We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quirky”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
The lovely cosy space in  our bespoke Shepherds Hut
Welcome to our lovely bespoke Shepherds Hut , Great for relaxing weekend country getaways near York
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Green Hammerton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
leeboygre...
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quirky ”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My partner and I had a really quirky 1 night stay in the shepherds hut,was really nice to switch off from civilisation for a day and be at one in the middle of a field...it is slightly expensive for one night but as a one off experience you have to try it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe Richa...
1 review
“Hospitality is everything!”
Reviewed March 24, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

First off I just want to say we received the warmest welcome to any other cottage/campsite we've ever visited! Absolutely hassle free and no bridge to far to cater to the lodgers needs granted we arrived last minuet and out of season we stayed at night in the Shepherds Hut and a night in the no.8 cottage with hot tub (to wich we didn't utilise due to weather) Gill welcomed us with a bottle of proseco and waked us with a funeral full English breakfast in the morning

First Night in the Shepherds Hut was superb!not a single gripe it was cosy romantic warm clean and intimate. We asked Gill on the second day if we could stay at the cottage due to us having a large German Shepherd who couldn't get comfortable and Gill offered us the second night

Second night in the no.8 cottage was superb after a long long walk around malham cove with the dog and wife it was exactly what we needed to warm up and relax

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emme1214
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 3, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Loved every moment of being here, can't wait to go again. Perfect night away and wonderful hosts!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abi R
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic break away from the hustle and bustle of reality!”
Reviewed December 19, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The hosts were very welcoming and accommodating on arrival, contact beforehand was very concise and quick which made it so much easier to arrange when we would arrive. The shepherds hut itself is a dream come true, completely cosy and everything that you need for a lovely weekend break away, cereals provided for breakfast but also the option of a cooked breakfast from the B and B if you want. Log fire heats up the hut in no time, and to say we stayed the week before Christmas not one moment did either of us feel cold, so please don't be put off if you are looking to go in winter, in all honesty it adds to the cosy environment. Pets and animals on the farm are very friendly and we had many welcomed visits from the resident cat, and then there is Dave the llama loves to have his photo taken. The farm is a short distance from both Harrogate, Knaresborough and York, so very convenient for days out. I would highly recommend this place for couples, and I have already spread the word. Thanks for such a fab weekend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaileyPup...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So Cute!”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this as a surprise for my boyfriend as we love to go camping. I thought it would be nice to try a bit of 'glamping' instead and we booked one of the tents, and WOW. We arrived a little early so we walked around the farm and had a nosy. It was gorgeous, everything was so picturesque :)

The tent itself was really nice, all fresh bedding (and a mattress!!), blankets, hot water bottles and so many fairy lights. They even provide tea coffee and biscuits inside the little 'hobbit hole'. Its location was great, bang in the middle of Harrogate, and York, so we did both places on two different days, and the sun was shining which made it a million times better. There is a local Chinese restaurant just down the road near the petrol station which was perfect for a last minute decision for a meal out. And the toilets and showers provided at the farm were clean and tidy.

What more can you ask for? Amazing one night stay, would love to go again with friends.

Oh they also have Llamas on the farm. HILARIOUS!!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2016
Thanks Amy , it was a pleasure to have you stay :) x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky & rustic”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Quirky & rustic. The kids loved seeing the animals and the resident cat was a huge hit. The tent was warm and comfortable although I was disappointed that the fairy lights didn't work properly. The hosts brought bedding for the children as their beds hadn't been made up. They were prompt and businesslike but left me to make up the beds! The hobbit hole was a nice addition for tea/ coffee In the morning and I had a hot shower. It was a convenient stop and something different for the kids.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly J
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical place!”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

So we have just finished our easter weekend break at Skipbridge farm and i can honestly say what an amazing place this is! We booked to stay in the camping pod and what a experience this has been, we arrived to a beautifully set up pod decorated with buntin and fairy lights with a lovely outdoor area with seating and lots of homely touches inside with 2 double air beds and 2 sets of bedside tables. Onsite they have lots of things to see from all the animals to the hobbit hole which Gill had put kettles and hot water bottles for us for night time, also the whisky shack which has a open fire inside and lots of lovely warm seating area, the toilets and shower on the site were very clean and well maintained. Unfortunatly the weather wasnt on our side this weekend and it rained quite a lot and was cold and windy but that was the risk of going in march can honestly say Gill did try and make us more comfortable and warm by bringing us extra blankets, we had breakfast bought to the pod in the morning which was great. Can honestly say Gill & Gordan were really friendly and we felt at home straight away they really have made this into a magical place, they have thought of everything down to the last little detail! We will deffinatly be returning to this place but just in the summer rather than this time of year, all i will say is if you decide to go at this time or year i would deffinatly advise that you go prepared for how cold it is and wet it is as the field that we were on did flood abit and got abit muddy so as long as you go prepard you will be fine, maybe take some earplugs and the wind did keep us awake at night (as it would camping anywhere this time of year). Never the less we had a really good time! Thankyou so much Gill! (Love the hardcore campers! :) )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of the site
Liked least: The only thing that i can say is the toilet block is abit of a walk to the tents if you need to go in the night.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing