfortable during our stay and the issue was resolved to our complete satisfaction.

The food is wonderful and the staff are fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pikelander2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed for three nights in May 2011 occupying the deluxe double room accessed from the courtyard at the rear of the pub. The accommodation was as described and was very comfortable. The breakfasts were very good and we had dinner on two nights both of which were very good indeed albeit when the pub is very busy the service can be on the slow side. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Fairfax Arms which is located in the midst of some of the prettiest countryside in England. We would not hesitate to recommend this hostelry to others.

Room Tip: Check out the various room descriptions
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glynnhesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews