We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of YHA York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We'd had a good experience at a YHA before, and this one was no disappointment. Clean, spacious, secure (lockers and key cards), with extremely comfortable beds and plenty of hot water. Not to mention a comfortable lounge area perfect for a nice cold one in the evening from the bar.

Within walking distance of the city centre, but far enough away that it's very quiet at night.

Only critique - the showers didn't drain properly, so expect an ankle bath with the suds from Those Who Washed Before.

And tip! - if you are coming back after dark, get a £7 taxi rather than walk the riverside path in pitch darkness (the street lights don't go the whole way).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateOKates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thanks for a great review :)

Since our total refurbishment earlier in the year we have found that one or two of our brand new showers dont drain as efficiently as we would like. This is something we are looking at with the contractors that installed the showers and we hope to make improvements very soon.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon for another visit.

Kind regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 351 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

While this YHA is in a good location for visiting the city, it would seem that after it's 2.5Million Pound Re-Fit they have left out a few 'Normal' YHA Facilities!

1) No 'quiet room' for reading, you only have the Bar/Restaurant area which with the background music and general chatter from diners/drinkers is by no means quiet.
2) No TV so if you wanted to catch up on the news, forget it!
3) The 'Games' room has a snooker table and a few seats but no tables and no room for them to allow you to play other games!
4) While the Members Kitchen has excellent facilities, the area for eating your food having cooked it is quite small with a maximum of 10 People fitting around the tables. While their is an area just outside, but this is normally for 'smokers' judging by the number of cigarette buts on the floor and is open to the elements.
5) The best bit however is the 'little' WC between dormitories HO1 & HO2 where to close the door you have to stand on the seat as there is not enough room when you get inside!

While the 'Crew' receive numerous complaints about the lack of facilities, please don't ask for the Comments Book as there isn't one!
Send an email to YHA HQ Customer Service instead it might have a better effect!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller_UK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at YHA York. We are sorry to hear that you feel we have missed a few things out during the refurb. The refurbishment has proved to be very popular with most of our guests but we appreciate that as with any major revamp, our new more contemporary backpacker hostel layout isnt going everyone's idea of the perfect YHA York.

We are committed to continuing to make improvements to the hostel in response to the feedback of our guests. Since your visit we have opened up the Harris room opposite the self catering kitchen adding some soft furnishings and a TV in order to provide additional space for dining and another place to relax for our guests. As well as our games room we also have our lounge bar area where all our guests are free to relax and play board games which can be borrowed from reception. On top of that in response to your feedback we have now ordered a new comments book for the hostel.

Kind Regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our family of 6 stayed in a room with 3 sets of bunk beds. We were pleased to find the en suite bathroom. The entire facility recently underwent major renovations, and it shows. New modern environment, Nice and clean smelling, great lounge are where our kids could play cards, billiards, or even run around in the grassy garden. We have stayed at several hotels while touring the UK this summer, and this was probably the best. About a 15-20 minute walk to the railway museum or York Minster.

The self catering area was sufficient, but I feel most people weren't using it. If more of the people who were staying there were using it, it would have been crowded.


Upon departure I accidentally left some valuable in the room (drivers licence and credit card) and phoned the hostel on our way to London. They put the items in the post an I received the next day. Great staff was helpful the entire stay and after too!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dozer183e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write such an amazing review of your stay at YHA York. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit. Our brand new self catering kitchen is pretty compact but we encourage all our self catering guests to spread out and make use of the bar & courtyard areas when we are busy.

We hope to see you again soon! :)

Kind regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights as a family of 3 in a family room with a loft. Room is comfortable, well fitted but compact but this is not a problem as there are plenty of other spaces to hang out. There is a bar, restaurant, well equipped self catering kitchen, laundry etc. staff were very pleasant and helpful

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cimocounselling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thanks for a Fantastic review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights as a family of 3 in a family room with a loft. Room is comfortable, well fitted but compact but this is not a problem as there are plenty of other spaces to hang out. There is a bar, restaurant, well equipped self catering kitchen, laundry etc. staff were very pleasant and helpful

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cimocounselling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thanks for a Fantastic review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Whilst the rooms are basic they were extremely clean and practical for a group of men weekending in the city.The staff pleasant and helpful and the food very good and reasonably priced.Breakfast finishing at 9.30 sharp Sunday morning was a little disappointing especially as no signage or prompt on arrival was given to tell us so.The seating and bar areas were excellent and a good mix of families and groups mingled well.Would recommend very highly and will return with the family in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thanks for writing such a fab review of YHA York. We are really pleased you enjoyed stay and found the staff to be pleasant and helpful.

Good News! We agree with you that finishing breakfast at 9:30am is a bit early for a weekend so we have extended our breakfast time to 11am on Saturday & Sunday Mornings! Next time you stay not only will you be able to enjoy a YHA breakfast but you will also be able to have a bit longer in bed :)

Kind regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The seating area is really nice, and the staff very friendly. We only stayed for one night, but very happy with the stay. The rooms was clean and it had a shower and a toilet in the room. The only downside with the room we were given is there was no window that could be opened, so it was a bit warm and humid waking up in the morning. Other than that great value for money. And a walk into York town centre was only a 15 min walk. Will definitely be staying here again next time we come to York

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stian1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thanks for a fantastic review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hear what you are saying about the windows, when its really hot it is good to be able to open them right up. However our hostel is very popular with school groups and young families and in order to maintain a safe & secure environment for all the young people we have staying with us we need to restrict how wide our bedroom windows open.

We look forward to seeing you next time you visit York!

Kind regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
2.1 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 47 in York
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA York

Address: 42 Water End, Clifton, York YO30 6LP, England (Formerly York International Youth Hostel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Clifton
Price Range: $24 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA York 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York is soaked in history and packed with fantastic attractions. The Romans, Anglo-Saxons, Vikings and Normans have all left their mark. Our newly refurbished YHA provides superb modern accommodation within walking distance of the city centre, making it the ideal base for exploring this very special City. YHA York at a glance: Free Wi-Fi in social areas at YHA York! £2 million renovation Walking distance of the city centre New cafe bar 32 rooms with en suites State-of-the-art seminar/education facilities As part of our refurbishment, YHA York now boasts a large number of new en-suite bedrooms, a cafe bar with garden views and meeting/activity rooms. So, whether you're looking for a cheap weekend break, a bed for a night or a family getaway, YHA York has everything you need! This hostel provides disabled access and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YHA York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York International Youth Hotel Clifton
YHA York UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing