We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite restaurants ever”
Review of Le Gindreau

Le Gindreau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Oxford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of my favourite restaurants ever”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I first came here 23 years ago and had a wonderful meal then. We've been back quite a few times since then, last time to celebrate our son's engagement and friends' birthdays in a group of 9. As always, we had a wonderful evening with fabulous food The staff couldn't have been nicer.

In the warm weather, the tables on the terrace overlooking the hills are wonderful but this time we ate inside. The table was beautiful, service impeccable and for 1* Michelin quality food, really good value. Doesn't matter which menu or choice you make, the food is brilliant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kemmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    37
    18
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
139 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Confirms”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I wrote a review in October 2011 and can only confirm its is probably the best restaurant in the region and a delight to go there.

Please see my previous review.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duveldrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“What a place to eat!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The restaurant, the location, the view from the terrace, the service and
the FOOD!
Everything perfect. Nothing more to say!

Helpful?
Thank Chispeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were celebrating my Birthday and it couldn't have been better. The food was excellent although we are not the best at French translation we were confident that whatever we had would be great, we were not dissapointed. However the reason I wanted to write my first ever review was to praise the food that was on offer for the children, the children's menu was €13.50 and they had the choice of chicken or Fish, my two (9 & 7) both chose the chicken and it was amazing, the same amount of care and attention was given to their dish as to ours and both mine ate everything with delight.
Now to the desert, the reports about the Grand Marnier Soufle are not exagerated, it was truly a dream. They even brought out a huge Brandy snap Birthday message for me at the end.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A slightly unfortunate development”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Since my last review which described the restaurant as "Superb", I have visited several more times, and on each occasion have enjoyed my visit as much as the last.
However on my most recent visit a couple of weeks ago, an embarrassing incident occurred. We were a large party of 9 people and had booked by telephone several weeks before. However, on arrival they had no record of our booking. We were immediately made to feel that we were at fault when we know for sure that the booking was made. There was no hint of an apology, but we were asked to sit at a side table when a new table was made up from us. The atmosphere became rather frosty and we felt awkward in front of the other guests.
We felt our treatment was rather unfair as we are regular customers.
However, moving on, the food was absolutely fabulous and after a poor start we enjoyed ourselves tremendously.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barnessw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gindreau also viewed

 

Been to Le Gindreau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing