We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good value”
Review of Hotel Noir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Noir
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good value”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed her for one night, i found it very friendly. the rooms have everything you could ever need, very clean. Breakfast if fantastic more than enough to fill you for the day. i will be using this hotel again plus recommending to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigHoward06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Many thanks for your kind review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us - we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Natasha Screeton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    347
    185
    78
    77
See reviews for
86
725
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

we booked a compact room ,which are small but functional, however the fridge contained half a bottle of water and a jug of sour milk, obviously house keeping are not doing there job, together with a nice line of dust around the skirting. Avoid room 203 as it backs onto the boilers which cut in and out up to midnight and kick in at 0600, the noise was unbearable. We asked for a room change which we got to a upper floor at the back which was fine apart from the pillows which were grubby, they need pillow case protectors.
On a positive the breakfast was good , use of local product and cooked to order with friendly staff. Downstairs deco is crisp and modern with a good feel.
this hotel is somewhere between a smart B&B and a small hotel, the prices seem a bit on the expensive side for what we had.
overall to expensive for the level of accommodation provided and housekeeping was not to the leave required.
we will not be coming back to this hotel

Room Tip: avoid room 203, nice view of a brick wall and central heating flues are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john-suffolk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
I am sorry you didn't enjoy room 203 but I am very pleased that you found the staff to be pleasant and the breakfast good. Many thanks for your review and I will look into the issue with the minibar.

Natasha Screeton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Double bed was a bit small, and very bouncy ! Bathroom was clearly modeled on ones for an airline, or put another way - a good use of space. Staff were pleasant and cheerful, even though the hotel was full because of York Races. Breakfast was good local produce though gets a bit chaotic if too many people appear at once as there are only two staff. Overall a good medium price hotel, not too far out of town

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Swissfahys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Many thanks for your review.

I see that you are from Switzerland and maybe that explains the comments about our bed size as all our beds are standards UK doubles (or superkings in larger rooms) but I think the European standard is larger.

Thanks for your patience in breakfast - we run on two staff because any more can result in kitchen chaos and generally the meal service is very smooth but really busy race meets can put a bit of pressure on us all! We think that cooked-to-order food is worth the wait over soggy buffets and it looks like you enjoyed our local produce, so that was a good result.

We do hope to welcome you again on your return to York.

Natasha Screeton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our family booked here for a tour of York and surroundings. Dont believe the pics ! Beware ! The rooms were noisy by the cars passing by outside and we could hardly sleep because the windows were of single glass held by old wood.

We easked for a writing table and a proper chair, because all there was a small cabinet with shelves. The chair was made of plastic and was a lounge chair of the cheapest kind. It was noisy all throughout our stay because cars passed below the windows and this went on until the wee hours of the morning ! It was pure agony. Reception didnt know if there was laundry service and told me to ask the waitresses ! Breakfast was completely burnt toast and the waitress argued it wasnt burnt despite its brownish blackish color all throughout ! Everything else was oily in the plate and no one bothered to wipe it at the kitchen. At the other table, some men were also arguing about the food and told the waitress to tell the kitchen staff that food sucks.

Since its summer, we asked if there was an electric fan and there was none. No other writing chair either. WHAT COULD BE MORE IMPORTANT ? a writing desk and chair OR A FILING CABINET WITH 5 SHELVES ????????? Very stupid hotel.

Dinner was a salad and bread but they forgot to add dressing. Neither was it made available. That costs 15 pounds or so. We will never, ever stay in this hotel again !

Room Tip: Make sure you specify quiet rooms away from the road and theres laundry service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and would like to address your points as there are a few issues which are factually incorrect.

1. I am unsure why you refer to a filing cabinet as our room furniture is a combination of wardrobes, drawers, tall boy drawers and desks. Some rooms don't have a desk due to layout issues - if this is a problem for a guest, we would normally be able to move them but that does depend on how busy we are unfortunately. There are no filing cabinets in any rooms.
2. The food - I am sorry you did not enjoy it but a little confused about your issues with the toast as this is made by guests themselves so they can choose whether it is lightly or strongly toasted. Our reviews on all sites generally give the thumbs up for the food so I am very suprised at your comments.
3. With regards to the dinner, £14.95 is the fixed price for a 2 course meal, not just one course and I would be happy to refund you if you let me know your name and date of stay and I will check your bill - it is virtualy impossible for you to have ben charged £15 for one course and I believe that you would actually have had 2 courses for this price.
4. Our chairs are designed to fit to be a comfortable supported seat and are very pleasant to sit in and certainly not cheap as you suggest.
5. We do have a laundry service - it is not used often as we are generally a short stay hotel, however my Receptionist directed you to the waitress knowing that she would have been able to assist you in that matter.

Yours sincerely,

Natasha Screeton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Takes around 15 minutes to walk into town. Nice little hotel, good value, nice breakfast cooked fresh to order, coffee topped up too.We were on the ground floor which is great for me. They have photos of how it looked before the refurb.interesting to browse through.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitewitchHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Many thanks for your review and so glad you enjoyed your time with us - I do hope to see you again soon.

Natasha Screeton
General Manager

PS - I love your Trip Advisor id!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Noir at the beginning of July to visit relatives in York. It was one of the few hotels we could get that allowed a one night stay at the weekend. Good location- walk if you want bus or taxi otherwise. We had a very nicely appointed room with some very nice touches a tassismo and an Ipod docking station. Excellent bathrooom just needed a bigger mirror to make it perfect. Lovely big shower cubicle which I really appreciated. Mini bar was a nice surprise. It's obvious that someone has gone to a lot of trouble to enhamce their guest's stay. Breakfast in the morning was the ususal fruit , cereal, cooked english breakfast and make your own toast.
Nice big car park which is worth it's weight in gold when visiting York.
What I would say is that I think the staff were somewhat "stern" I wasn't really feeling the love. Perhaps they were just busy or being efficient.
Definitley stay again though should the need arise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertfordshireClem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Many thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed the facilities but I am a bit disappointed about the stern staff - will look into this but do hope to see you again soon.

Natasha Screeton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We chose the hotel for a mini break and were delighted with it. Our room was very nice and had everything you could want in it, including a tassimo machine which made great coffee and a mini fridge with milk in it. I thought it was a really nice touch to have a free minibar and the drinks were very welcome. The location is lovely, on a little green and it is a short pleasant walk to the city centre. I also chose this hotel because it had a car park, which is great as you could safely leave the car and go into the centre on foot. I found all the staff very pleasant indeed and had no complaints whatsoever. I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Many thanks for your review - looks like we got everything right for you and we do hope to see you again soon.

Natasha Screeton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,256 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 47 in York
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Property: Hotel Noir
Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing