We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new addition”
Review of Hotel Noir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Noir
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Stayed here about a year ago and on my annual visit to York came back to see what had been done. They have opened a fabulous restaurant - chef apparently had worked at some very good local 2 and 3 rosette Yorkshire restaurants and it showed. Been open about 2 weeks and service was still bedding in but the food was absolutely fantastic and good value for money. The rooms had major improvements (chair and desk now) and I understand that they had only 4 left to do. All in all a great stay, single nights at the weekend - hard to find in York and another reason for my return visit.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sicboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Noir
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2009

Great place. Really enjoyed. Comfortable and relaxing. It had everything we needed. Good value and good food. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sw1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We were told by the owner that they had been there for one year.It soon became obvious they had no previous knowledge of running a hotel.The theme was black and white,so why a yellow bathroom suite,wall tiles painted white,cheap brown lino,sealed badly with white silicon.The bedroom gave me the impression it had been furnished with the owners DREAM in mind and not my comfort.This was a superior room,with a superior price.The dining room again themed in black and white resembled a factory canteen,my fried egg looked to have been laid by a Budgie.These owners will make lots of money without the use of a mask and gun.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlyboy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

I would definitely stay at Hotel Noir again. First: just one negative point: first impressions count and when we arrived around noon the reception area hadn't been vacuumed and there was a strong smell of chips and vinegar in the air; also, the reception desk is badly designed as the front is opaque and all the paperwork and files are visible which makes the reception area appear much shabbier than it actually is. The criticisms end there as we were pleased with the rest of the service and the hotel.
The receptionist was helpful and pleasant; we had a three bedded room which looked recently refurbished with a clean, modern shower room. The breakfast was generous with waiter service and the staff, although young, were eager to please and polite.
There were extras which you would usually associate with a 4/5 star hotel: our cases were taken to our rooms and returned to reception at the end of our stay, plenty of good quality toileteries and towels were provided, complimentary soft drinks, wine and water were provided in a small fridge in the room. A coffee/tea maker was in the room (we would actually pefer an ordinary kettlle which you do not have to learn to use).
I find some of the comments about this hotel (and other hotels) on Trip Advisor unfair and unreasonable: some guests seem to expect 5 star accommodation and location at 2 star prices.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dddBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

I went for a romantic weekend away with boyfriend in March and the hotel was lovely, the rooms were clean and nicely decorated however it is a taxi/bus ride away from the city centre.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank princesskerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Like other people who have reviewed this hotel I did feel that I had been misled by the prices and the website promoting Hotel Noir.

What I was expecting was a boutique hotel: what I found was more of a B&B that the owners had attempted to cover up with large amounts of black and white paint.

I was immediately concerned when I noticed that the exterior of the building still had a large sign claiming it to be the 'Cottage Hotel' alongside newer signage for Hotel Noir.

Inside the room was quite shabby, the bed was a four poster (but appeared to be the cheapest pine one they could find), and the windows only single glazed (not ideal for a room facing the front and a quite busy road).

However the bathroom really highlighted the problem with the hotel. Rather than re-tile they had simply painted over the old tiles (badly): rather than hide the pipework for the new shower they had surface run the pipes out of the side of the bath, up the wall and then back in to the new shower unit.

The only saving grace of this establishment is its location which is only 10 minutes walk from town but if you do plan to stay there don't pay more than B&B rates.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

I am afraid the web site is misleading (not disimilar to estate agent details really!!). The location itself is lovely as it the exterier of the hotel. Once inside you are met by a wash of black and white which is way too oppresive. After a long wait for someone to come to reception we were pointed in the direction of our room. Up several flights of carpeted stairs which clearly hadn't seen a hoover for months we arrived at our room. We had been warned it would be cosy so i was prepared for it being small - in actual fact it wasn't a bad size. Again the oppresive black and white (who ever planned the interior decoration needs shooting - a cross between Bet Lynch's bedroom and a black and white movie). The mini bar was a nice touch as was a decent tv and free wi fi. But the basics were disapointing - a shower that had no power what so ever, at best a trickle. A toilet seat which was half hanging off as was the towel rail. The plug too far from the mirror so no good for drying your hair in front of. Both bedside lampshades broken and tatty. The chair which clearly hadn't been moved to hoover behind since it was placed there. Curtains (black ofcourse) that had dubious stains on them. All school boy errors.
We will return to York but I am afraid we wont return to The Noir. There are several hotels just a stones throw away for the same rate.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheshirecoalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
2.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
2.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range: $80 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing