We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairfax Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fairfax Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Gilling East B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights (20/06/2011) and had a great time. The room was very comfortable. We enjoyed bed and breakfast - and we also chose to eat in the pub every night - the menu was varied and the food was excellent. It was a great base to explore the beautiful Yorkshire countryside. We would highly recommend and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sascotney29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    59
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
175
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed in the room wth a lounge and Jacuzzi bath. It was a beautiful room, very comfortable and as it is just across the courtyard from the main hotel is very private and quiet.

The owners are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Whilst we did have some issues with hot water they did everythng conceivable to deal with the issue and ensure that we had facilities and were comfortable during our stay and the issue was resolved to our complete satisfaction.

The food is wonderful and the staff are fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pikelander2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed for three nights in May 2011 occupying the deluxe double room accessed from the courtyard at the rear of the pub. The accommodation was as described and was very comfortable. The breakfasts were very good and we had dinner on two nights both of which were very good indeed albeit when the pub is very busy the service can be on the slow side. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Fairfax Arms which is located in the midst of some of the prettiest countryside in England. We would not hesitate to recommend this hostelry to others.

Room Tip: Check out the various room descriptions
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glynnhesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

Stayed here for a 2 night get away from it break. Absolutely everything about the place is fantastic. Great rooms, Great food, Great location and Great staff. Lots of lovely places around - Hemsley, Robin Hood's Bay not too far, Goathland where they film Heartbeat . Highly recommend this great pub !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

Just returned from a restful break at the Fairfax. We arrived early afternoon, and after dropping off our bags in our room we sampled the Blacksheep bitter. After a trip to Helmsley followed by chilling out in the lovely superior suite and sampling the jacuzzi bath we headed the short distance across the car park for pre booked dinner. The food is lovely, the duck spring roll starter was delicious! The staff were all really lovely and happy to chat and help with local knowledge. The meal was great. The breakfast was delicious - don't eat too late or you'll still be too full for the "big' breakfast. Be prepared to mingle with the shoot crowd who start off the day with a bacon butty and refreshments at the pub before heading out for their day shooting, but it all adds to the country feel of this lovely pub/inn! Thanks to all at the Fairfax

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

we stayed at the Fairfax with our dog aftermany years absence and am happy to report it is in very good shape,nothing was too much trouble for the very attentive staff,we were upgraded to a larger room at no extra cost,the food was very good,bedrooms warm quiet and comfy,well done keep it up!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jellyfish14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

We have visited the hotel twice now - last year we stayed in the main building, this year we had one of the family cottages. Both times we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are clean, warm and fully equipped. Quality bathrooms both times with good showers and lovely soft, large bath towels. Both times we arrived late and the staff could not be more welcoming, all the service was excellent throughout our stay. The meals are very good and there is a varied menu, the same menu is also available in the bar if you haven't booked a table in the restaurant. The hotel is a bit off the beaten track, but well worth going a little bit out of the way for.
The ONLY fault we could find is that we could not get a 'phone signal (Vodafone) in East Gilling, but for some people this might be a plus.
We shall most likely return next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKA-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilling East
4.4 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
4.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
12.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax Arms

Property: The Fairfax Arms
Address: Main Street, Gilling East YO62 4JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Gilling East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gilling East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Fairfax Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax Arms Hotel Gilling East
The Fairfax Arms Gilling East, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing