We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sore back and sleep deprived”
Review of Hotel Noir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Noir
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2010

The hotel looks very nice from outside and the staff at check in was very helpful and friendly. When getting into the room to find everything we were impressed - who wouldnt be with a hotel that allows you to drink anything from the minibar for free, brings you hair straighteners and refills everything each day you stay?
It was clean and once we settled quickly. After going out for dinner we started to crash so got ready. In our room we had a double bed and two singles, so I started to climb into the first single only to find that on sitting on it I nearly went through the base!! So I moved to the second (also closer to a light to read) and it wasnt much better. The double bed was lovely and firm still but parents got preference on that one.
After finally getting comfortable and wrapping the small duvet around myself I began to drift off only to be woken by running water and heavy footsteps from the room above us! The walls were so thin! Everytime our upstairs neighbours got up in the night one of us woke up!
When I got up for breakfast I found my back was very stiff and sore from the soft matress!
Breakfast was good - nice choices and friendly staff.
So off we went for a day out. On coming back no staff to be found! Stood for 10 minutes ringing the desk bell and calling out to get the room key back! Think my parents thought I ran away.
As promised everything had been restocked including the fresh milk - well sour milk!
Quickly got that rectified. And the night was exactly like the first but possibly more uncomfortable so probably only got a few minutes sleep at a time!
Breakfast on our last day was a joke!!! one person working everything - including reception! Had to actually nearly grab the girl serving to ask her to take our order!! Eventually got our food after 15 - 20 minutes wait while other people were served who arrived after us! Quality of food was good though and was quickly eaten.
Check out was another joke! Not a staff member in sight!!! So there we stand - Dad ringing the desk bell and me off to the restaurant to find someone to help only to be told "yeah gimme a minute" and the girl walks into the kitchen.
Eventually on leaving another staff member arrives but by then it was too late!!
Only bonus that we found was that they only charged us for 2 breakfasts over 2 days instead of 6! Not complaining about that.
Wouldnt stay here again if you paid me - even for the location!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,030 - 1,036 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2010

On arrival service ok. Paid for superior room got standard bathroom with peeling tiles and a plug that didnt fit the sink.
More staff stood smoking than were serving the cold breakfast.
The minibar was a joke and not even a spoon to stir hot drinks.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unhappy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

nasty. Also dirty. Definately not hotel boutique. More like DSS B&B. No good having a black and white bedroom unless it's done high end. It felt like a victorian bedroom were bodies were laid to rest before buriel. And I'm not exagerating. Creepy... Don't do it to yourself. Car park too small so no spot available. Parking on side streets only available til 8am next day. What good is that? We left for a luxury hotel for less than Hotel Noir charged. That's when our weekend began.....

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I stayed here with friends for a girlie weekend, we have stayed in York before and the city is wonderful for shopping, eating out and sightseeing. We found the hotel quite unfriendly, difficult to park and the rooms not very comfortable. We were put in one of the "outside rooms" which made it feel like we were in a cheap american motel rather than a city centre hotel. The bathroom was a bit unwelcoming and the room dark. The bed was comfy however and the breakfast was good, the morning staff were friendly but the desk clerk was a bit grumpy. We didnt find the rooms relaxing to sit in and neither was the front of the hotel, i realise it is called hotel noir, but the black theme is rather dated and a bit depressing.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

My impression of this hotel is that there's rather more style than substance: it's trying to be something it's not. The black and white decor is smart, the staff are friendly, but not always that efficient. My room, supposedly a double, was tiny - barely room to edge between bed and window. However, it was clean and comfortable. The restaurant, nearly empty on both nights of our stay, nevertheless served us some excellent food. The biggest problem was with other guests. On the first night everyone on our floor was woken first by several people coming back very late and then by a couple screaming, swearing and shouting at 3am. We were assured that they weren't staying a second night - but then there was a similar incident with another couple! There's no soundproofing worth speaking of, doors slam and some of the rooms face a busy main road. Not the place to go if you value your sleep. Having gone to York to relax, we came back more shattered than when we arrived. Oh, and the hotel is a good 20 mins walk from the city centre, so be suspicious of the reviews that claim 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asthreads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Crap hotel, decor done on the cheap, B&Q beds, crap bathroom, shower would only work with help from my partner (reception knew about the problem when we mentioned it), more than ten minutes from the cathedral as advertised (20mins I would say, and we're not elderly), I would never ever stay there again. The breakfast, at £7.50, was disgusting, and we couldn't wait to get out of there. Word of warning the bill had been taken off the credit card before we even got to reception to check out. I noticed nobody stayed at the restaurant while we were there, and nobody at the bar either. Nil points.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Room (triple bedded) small no windows, no soundproofing could hear all conversations and movements of rooms above !!!! In room is hidden water/waste pipes from other rooms/toilets, this was a continuous noise that went on throughout
Would not recommend this hotel, reception staff unfriendly and did not take heed of our simple requests

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilary o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
2.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,438 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
2.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range: $67 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing