We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Thoughtful”
Review of Hotel Noir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Noir
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We booked a classic double room and it came complete with dressing gowns, slippers, complimentary mini-bar, a Tassimo hot drinks maker - with fresh milk in the mini bar - large bath towels, an iPod player, flat screen TV, room safe and free Wi-Fi. There was even an electric heater just in case. The room was very comfortable indeed. For the forgetful, for example, shaving kits, dental kits, shower caps etc. are all available from reception at no charge. The ensuite was rather 'bijou' and there was no place to hang the really nice large bath sheets to dry. We slept well but were woken during the night by doors closing with a 'bang'. There is limited parking to the rear of the hotel which is just a 15 minute stroll from the centre of York. Breakfast is geared very much to the cooked options with for example, no yoghurts or fresh fruit items on the breakfast bar during our stay. However, the cooked options are hearty and freshly prepared. If there is no juice do ask as we noted that once the jug for the orange juice was emptied no one refilled it - and we were at our breakfast table for a good half hour. We ate in the restaurant one evening and both the service and the food were very good indeed. A really good place to stay in York. This hotel doesn't try and 'charge' you for all those little things which make such a difference.

Room Tip: A classic double with a view of the car park to avoid any road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Walkhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for your review, I’m very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and pleased that you appreciated the little extras we provide for our guests. I hope we can welcome you back if you are visiting York again in the future!

Kind regards, Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

Was an easy place to find thanks to the old trusty sat nav, and me and my mature partner we're over moon we got a parking space! Anyway we was greeted by a lovely receptionist who couldn't wait to check us in, this made us happy as customers because We felt special!!! The best is yet to come, reading other reviews we expected a shower 'abysmal' to other guests but oh how wrong was we... As we entered the compact room, a bath greeted us!!!!! Words can't explain how happy I was, this made £51 worth paying! In all seriousness it's a cracking hotel for money and I'll be coming back sometime
All best si thi (p.s, the coffee machine is a work of art) #happy

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke_Lister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for your review, I’m very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back if you are visiting York again in the future!

Kind regards, Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I was really impressed with this hotel.
The room was nicely decorated, the quality of the furnishings were great, the hotel was a little quirky (this is a good thing for a small establishment) the breakfast was one of the best I have ever eaten at a hotel.

The only real negatives were the very small car park (found parking easy enough on back road) the proximity of the bed to the room door and the road noise in the evenings. I am being picky with most of these though hence 4/5

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Mbusiness2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Owner at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, I’m glad to hear that you were pleased with your stay! I’m happy to confirm that we are having double glazing fitted throughout the hotel next month which will help alleviate the traffic noise which some people find disturbing. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards, Hotel Noir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed here for one night in the double compact room. Thought the room was a good size, very clean and additions such as the mini fridge and tassimo machine made it feel very luxurious. My only criticism is that it is a bit of a walk from the train station. Perhaps I would have taken a taxi with my luggage. Once you are settled in it is not too much of a walk- about fifteen mins to the Minster. Overall a lovely stay. I have already started thinking about when I can go back!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for your review, I’m very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back if you are visiting York again in the future!

Kind regards, Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed here in April. Lovely hotel, nice and clean and only a short walk into York. Tiny car park but plenty of parking available nearby. Would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was lovely and plenty available.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for your review, I’m very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back if you are visiting York again in the future!

Kind regards, Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

What a gem of a Hotel ! This is our second stay and we found everything spot on. Fantastic four poster bedroom, absolutely spotless and cleaned every day. Everything you need for a short break. The complimentary mini bar was an added bonus. We stayed overlooking the green at front of hotel and were not disturbed by traffic noise. Will deffinately stay here and recommend this Hotel again. Staff were only too happy to oblige to requests. Many thanks Paul & Linn

Room Tip: Four Poster Rooms are spacious and stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linndy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for your excellent feedback! I hope we can continue to welcome you to the hotel in future, please give us a call direct and we can offer you a 10% discount from the advertised rates as a returning customer.

Kind regards, Hotel Noir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I could not fault this hotel,The room was spotless clean,the decor very tastefull and the free minibar was a bonus.I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again because another bonus was the free parking and it was only a fifteen minute stroll to the center of York.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chippy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for your excellent feedback! I hope we can continue to welcome you to the hotel in future, please give us a call direct and we can offer you a 10% discount from the advertised rates as a returning customer.

Kind regards, Hotel Noir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
2.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,438 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
2.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range: $67 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing