We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap at twice the price!”
Review of Hotel Noir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Noir
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Cheap at twice the price!”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We arrived late morning at the hotel and there was no problem with leaving our vehicle in the car park whilst we walked into the city - a pleasant 15 minute walk. We had a room in the rear annex which was nice and quiet. The room was clean and spacious with a comfortable bed and modern, refurbished bathroom. A drinks maker and complimentary mini bar was a very nice touch. Can't comment on the food as we did not eat at the hotel, but at £61 for a 2 night stay it was exceptional value and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 446MikeE446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    351
    187
    79
    77
See reviews for
88
732
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our daughter booked a three day break at Hotel Noir for us as a surprise thank you because we are in the middle of planning her wedding. She had stayed there the previous week and had had a wonderful time. We thought the four-poster bed was lovely and we enjoyed using the tassimo machine. The mini-bar was generous too. The staff were really friendly and helpful and informed us how to find our way around the city. It was a magical time of year with all the Christmas lights etc. We would definitely go again and I have recommended it to all my friends.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Found this hotel by chance, after it had been mentioned by the guide at a castle we had visited. Quaint and Quirky were my first impressions. I found it interesting finding my way around the building which was 2 houses joined together, with staircases going every which way. No lift, but the staff handled our luggage for us, which was fortunate as our compact room was on the 4th floor. The room was very clean, with good linen, hot showers, and we had a most convenient carpark at the back of the hotel. The meals were excellent value, nicely presented and tasty. The staff was friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed our 2 nights stay. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Perhaps lower rooms may be a bit bigger than the 'compact' one we had, but the windows opene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review and I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your food! We are happy to help with luggage up the stairs, I would say that we only have ground, first, and second floors though, no fourth! I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Noir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I booked a 4 poster room,as a treat for my husbands 56th birthday, at a cost of £220.00 for the night with breakfast and Dinner. The room was fine, but very dusty, the shower was dreadful( part of the bath) and operated by the taps, obviously for small people like me, but not for my husband, who is tall. The service at Dinner and breakfast was appalling, at Dinner only one waitress serving, but only 3 tables in the restaurant were occupied, a lengthy wait, she did her best however!!! Breakfast was worse, we went down at 9.15 am as checkout was at 11.00 am, there were no available tables, two waitresses on duty, so a table was then set up for us in the bar, we then waited 40 minutes for our breakfast. The restaurant was cold, lacked any ambiance, plastic furniture. On a positive note the food was good when it arrived, but would not stay again, or recommend this hotel, way over priced!!!!.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 224MrsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. It’s disappointing to hear that you had some problems with your stay. Prices in York on a Saturday night are very high due to the huge demand, but bargains can be had if you are able to be flexible with your dates. We have had some issues with speed of service from our kitchen recently, however we have now appointed a new chef and this has improved matters considerably. On the plus side, it’s good to hear that you liked the room and enjoyed the food!

Kind regards,

Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed in a family room on a Saturday night in November and found it was ideal for a night away with the kids.
The room was clean and had absolutely everything we could have wanted or needed. The shower room ensuite was very clean and everything looked new. The heating was very generous (we were actually too hot and had to open the wndow!)
The location is perfect, a 10 minute stroll to the minster which even our kids didn't complain too much about!
The quality of the breakfast was superb, everything cooked to order and the staff were so pleasant.
I like this place. There were some nice little extra touches such as a generous free mini bar in the room, a tassimo drinks machine, ipod dock, lovely smellies in the bathroom, breakfast menu printed daily with weather forecast, newspapers, any items forgotten were supplied free (toothbrush, sewing kit, shoe shine etc) and friendly, helpful staff. What more could you ask for a 3* hotel in York?
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runforthehills2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review! Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much and appreciated all our little extra touches. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future!

Kind regards,

Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My partner and I wanted a little break, So after reading some of the reviews on Hotel Noir wasnt sure what to do but we are so pleased we didn't listen to some of them because they were negative but chose to go ahead anyway. We arrived to a friendly welcome. We went half board and it was worth every penny. The food was lovely and well presented plenty of choice. Toni our waitress for the two nights was a lovely young lady she was very helpful and friendly. Our room was very clean. Lovely soft towels. Comfortable bed. Free minibar and a Tassimo hot beverage machine was most welcoming. Pleased I read the reviews and pleased we made up our own minds and stayed there. Thank you to all the staff at Hotel Noir. Hopefully see you all again very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if traffic noise bothers you. And a room on the ground floor if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JACSW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review! I’m glad you were able to make up your own mind about the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay so much. Please give us a call direct if you are ever returning to York in the future and we will make sure you get the best available room at the best available rate.

Kind regards,

Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Lovely comfortable hotel , breakfast lovely, staff very friendly and helpful, would definately stay again! Although little far from York centre, it is a pleasant walk,great to have parking at hotel also! Thank you liz and Megan Beckett

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,297 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Property: Hotel Noir
Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing