We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Noir
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
B+B York(York)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jorvik House(York)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,175)
Filter reviews
1,175 results
Traveler rating
444
380
193
79
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
444
380
193
79
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree mini barcoffee machinecompact roomcar parksmall bottle of winefour posterlovely little hotelfresh milkposter bedcity centrepub next doorminute walkiron and ironing boarddressing gownsfree parkingwould stay againbooked this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
838 - 843 of 1,175 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel Noir rescued us in a time of need!
We'd spent a great weekend in York at another B&B and unfortunately as our train was due to leave chaos ensued and all rail transport out of York was suspended.
A quick search online revealed availability at Hotel Noir for £30 a night... could this be true?
A brief 'help us' style phone call with the lovely Sarah on reception confirmed this and we set off on foot..
Noir is about 15 minutes walk from York Station (although we cheated on the way back, £5 in a taxi) and is a very short walk from the centre of the City.
On arrival, about 2130, the staff were superb, very welcoming and sorted out a taxi for us so we could catch our train in the morning.
Admittedly, for £30 a night, our hopes weren't high. But we were blown away by the value for money of the place.
We were given a lovely spacious room that was possibly in an old stable building, accessed via a courtyard.
The room was clean and contained all the usual bits, a flat screen tv, nice coffee maker, clean bathroom, etc... I quite liked the black and white themed room too. Oh and the complementary mini-bar: A glass of wine was very much needed!
No hidden charges, great room, great staff, comfy beds.... for £30. Absolute win.
We left at silly o'clock in the morning so can't comment on breakfast.
I would happily stay here again. Thank you Hotel Noir.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms (we had 105) are atmospheric and tucked away from the main building, very tranquil.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fieldmouse2cv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay so much, and hope we can welcome you back here should you be visiting York again in the future!
Regards, Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a b and b basis but I cannot rate the breakfast as we unfortunately slept in and missed it!
The hotel in general has a lovely ambiance and is very true to the "noir" theme (everything is black!). Our room had a super view overlooking the green.. we weren't bothered by traffic noise but could very clearly hear the couple next door talking!
I've given an average rating for cleanliness as all the paintwork was thick with dust, as were the edges of the carpets.. and one of our pillowcase covers was really stained.. but I am really fussy about things like that, others may not be.
It was good to have a "real" coffee/tea machine instead of a kettle.. and other than compact rooms which we had you get a complimentery mini bar.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillipa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. I’m glad that overall your stay was a good one, and I hope we can welcome you back should you be visiting York again in the future.
Regards, Hotel Noir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Hotel was ok,room comfortable,as was bed,traffic noise was very loud due to single glazing.
Disappointed at dinner,some dishes from menu not available for some reason.Service ok.
Breakfast was nice.Overall a pleasant stay but not enough to want to return.

Room Tip: Dont get a room on the front of hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. I’m sorry you were disappointed that items on our menu were unavailable. All our food is prepared from fresh, rather than being ready-made and frozen as in many hotels. This does unfortunately mean that on rare occasions we may run out of an item on the menu.
As a city centre hotel located near a main road, there is unavoidably some traffic noise. Many guests are not disturbed by this as the road is reasonably quiet overnight, but we do have plenty of rooms on the back of the building away from the road that can be requested, should you be visiting us again in the future.

Regards

Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here in Jan 2013 for my Boyfriends Birthday and couldnt ask for more! we nearly stayed in as the room was that perfect! We got a great deal online which included a free mini bar which was great! a good 15mins walk into town but only a couple of pound in a taxi for those wearing heels. It was super clean, modern and just lovely. The breakfast was Very Very tasty (had a lot of hotel breakfasts) and there was plenty to fill you. Good checking in and out times and we were also aloud to leave our baggage when we arrived early and left late.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay so much, and hope we can welcome you back here should you be visiting York again in the future!

Regards, Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in a small double room, so we were expecting a small room and that's what we got! We stayed in room 303 which was on the back of the property so no noise problem however we seemed to have the kitchens extractor fan outside are window which made quite a noise but went off at 11.30pm just in time for bed! The room quality was of good standard with a very comfy good size double bed, very small room I.e. only one person could get past the bed to the bathroom at a time. The bathroom itself was a good size and very clean, if I'm being really picky I'd say the shower was not as powerful as I'd of liked! Overall the room was cosy and clean having nice extras the fridge in room was a nice touch. The location was good 15-20 mins from the city centre and within easy walking distance from the train station, a great base.

Room Tip: Small rooms are small but cosy, so be warned!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 275Dan140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay so much, and hope we can welcome you back here should you be visiting York again in the future!
As you describe, our compact rooms are on the smaller side, but of course we don’t try to hide this fact, and we have different sizes of rooms priced accordingly to suit all tastes/budgets!

Regards, Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews