We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel”
Review of Hotel Noir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Noir
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here for one night as a little getaway to York, have been to York before for a short trip and always enjoy it, would definitely stay in this hotel again, good location to walk into the centre (around 10/15 minutes) and only a £5 taxi ride when we got a taxi from a central restaurant (Delrios- excellent italian restaurant)

The Hotel features lots of lovely little touches that make the stay feel special, I booked through the website and signed up as a 'friend' which gave us 10% off the room and any food or drinks we had during our stay. It also meant we could have a late check out (12pm) and that our room was upgraded from a standard double to a four poster, we had large fluffy robes to snuggle into, and handmade chocolates to enjoy with the complimentary prosecco in our mini bar.

Not an overly luxurious hotel but a good price for a stay in York and the little touches may not be essential but do make you feel a little bit spoiled (free mini bar, coffee machine, dressing gowns, ipod docking station)

We stayed on the ground floor (up and down some stairs still so don't recommend lugging huge suitcases, although we were offered a hand if we needed it) We were at the front of the hotel which meant there was quite a bit of traffic and pedestrian noise, this was not helped by the fact we had our window open due to the warm weather. However we slept well in the huge king size bed.
We had a large bathroom with a lovely deep bath and modern features and the room overall was clean and comforable, if a little overpowered by the very large bed.

Was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel and cannot wait to return for another stay in york

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RhonaEliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Remember to book via our website when you return, and your ‘Friends Of Noir’ membership will get you all the same benefits for your return visit.

Kind regards, Hotel Noir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

561 - 567 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in one of the "compact rooms". The place had a good look to it and looked to be of a high standard. The compact room we had is pretty compact but as we were only there 1 night it was managable. Our view however wad of roof tops so nothing scenic. Whilst the room offered some nice touches like a kenco machine and toiletries, both the duvet cover and matress sheet had large ripped holes in them which im surprised had been overlooked. Furthermore, our room was right next to the stairs so at 2 am in the morning we were woken up by doors slamming and some rather loud guests. However, breakfast in the morning was great, we had a lovely cooked breakfast. The parking was very convenient although spaces are limited but with a ten minute walk into town the location was ideal. In all, I wouldnt pay as much as we did again and there were some dissapointing features however its still a good place to stop off at if your looking to visit york just for a day / night.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackrosepetals91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Thank you for your stay! Glad to hear that overall it was a good one. I’m sorry to hear that holes in the sheets have been overlooked – this certainly shouldn’t be the case and I will bring it up with our housekeeping manager. Prices vary depending on demand – there are bargains to be had if you are able to be flexible with your days!

Kind regards, Hotel Noir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at the Noir and loved it. Had our evening meal there and breakfast. Both excellent. The room had all the little extras you don't expect like a coffee machine, iron and ironing board, special packs if you have forgotten toiletries etc. Room was spotless. Bathroom looked like it was recently renovated. Very nice but extremely small. Bed wasn't the greatest, but not the worst I have slept in either. Easy walking distance to the Minster plus only £5 by taxi. On the down side it was a bit noisy from road traffic. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for lowest room possible as stairs are pretty steal, and maybe away from front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! From what you say I would guess that you booked one of our ‘compact’ rooms, which are on the smaller side but are advertised as such and guests requiring a bit of extra room are advised to go for the standard double or above. In the past couple of weeks we have had double glazing fitted throughout the hotel which has done a great deal in reducing traffic noise. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards, Hotel Noir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

A nice hotel that we booked a bit late in the day and ended up staying another night. Had a very nice meal when we got there and a few drinks as well. It is in a very good location, only a ten minute walk into the town centre. Has an interesting car park around the back of the building but it just added to our memories of York. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future!

Kind regards, Hotel Noir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

A very pleasant stay.... We booked last minute and didn't really know what to expect.. A little pricey for what you got, but it was nice and close the town centre. Staff very polite and friendly. Especially Sally who was working breakfast during our stay. Cooked breakfast and the continental was good, but unfortunately the Danish let it down they ran out off pain au chocolate, so we ordered croissants as we were told they were cooked to order.... Cooked was a loose term cremated would of been a better term as soon as my knife touched the croissant disintegrated into crumbs. We didn't say anything as Sally was such a lovely girl we didn't want to make a fuss. But we would stay again if in town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pieandbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Thank you for your review. It’s good to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Prices can be high due to the huge demand in this ever-popular city, but if you are able to be flexible with your dates there are bargains to be had, especially by booking direct with the hotel. Sorry to hear about your croissant, I’ve passed on your feedback to the chef. On the plus side, glad to hear Sally made such a good impression though!

Kind regards, Hotel Noir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was taken here as a surprise for my birthday and it was lovely, the Hotel was very nice and we had one of the rooms with a four poster bed, which was nice. The room had everything you need with a great shower, TV,Ipod unit and coffee machine.

The staff were very nice and they were very helpful, the only downside is the carpar which is very small but it was not a problem.

It is a nice walk into York and it is on the main road so you can not go wrong. Well worth the money.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor which was fun taking our bag up there, even though we were opposite the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart1974_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us! Our car park is small, but we are fortunate that there is also ample free parking on the streets alongside the hotel. I hope we can welcome you back in the future if you are visiting York again.

Kind regards, Hotel Noir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend, we had one of the four poster bed room which was spacious with coffee and tea making facilities, a TV, an iPod radio, a free mini bar and a nice sized bathroom with bath.

The hotel carpark was full but we managed to get parking on the road by the side of the hotel which was great after a long journey.

The breakfast was wholesome, and there was a vegetarian option too which was very tasty. We also checked out the bar which was pleasant before we headed out for dinner.

The only thing I would nitpick about, is that when we phoned prior to booking to ask how close they were to the city centre. Whoever answered said they were very close, this isn't the case, we had to get a taxi or drive to the city centre.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Pinuprobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Thank you for your review, and I’m glad you enjoyed your stay! With regards to our distance from the city centre, we are 0.8 miles away, which is around 10 minutes walk, which to me is ‘close’, but I acknowledge that this is somewhat subjective. Some comments from other recent reviews: “good location to walk into the centre”, “it was nice and close the town centre”, “It is in a very good location, only a ten minute walk into the town centre”. I will advise staff when asked this question in future to let people know the walking time and distance, then guests can make up their own minds whether for them this is close enough or not.

Kind regards, Hotel Noir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
2.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
2.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range: $59 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing