We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beechwood Close Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I've had Sunday lunch here many times. Tonight I had dinner with my dad. It was fantastic. A real surprise. My dad had carrot and coriander soup, which was home made and yummy. I had tempura prawns and salad. The prawns were light and crisp and the salad fresh and chilled. We both had sea bass with olives and chorizo with fresh vegetables. Perfect considering we were alone in the restaurant which seemed a shame when the food is so good. There was a private meeting in another room . The staff were attentive and friendly. Many have Sunday lunch here I would urge them to try dinner during the week, it really was the best food I've had in a while. I do eat out a lot. This beat anything I've had recently :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 401 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

Just spent 3 very pleasurable nights at the Beechwood Close lovely clean room with comfy beds, breakfast choice more than ample ate there in the evening too good choice on the menu freshly cooked good sized portions for a fair price staff pleasant and helpful, will be back in the future well done the beechwood team keep up the good work .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mkelly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have just had a long weekend at the Beechwood and would highly recommend, although it is on the outskirts of the city, it is a steady 30 min walk along the flat or the bus stop is close by and just £1.40 one way to the city centre per adult and runs every couple of minutes, and being outside the hussle and bustle the hotel is quiet and has lovely gardens surrounding it and a lovely park very close by. The hotel is very clean and helpfull friendly staff, the rooms are comfy and lovely soft and very large towels, much nicer than many top name hotels we have stayed. The food is also very good, we had evening meal at the hotel twice, very good choice on the menu and the food was freshly cooked, large portions and the same for the breakfast, excellent choice of cooked breakfast, all cooked to order and always fresh fruit, yoghurt, juice and cereal, could not ask for more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clarky395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This bed and breakfast has amazingly comfortable beds, they are definitely NOT cheap mattresses. The towls supplied were large and soft and certainly good quality.
These days most companies try and cut cost and quality gets compromised but I was so impressed with the quality.
Service was good and breakfast was lovely.
I could not recommended this bed and breakfast enough.
The only downside is that it is slightly on the outskirsts of town and not particularly walking distance (unless your wearing trainers)
Only cost £5 in taxi to get to town.
Lovely B+B
Good quality
Good value

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birchy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Having read the reviews of fellow advisors we were expecting a warm welcome, this turned out not to be the case. We were kept waiting whilst she finished her private phone call, when questioned about the need to take a copy of a credit card, she informed us that this was because when people trash the room the hotel is able to re-coup the cost of the damages. We also asked about bus times/prices into the city, she did not use the bus was the response so could not help us. We also asked if we could take a drink from the bar, she grunted and went of to get another member of staff to assist us. It was like we were imposing on her, this lady should no be in the front of house.
What a difference when we went to check out, there was another member of staff on duty, bright, cheerful, happy to help, what a joy, nothing was to much trouble. Other members of staff along with the owner were also more than happy to help, nothing to much trouble and very friendly.
Our room whilst slightly on the small side was clean and comfortable and our breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WELSHMAN50Arbroath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel on a three-day KGB deal. Our welcome on arrival was very good even though the hotel was going full tilt with Sunday lunches! Our room was very clean, light and airy with a lovely king-sized bed.
Breakfast was superb and The Full Monty really was just that! Everything just as I like it. The hotel website said it was walking distance from York city centre so we walked. It was a pleasant walk.
Dinner the next evening was also superb. Their fish and chips was wonderful.
We found out later that the hotel had had a terrible bereavement a few days prior to our arrival but everyone carried on as normal and the smiles were bright and genuine. Many thanks to all the staff esp Mark who made our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Had lovely stay for two nights nothing was to much trouble for Marc the bar man, food was lovely rooms was clean and tidy and it was a lovely walk into York! Really enjoyed the stay and will sure be back when re visiting York! Recommend sure for the price!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#41 of 47 in York
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
1.5 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,204 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Close Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Close Hotel

Address: 19 Shipton Road, Clifton, York YO30 5RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range: $62 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood Close Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planning a visit to York? Whether it's for business, renowned retail therapy or sightseeing, the family-run Beechwood Close Hotel is the perfect location for your stay. Just a 20 minute walk from the historic city centre, with frequent bus services outside the door and the railway station easily accessible, the Beechwood Close Hotel is set in attractive gardens in the charming Clifton area. Individual and independent, the hotel has 14 comfortable and well-appointed en-suite bedrooms including singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. All have digital flat-screen televisions with Freeview, hairdryer, iron and ironing board and a well-stocked hospitality tray. There's free wi-fi and plenty of complimentary parking for guests, a cheerful bar and a licensed restaurant, offering a wide choice of dishes with a modern British twist. A warm welcome awaits at this family and pet-friendly hotel and husband and wife team Wayne and Clare McLeod, both York born and bred, are ideally placed to offer guests real insider knowledge about their stay in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beechwood Close Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Close York
Beechwood Close Hotel York, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing