We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good last minute find”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Noir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Noir
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
sheffield
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good last minute find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Staff helpful, room good size (bathroom perhaps needs updating!), mini bar was a great touch to start our night.
On site parking, not too large though! Walking distance into city. A surprising find, would stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review – I’m glad you enjoyed your stay!

There is a refurbishment program for our bathrooms ongoing at present and we hope to be finished very soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Noir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    336
    183
    77
    77
See reviews for
84
698
22
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skegness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in a 4 poster room, which was lovely, but please at those prices per night put in some double glazing as the traffic noise was terrible at times!! Also buy some proper bath mats!!
Breakfast was yummy & the staff were friendly. Was a bit of a walk into town, but not too bad. All in all we enjoyed our stay, the coffee machine & mini bar were a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review – so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Hotel Noir has an active eco-friendly policy, and our paper bath mats are part of this – they are standard in many hotels. We can provide additional towels if requested however. Double glazing is something we are considering but in a listed building of this age it is unfortunately not an easy task!

Kind regards

Hotel Noir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting York. The hotel is only a 15 minute walk from town. The meals were lovely and staff friendly. We had the four poster room which we didnt feel was worth the extra money. Nice hotel but would probably stay nearer to the centre of town to enable us to go out at night for a few drinks and would probably not bother doing dinner as well as there were lots of nice places in York to eat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayrwave62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay!

We hope to see you again – please give us a call direct if you are returning and we’ll make sure you get the best possible rate.

Kind regards

Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Cool hotel, walking distance to York. Smart decor, modern, black and white theme, looks great. Our room had a wall separating the bathroom that was made of glass bricks, a voyeurs dream. I pressed my peachy bottom up to the squares and experienced a quite special sensation, and my other half got an eyeful of exquisite natural beauty on the other side. The room had a mini fridge and a Tassimo coffee machine which was a nice touch. Couple that with a toilet seat that descended in a measured, deliberate manner and you have all the ingredients for a quality hotel. Our room was supposed to be 'compact' but it wasnt small at all, id go so far as to call it medium sized.

Five stars, fully reccomended

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iancurtis222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review! That is certainly detailed information about just how much you enjoyed yourself! The main thing is that you did enjoy yourself, which is our main aim! We hope to welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future, please give us a call direct to get the best available rates.

Kind regards,

Hotel Noir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hotel was very tired and the room was in need of some TLC and a good dust. Could not use the coffee machine as no coffee provided, called at reception and they boiught some to the room but then the milk was off so gave up trying to get a drink. Staff could have been more customer focused.

Breakfast good and tasty.

Would have expected a lot more for the money we paid for the room.
Sorry will not be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay.

I wish you had told us about the milk at the time – of course the milk should have been fresh (this is one of the problems with providing real milk rather than UHT and something our guests often praise us for) but we would have liked the chance to put this right for you and make a small gesture as an apology for your trouble.

I hope that if you are returning to York you would give our hotel another try, if you called direct to book we would make sure you had the best available room for the best available rate.

Kind regards

Hotel Noir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our visit. The hotel is set back from the main road and there is a good bus service into the centre of York. It is also easily walkable via the road or along a pleasant path next to the river. There is a pleasant park close by too. We had a double room with fridge and a selection of drinks was replaced daily in the fridge which we thought was very generous. We did not have an evening meal at the hotel so cannot give an opinion but the breakfast was good. The whole place was spotless and we were able to use the internet free of charge. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The bus passes the National Railway Museum, York Minster, the train station so is ideal for anyone w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazza002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again – please give us a call direct if you are returning and we’ll make sure you get the best possible rate.

Kind regards

Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Plus points, nice area that it is located in. Four poster bed in the room was really comfortable. Decent breakfast. Some nice add ons to the rooms (coffee machine, complimentary mini bar, decent toiletries)

Negatives, the hotel is in an old building so you can hear every noise and creak and there were lots of noises, creaks and squeaking !! Downstairs room we had backed onto the street so we couldn't leave the window open not that it would stay open anyway being an old sash window. Get some proper bathmats, paper ones really aren't acceptable. Pointless having a TV on a wall where you cannot watch it in bed without hurting your neck.
Reception staff were civil but not overly friendly in my opinion. Breakfast staff were very friendly however.
The doors in and out of the building and to the room were temperamental to say the least.

Asked for a late check out and were told this would be £25 PER HOUR !! Luckily we only needed an extra hour which they allowed us to have without charge.

This hotel could be great, it has the right ideas but at the moment it is average and for the price we could have stayed somewhere that was better value for money.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a downstairs room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. I’m glad that overall your stay was a good one.

Paper bath mats are common in many 3 and 4 star establishments, however we have exchanged these for teak duckboards due to customer comments.

Late check out is £15 per hour and is strictly subject to availability, often it is not possible at all as there is a very limited window in which rooms have to be cleaned and ready for the next day’s arrivals, and the hotel is full more often than not.

Kind regards, Hotel Noir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 45 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Property: Hotel Noir
Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing