We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as 1st visit”
Review of Hotel Noir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Noir
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This is the 2nd vist to this hotel. We visited here at the beginning of this year and the stay was excellent. Although the first time we had the suprerior 4 poster bedroom, we still expected a good standard this time also by having a standard larger room. The room itself was still of a good standard, but the bathroomm had problems with the water system. Getting hot water at a comfortable temperature was difficult, it was either too hot or very cold. The shower had hardly any pressure so the water was very slow, meaning having a shower took too long, the bath had no plug so as a result could not be used. The flush on the toilet was poor and took at least 2 attempts to flush correctly. Aswell as the water problems in our bathroom, toilet flushing etc could also be heard from other rooms. Our room was at the front of the hotel, but traffic noise wasn't loud enough to be an issue. Overall the stay wasn't too bad but the water system in the hotel needs modernization. The hotel location is excellent as its only a short walk into york, meaning car can be left in hotel carpark saving money from yorks carparks. Hotel carpark is small so the best time to arrive with the car would be around mid morning when people check out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_bears897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNoirAdmin, Owner at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Noir following your stay, my apologies that you were in anyway disappointed with any aspect of your stay. We are currently renovating all the Hotels bathrooms so I would appreciate knowing which room this occurred in as we are unaware of issues relating to the toilet and the balancing of heated water in the shower and wish to rectify it. The Hotel is having a new water pump fitted shortly to rectify the issues you faced in hot water pressure as this effects several rooms. As noted the Hotel car park is small but plenty of free parking is available in the immediate vicinity. Once again thank you for your time and your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

rooms clean and comfortable, dont expect great things of the free minibar though - small bottle of wine and beer.
staff on reception friendlier than the breakfast staff, however the breakfast was more than adequate.
about 10-15 mins stroll to centre.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwgogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We visited Hotel Noir for the second time this year on the weekend of 23/24 July 2011, booking a superior room at £159 per night room only. Standards seem to have dropped considerably since our last visit in February, and the hotel now seems to be cutting corners to save a few pence.
Good points:
The superior room was well furnished, complete with giant 4 poster bed, free mini bar and Tassimo drinks machine.
Bad points:
The hotel literature, both on the website and in the room says that fresh milk is provided as it is so much better than UHT... As there was none in the fridge I requested some at reception to be told "we don't do that any more as people keep stealing the bottles".. This despite 2 of those bottles containing water were already in the fridge!

We were neither offered, nor received the complimentary newspapers allegedly provided for superior room guests - presumably another few pence saved!

The bathroom did not meet the standard required of a superior room... to fit in with the black and white theme of the hotel, the coloured tiles had been hurriedly painted white, and the coloured bathroom suite was still in place (the hotel claims all rooms have now been refurbished) The shower was no more than a dribble, and the sink took an age to drain.
The complimentary toiletries are so well secured to the wall, and the movement of the bottle pumps so restricted, that extracting enough soap to wash your hands was like a mini workout!
Checkout was fast, partially because no invoice was provided, nor any enquiry made about our stay.

In summary, Hotel Noir has much potential... However the news that we couldn't be trusted with a bottle of milk, or indeed just be offered what they claimed we would get as part of our package means we will not be returning to this hotel... Enjoy the £3 or £4 you saved with your penny pinching.. and wave goodbye to the £700 a year we spend on hotels on our twice yearly visits to York!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheMorpeth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Booked this hotel for a weekend break... Reasonabley priced, we booked a double room but were given a superior, which was excellent - Whirlpool jet bath and power shower was great. Champagne and other drinks courtesy of the minibar (which were free!)

If you find difficulty with stairs you may want let them know at the time of booking as we were up two flights of stairs and back down another set to our room... there is no lift so i suppose this could be difficult for some!

A nice quiet location within a 15 - 20 minute walk from the City centre.
Rooms were clean, well decorated.
Staff were very polite and friendly.

We didnt eat at the resteraunt but the menu looked great as were the prices.

Recommend to anyone if your willing to spend the money.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get the superior double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jossnloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My wife and I made the mistake of booking a supposedly luxurious night's stay at the Hotel Noir. We wish we had booked a Premier Inn. We were on a Dinner Bed & Breakfast deal and of the three only the third item hit the mark. The website billed the hotel as luxurious and based on the price tag in excess of £155 a night we were hopeful it would be. Sadly we were disappointed, the room was tiny, the bed somehow seemed smaller than our standard double at home, but it was the dinner that offended that most. If you like good honest pub grub go to the public house next door, because the mediocre pub menu served by the Hotel Noir was barely edible. We were not surprised we were the only customers in the restaurant, just wish someone had warned us. The D, B &B deal actually entitled you to just £12 off the menu (food only). This was interesting because not only was there not £12's worth of food that appealed on the menu, it also meant that we had paid effectively £131 for a poor double room. My wife ate an inadequate pasta and i ate half a greasy fish & chips and we called it a day. There was no atmosphere in the empty reception area so we retired to bed early to take a complimentary drink from the mini-bar, only to find that the one bottle of lager available had no means of being opened. When asking at reception for a bottle opener i was told rather lacklustrely that a bottle opener was not available. The receptionists shrug of her shoulder told me everything. The one saving grace was a pretty decent breakfast, the rest of it is rubbish, avoid unless your desperate and even then avoid!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed in room 202 just for one night and the room cost in excess of £100.00, not including breakfast. We were both very disappointed with the standard of hygiene within our room. The carpet had not been cleaned/swept properly; bits of dirt under the radiator were clearly visible. There was a visible sticky substance on the bed head and a wet patch at the side of the bed which appeared to be either tea or coffee as it was splashed up the side of the bed side cabinet. The black paint on the doors and furniture was scratched due to poor application in fact the standard of decoration in particular was poor. The bathroom window was in a very poor condition so much so that it would not close as the bottom section had fallen away from the glass. The Hotels decor and furnishings in general are in need of updating. We wouldn’t stay here again nor would we recommend it. Over priced not good value for money, disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Brookfield62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Hotels in York tend to be expensive and due to the high demand can be hit and miss.
Hotel Noir is one of these, the owners have some nice touches like DAB radio in the room. But the beds are not good and reminded me of my student years. Location is good and there is a small free car park.
My conclusion is that I would not go back and can't wait to go home and sleep in a nice bed again

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveGrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
2.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,438 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
2.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range: $67 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing