We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place, animals and welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thistledown House B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place, animals and welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Nicely positioned near York the wonderful B and B has my highest regards.

Thę welcome was lovely (by the owners, the pigs, ducks, ostriches?, goats, dogs, the peacocks and the friendliest 3 legged cat in the world!!)

This will sound cheesy but this place is magical, it has such a welcoming aura and I only regret I couldn't stay another night


The only downside ( and I hope the owners read this, the place was so nice I felt like I didn't want to bring it up!!) was that the shower was slightly blocked from the previous tenants and the water rose slightly.


Put this aside though, I whole heatedly recommend this place :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maio84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
80
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Lovely, friendly welcome at this B n B! Set in beautiful surroundings with nice views. Breakfast was excellent, with choice of what we wanted and at what time! Rooms were of a high standard, very clean and beds were comfortable. Very handy for York City Centre, took us about 15minutes by car. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 61anon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudenaarde, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I only spent one night at Old Granary house, as a stop-over of our trip back home.
The warm welcome of Val and Glyn made us feel as if we were home already.
The room and bathroom were spacious and immaculate and giving a relaxing vintage feel.
Unfortunately since we had a ferry to catch we only had a short time to enjoy the breakfast which was beautifully cooked to order by Val.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Very cosy place always well maintained. Rooms small but very comfortable, the owners very friendly and helpful. Breakfast outstanding all ingredients bought from local farm shop and cooked to perfection. Nice location, half way between York and Harrogate . Great parking and lots of animals to make friends with.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Glyn and Val were perfect hosts for our week long stay. The granary is a beautiful building in a beautiful location. Our room was perfect in every way, immaculatley clean with a big comfortable bed. Plus Vals breakfasts are extremely tasty!! Excellent value for money - we would have expected to pay much more for a B&B of this high quality! Ideal location for exploring York and surrounding areas. We would highly recommend - Thank you so much guys for a lovely stay x

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onlymehete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
484 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here recently and found Val and Glynn perfect hosts, combining tips and advice on eating out and best attractions, with very high levels of service. We enjoyed the ground floor superior which has the biggest bath you are ever likely to encounter. The Old Granary is set in the country, some 7 miles to the west of York, on the A59 Harrogate road. A peaceful and serene location, with grounds that several ducks, and other wild fowl enjoy. There is also a small menagerie with peacocks, emus and specialist pigs, all to delight the eye and ear.Why only 4*.......no black pudding at breakfast! Otherwise, all good.

Room Tip: Although we enjoyed the superior ground floor room, we found the room a little stuffy and this inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times, both as an overnight stop on our way to Northumberland and for a long weekend. We have stayed in both the 'superior room' and the standard double. Both were of a very high standard, the superior room being my favourite as it has French doors which the ducks sat right in front of! Glynn and Val are extremely friendly and welcoming hosts and we were made to feel part of the family. The cooked breakfast is superb and my having a wheat intolerance was not a problem at all. We both love it here and only wish it could be slightly nearer to home to allow for us to visit more frequently!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chickenjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Hammerton
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#1 of 3 in Wetherby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Bridge Hotel and Spa
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Bay Horse Inn
The Bay Horse Inn
#2 of 2 in Green Hammerton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Red Lion Country Inn & Rooms
The Red Lion Country Inn & Rooms
#2 of 2 in Upper Poppleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistledown House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistledown House B&B

Property: Thistledown House B&B
Address: Thistledown House Skipbridge Farm York Road | York Road, Green Hammerton YO26 8EZ, England (Formerly Old Granary House B&B)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Green Hammerton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Green Hammerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistledown House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistledown House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Granary House Bed And Breakfast
Old Granary House Hotel Green Hammerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing