We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a nice place to stay!”
Review of Hilton Lodge

Hilton Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hilton Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Clifton B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not a nice place to stay!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Got to the b&b...didnt look to bad til we got in reception. Was greeted by a dirty looking man wearing stained jeans, dogs were barking and the place smelt awful. The man took us to our room which had stains all over the carpet, we had 2 single beds which looked years old. Looked in the cupboards which were full of old items and cleaning products. Also didnt like how the man waited in our room til we paid for 2 night stay which was quite rude ( was tempted to go after first night). Had shared bathroom which wouldnt be too bad if there was cleaning products to clean the bath with. Also no towels thought there would be had to go and buy our own and no breakfast served...place shouldnt be called a b&b. Good job there is a hospital close by thats all im gonna say!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisaaa187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    2
    2
    15
See reviews for
1
12
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Should you enjoy, damp walls with peeling paint, stained carpets, toilets that do not flush, sinks not secured to the wall, stained disgusting carpets, cobwebs, lights hanging out of the celing and decidedly 'grubby' bedsheets on a bed that truely is about to collapse at any time - then this is the place for you! Greeted by a stale dirty stench the moment we walked through the front door we knew that this was not going to be a positive experience, and we were right! I am sure that this b&b would not meet any health and safety or environmental health requirements, how it is operating as a business I will never know. It may be exceptionally cheap for a central York location, but it is by no means cheerful!!!!!!

Room Tip: Select another B&B!!!!
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank amandabrown38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clifton hotels

manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This b&b is a smelly dirty disscusting place you walk in the front door and are instantly hit by the stench of cigarettes. Then we were taken to our room on the ground floor and it was filthy we could write our name in the dust, cobwebs and spiders in every corner under the beds were filthy and there was someones dirty socks behind the bed.There was no tv no wifi no credit card machine excuse was some workmen had gone through cables. We had a sache window that had no lock on it and you could see dirty footprints on the carpets where some one had climbed in. Then there was the filthy bathroom the toilet wasn't fastened to the floor and there was only a bath that had been painted on the inside and was all flaking off it was filthy. They had two dogs that were barking constantly and then the owners coming in in the middle of the night standing in the hallway fighting and swearing. No parking keep away its a terrible place.

Room Tip: just don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon england
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Hi, I know that large hotel room windows do not open and i suppose that the reason is one of safety and that the fire exits and display information supplied do comply with current Fire regulations.

Howver having said all this i did feel unsafe in a room where i could not get immediate access to a window that i could open.

I will therefore not stay at this hotel again and instead select a small Hotel or Guest house where i can freely open the bedroom window if i wish to.

The Hilton is a wonderful Hotel and i cannot fault it with the exception of a closed unopenable window which in my opinion makes me feel unsafe.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angryDevonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

My partner and I plus 4 other couples booked to stay here last weekend. I wouldn't wish this place on my worst enemy. What a filthy, stinking place to stay, delapidated hole. Luckily we only booked in for one night (that was definitely long enough). When we arrived we struggled to squash the car into a pebbled parking space at the rear of the property. There was obviously dogs living there are the smell and sight of dog mess was everywhere. The outside of the building was very run down with dirty looking windows and curtains. The neighbours property had metal grills at every window. A man who stated he was the owner's friend poked his head out of the back door and directed us around the front as there were dogs in the kitchen. As we entered through the front door we were met by an unpleasant musty/dirty smell (unsure what it was). We could hear dogs barking from the back. We were shown to our respective rooms which were very dusty/unclean and then said he had been waiting for us to arrive as he had to go out and would not be back until the next morning. He said (with a fag hanging out his mouth ) that he would come back about 10 ish the next day to cook breakfast for us. The beds were rickety and there were pieces missing off the old fashioned wardrobes. The bedding was disgusting and had hairs and stains on the sheets. There was no hot water or shower over the bath. The bath was chipped and filthy also. Not one of the ten of us could bear to have breakfast the next morning and one couple refused to pay for the room as they did not sleep in the bed as it was so filthy. There were arguments and the police were called. Stay away from this hotel at all costs. I think the environmental health department should take a look and the RSPCA too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynncroft51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

I am writing this review months after my wife and I stayed there. My only comments are that our experience mirrors that of the other 2 guests in April 2010. The location was about the only good thing, as it is within walking distance of the centre of York. The guest house itself was very dissapointing. Our room had not been cleaned from the previous guests, the bins were full, cigarette ends in the fire place, dust and cobwebs everywhere, but the worst thing was the dirty tissue we found in our bed on the first night. The breakfast was appaling, the quality and presentation were from somebody that just did not care, and the food was unappetising. Then there was the parking, I was told by the manager that i could park on the exit round the back of the house, and as a result i received a rude letter from a disgruntled neighbour, who then dented and scratched my car which was under 1 year old. After 3 nights stay we were ready to go home. We wrote to the manager and never received a reply. My advise would be that if this was the last available hotel in York, and you really want to go, book into the nearest town instead and make day trips!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coverdale076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

went to york for new year.. had a great time untill we went back to this hotel...... there was people waiting outside to get in , in the freezing cold.. and had been outside for hours waiting to get in..then we woke up expecting breakfast to be told the landlady had been arrested. for fighting.... no breakfast.and another couple couldnt go home because the owners car was blocking theres in and they couldnt get hold of the landlady because she was in a police cell.the hotel wasnt what it looked like in pictures and wasnt clean a shared bathroom for our floor which wasnt nice to look at, the toilet was dirty.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifton hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,073 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beechwood Close Hotel
Beechwood Close Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clifton
385 reviews
0.9 mi away
YHA York
YHA York
#1 of 1 in Clifton
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Heathers Guest House
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lodge

Property: Hilton Lodge
Address: 44 Wigginton Road | Clifton, Clifton, York YO31 8HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Victorian rooms outstanding period features Bed & Breakfast complimentary bottle of wine quality en-suite facilities recent extensive refurbishment 10 mins walk to city centre / York Minster. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hilton Lodge York, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing