We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One nighter”
Review of Hotel Noir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Noir
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One nighter”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had booked for one night and asked for a twin room with a view. We were given a double bed and had to ask to change rooms. The original room seemed noisy as it was near the road. Also there was no kettle or tea making facilities. The bathroom was horrible. However when we were moved to the ground floor twin it all changed. the room by the carpark was quiet we had a good quality coffee machine and lovely coffee and in the fridge which was all gratis were soft drinks beer and wine all free. It was £50 a night special prices which was good. I just find it unfortunate that when you complain at a hotel you then get the nice room etc when really all rooms should be nice. We didn't have breakfast as it seemed expensive.

Room Tip: Don't let hotels fob you off with a mediocre room they should all be up to a high standard if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
16/9 “One nighter”
Thank you for your feedback and I’m glad you were pleased with the second room.
I would however like to clarify a few points from your review.
Your booking confirmation from Lastminute.com (a copy of which both yourself and the hotel receive) states:
“Room 1 Description Run of House Double/Twin. Room Only.

Special Request: If there is a room with a nice view that would be appreciated. Thank you.”
No mention was made that you preferred a twin over a double, so I allocated you a standard double room on the second floor with views over the green. Fortunately we had a twin available so I was able to move you when you informed me this was what you required.

All rooms in the hotel have both a Tassimo Tea/Coffee machine and a kettle.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    347
    185
    78
    77
See reviews for
86
725
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Despite the good reviews I would give this place a miss. The receptionist at the front desk gave my husband and I incorrect information about the town and sent us on a wild goose chase. Just for the record there are no laundrettes 1/2 mile down the road and then turn right or left for that matter. The rooms are poky and the water pressure was weak and the temperature Luke warm. The waiter who served us at dinner couldn't answer the simplest of questions and came back mumbling something incoherent from the chef. The room was noisy we could hear traffic from the road and from other guests in the hotel.

Room Tip: Give this hotel a miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff_Fletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Haxby Road Laundrette is half a mile down the road from the hotel followed by a left turn as advised by the receptionist – I am sorry if you were unable to find it but I can assure you that it is there!

We have rooms of all sizes – our smaller rooms are advertised as ‘compact rooms’ and are accordingly priced cheaper than our standard, superior or 4 Poster rooms. We do not disguise the fact that these rooms are on the smaller side.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the other issues with your stay – I will ensure that the appropriate remedial action is taken to resolve these.

Regards,

Hotel Noir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed last night (Thursday) and found the hotel not too big and hence really friendly staff. I thought the building and rooms were very mod looking and both well equipped. The only complaint I have is our room was at the front and above the front door. We heard the door slam every time some one left or arrived. Also the traffic noise was bad as mentioned by previous reveiwers. Breakfast in the morning was really nice( full English) and a great choice of fruit juice toast and cerial. The walk into town was only 10 mins and a taxi back was only a fiver.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed your stay!

I know that traffic noise can be an issue for some people – if you are returning to York and would like to stay with us again, please call the hotel direct for the best possible rate, and we will ensure that you are allocated a room at the back of the hotel away from the road.

Kind regards,

Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

we stayed on the top floor front room nice room with 4 poster bed and lovely coffee machine nice shower parking was very tight but as i'm such a epic driver not a problem for me :) stunning time in York history trip was wicked and so was the ghost walk and open top bus and the wheel of York we liked our stay and indian meal next door was very nice

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belsasinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review! I’m glad you had such a great time in York and that you liked the room – if you are returning to York, please give us a call direct and we can allocate you the same room again at the best possible rate.

Kind regards,

Hotel Noir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Booked a standard double-room during August '13 and although not spacious, it was clean and comfortable enough for one night. The real let-down was that there was no water pressure in the shower, just a trickle. Upon looking through the hotel guide, I saw that the room's previous guest had noted this on the comments form and it appeared to have been ignored and left in the guide for us to see. Upon informing reception in the morning, the lady there said she would inform the maintenance person who was due but this was of no use to us as we were only there for the one night. Lovely breakfast but just expected to be able to have a shower!

Room Tip: Think we were in room 803!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Smith81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry that you had problems with the water pressure. Our maintenance team is looking into this and I thank you for bringing it to our attention.

On the plus side I’m glad you enjoyed the breakfast.

Kind regards,
Hotel Noir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My partner and I have today returned from a two night stay at Hotel Noir. Booked
as a Secret Hotel we received a fantastic price, but obviously didn't know which
hotel we had actually booked.

Well, when we paid and found out where we were staying we were surprised as we had booked Secret Hotels before and they have always been chain hotels, such as Holiday Inn etc. Anyway, we thought it looked really nice in the photos and the location looked good. We then read the reviews. To say we were disappointed by the reviews is an understatement, this was supposed to be a romantic break...

We really do not know about the previous reviewers, but we have no complaints
whatsoever. We arrived early, (very early 4 hours). Went to reception to see if we were ok to leave the car in their car park while we went into the city and the young
lady at the reception was fantastic so friendly, helpful, polite and informative...as was every single member of staff we spoke to throughout our stay.

We have always been of the opinion that if you are friendly and courteous yourself then others respond in a likewise manner, maybe previous reviewers would like to think about that...

We were upgraded to a room with a four poster bed! It wasn't the biggest of
rooms we have stayed in but had more storage space than most! The decor was
lovely, the bathroom was really nice, the shower cubicle was large and very relaxing to shower without banging your arms and legs...(why moan about paper bath mats, they are Eco friendly and hygienic...) ?

The Tassimo and mini bar were added bonuses, the bed was comfortable, and even though we are both very light sleepers, we slept well (our room was on the top floor so well away from the road).

As for the car park...yes, it's small, yes, it's got a narrow entry to it, but
It is free! There is plenty of free on street parking to be had too.

We had three fantastic days in York. I won't be booking 'Secret Hotel' in future,
we will be going to Hotel Noir!

We honestly have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude19604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review!
It is reading feedback like this that makes everything we try to do worthwhile. I’m glad you had such a great time in York and that you liked the room so much – if you are returning to York, please give us a call direct and we can allocate you the same room again at the best possible rate.

Kind regards,

Hotel Noir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is located a short walk from the railway station and city centre. It's in a lovely period building off a village green. The decor is modern, black and white and a little quirky....but this makes a welcome change from bland chain hotels. The staff are friendly warm and extremely helpful. The complimentary mini bar and daily jug of fresh milk for the tea and coffee machine were a great touch. We had a standard double which was at the back of the hotel....it was lovely and quiet, with the exception of a pump / mechanical device that came on a couple of times overnight and was a little irritating....not enough to spoil the stay. Good value, would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelsBells74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay!
We hope to see you again – please give us a call direct if you are returning and we’ll make sure you get the best possible rate.

Kind regards

Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,256 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Property: Hotel Noir
Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing