We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out time!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beechwood Close Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great couple of days away. Nice walk into York. Very clean and freindly staff. Good freshly cooked food, ensuite bathroom, tv and tea /coffee making facilities in the room. Parking on site, liciensed bar and restaurant. And if you forgot anything they have a small selection of toiletries to purchase. Thanks for a great stay!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mumboss90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 399 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel was lovely to stay at, the staff were very efficient and welcoming. The room, although small, had everything we needed and was spotless. The shower was amazing! We ate in the hotel for dinner and for lunch the next day, both were excellent.

The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk into the city centre, but this is down a long straight road and is very easy to get to .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harrie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night for a visit to York. Our room was great - 4 proper beds (instead on Premier Inn sofa beds!) Dinner on Sunday was superb - carvery meat was great as were the freshly cooked veg. Breakfast choices were plenty and the food hot and very tasty. The staff were so friendly and made us feel at home there, which is what we wanted (bit fed up of Premier Inn/Travelodges now). It's got lots of traditional features and character and we'd definitely visit them again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank McAdvisorSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Set just outside the city made a perfect weekend retreat. Only 10/15 mins walk to town and away from all the noise on a night.The hotel was great, staff were very helpful. A god pint of Theakstons served too. Breakfast was lovely, the room was clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scwaggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

i stayed at the beechwood in room8 in midweek january 2013, i found the room well kept n v clean, i would recommend this hotel to anyone as the staff were v friendly n helpful, the breakfast menu is exceptional with plenty to choose from n cooked to order, im definately going to stop here again next time i visit YORK, theres plenty of parking space which is free to patrons, the bloke behind the bar (pete if i remember correctly, but dont quote me on that ) was friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darren p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

On first glance this hotel seemed to be very welcoming but this ended not to be the case. My wife checked in prior to our wedding day with the maid of honor and immediately encountered a rude and dismissive male member of staff (Manager) this spilled into the day of our wedding when the other two bridesmaids arrived where he was very abusive and accused one of the bridsmaids of dragging in dirt in to the hotel which was not the case also he showed very poor customer service when asked to deal with problems this was shown when my wife asked him the whereabouts of the flowers that were delivered again rude and dismissive and his comment was there somewhere about with his head stuck in his paperwork after 2 hours of badgering the flowers were found dumped in a storeroom. On returning from our evening do the abuse continued and i witnessed first hand what my wife had experienced we were accompanied back to the hotel with one of the bridesmaids where shes was waiting for a taxi to pick her up and recieved abusive taunts about a previous incident when we return to our room our phone was ringing a number of times we choose to ignore after the ringing stop a bang at our door where i answered and a rediculous accusation of excessive noise was thrown at me i found this bewildering as i was asleep if it was not for certain family members staying at our home i would of left immediatley in the morning me and my wife left immediatley and refused pay this spilled into an argument where the hotel manager denied any sort of abuse i find him very deluded. we rebooked a hotel which happened to be a premier inn where we were shown an oustanding service i would advise people to not use this hotel

only two good points to say female member of staff showed excellent level of service and the food was of very good quality hats off to the chefing staff

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beechwoodclose, General Manager at Beechwood Close Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

I repute the full content of this review.Your Bridesmaid who was stood outside talking to someone in a van in her bare feet in the rain walked back into the hotel and started to wipe her feet on our new carpet in reception, i asked her to please wear shoes to go outside.The member of staff you asked to get your flowers did not get them out of a cupboard they were in the cold store and was taken to you within 10 minutes.
On your return back to the hotel from your reception at the rugby club on Valentines day you had both had alot to drink .At 11.15pm other residents in the hotel near your room came down to reception and said their children aged 6 and 11 should not of heard what was comming from your room.On no answer from ringing the room i went upstairs where i heard words comming from your room that no one should have to hear.On knocking on your door a male appeared who said he would keep the noise down.30 minutes later the bride came down the stairs into the bar totally naked,where there was a 70 year old man and a 16 year old boy,i asked her what she was doing to which she replied she was going for a walk.I sent her back upstairs where she tried to get into another residents room.I showed her to the correct room.In the morning they did not get up for breakfast but was seen sneaking out of the hotel i assumed feeling embarrassed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Arrived to be greeted by a slightly confused gent who firstly couldn't find our booking then gave us keys to a room that by all accounts looked like a builders yard. After us complaining we were given the next door room which to be honest looked like a great aunts bedroom. Tired dated furnishings and fittings which went out with the 70s. The bathroom was clean at least apart from the hideously stained loo brush and holder. Yuk. No soap only hand wash and a couple of tiny bottles of toiletries . A view of the kitchen vents greeted us along with the sounds of a dog barking constantly.The rest of the hotel looked like something from a Jane Austin novel ... but not in a good way. Not great but we needed a place to sleep so gave it the benefit of the doubt. Off we went to spend the day in York coming back at around midnight to find we had to let ourselves in with no sign of any night reception staff which would've come in very handy as when we entered our room it was like a furnace. I tried turning off the heating but it refused to switch off. Couldn't leave the window open as it was pouring with rain so tried our best to sleep. Only to be woken at 2.30 am by I presume a coven of witches. Cackling away for a good hour. Glad when morning came to end our ordeal we packed up and headed to breakfast. Definitely the best part of the stay. Buffet of fruits n cereal and a choice of hot food. Cooked (allegedly) to order. At this point we met the lady owner of the hotel who although at first was very attentive seemed less than impressed at our gripes. Saying there was nothing she could do about the noise. On the contrary Have someone in attendance on a night like many hotels then there'd be someone there to deal with problem guests. This place definitely needs dragging up to date and the staff need to be taught how to be more professional in their appearance ... shuffling about looking like they'd been dragged through a hedge.. and treatment of paying guests. Will visit this beautiful city again but will avoid this place like the plague

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea2270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,139 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#42 of 47 in York
699 reviews
1.5 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,188 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Close Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Close Hotel

Address: 19 Shipton Road, Clifton, York YO30 5RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range: $59 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood Close Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planning a visit to York? Whether it's for business, renowned retail therapy or sightseeing, the family-run Beechwood Close Hotel is the perfect location for your stay. Just a 20 minute walk from the historic city centre, with frequent bus services outside the door and the railway station easily accessible, the Beechwood Close Hotel is set in attractive gardens in the charming Clifton area. Individual and independent, the hotel has 14 comfortable and well-appointed en-suite bedrooms including singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. All have digital flat-screen televisions with Freeview, hairdryer, iron and ironing board and a well-stocked hospitality tray. There's free wi-fi and plenty of complimentary parking for guests, a cheerful bar and a licensed restaurant, offering a wide choice of dishes with a modern British twist. A warm welcome awaits at this family and pet-friendly hotel and husband and wife team Wayne and Clare McLeod, both York born and bred, are ideally placed to offer guests real insider knowledge about their stay in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beechwood Close Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Close York
Beechwood Close Hotel York, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing