We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Peacock Oxhill

The Peacock Oxhill
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Oxhill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $33
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A country pub located in picturesque south warwickshire between banbury and stratford upon avon. Serving cask marque beers and fresh, local home-cooked food, all freshly prepared to order.
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Recently had Sunday lunch here with family and sorry to say it was disappointing. Asked to arrive at 12, we were then kept waiting to order, to get our food, and to order desserts and coffees. Gave up on the desserts and coffee but it took just as long to get the bill (we left at 3pm). The food was good but the service chaotic. It was also freezing cold in the bar as there was no fire lit or heating on. Such a pity as this has been a favourite of ours for years. Just a thought, there was no sign of either of the owners during our visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pfromshipston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    63
    22
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We hired a cottage and this restaurant was recommended. It did not disappoint. We were welcomed by the local pheasant shoot when we called in to book for the evening and the subsequent meal was of the highest quality. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoragIcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An enjoyable visit”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

When choosing accommodation or eating places, I use only those with just excellent & very good gradings. If these are not available in an area I look at the lower grades first.It may say "no lift" no wi-fi" which suits me fine. Increasingly poor service & rude staff are mentioned.
It was therefore with trepidation that we visited The Peacock.
The two female owners, much criticised on TA, were nowhere to be seen.

What a joy! We got a friendly welcome & the last table in the house. There was a large party in the restaurant, but the service was professional if a little slow.

The food was of good quality and freshly cooked. The portions were rather large, but would not be a problem to younger people. From our experience I would happily go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siena82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A friendly pub with Great food”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The food here was Delicious,i was full after the local bread and my starter,but still managed to eat all my main,i could not stop it was all so good.The locals and the staff were so friendly,i would certainly recommend eating here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank nickyMidWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbury
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

by far the best food served here in the area. the food is delicious , there is a varied menu with large portions and cooked to perfection. my husband loves their steaks with home made onion rings but do try the lamb served with fruity couscous and minted yoghurt.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peacock Oxhill also viewed

Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon
 
Armscote, Ilmington
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Peacock Oxhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing