We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't have the cut price menu on a Tuesday” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peacock Oxhill

The Peacock Oxhill
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Oxhill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A country pub located in picturesque south warwickshire between banbury and stratford upon avon. Serving cask marque beers and fresh, local home-cooked food, all freshly prepared to order.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't have the cut price menu on a Tuesday”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Although I had heard very good things of the Peacock, when I visited on a Tuesday evening recently, I was hugely disappointed. It was very quiet indeed, in fact we were the only people in the restaurant all evening, which meant there was a total lack of atmosphere. The young waiter tried to make up for it with lots of bonhomie and chat, but really went a bit over the top in his efforts. My party decided to select from the two course offer menu and I had the chicken sweet and sour. Oh dear - it was only too evident that the sauce was out of a jar that you could have bought at the supermarket. The dish was just pieces of chicken and slices of peppers in the sauce, and a dollop of plain white rice. And there were no vegetables on offer to mitigate this disaster. I have never been so disappointed in a meal in my life. This cannot have been prepared by a recognized chef. Just because you offer an economy menu, doesn't mean you have to skimp on quality. I see most other reports of this restaurant are very good, so the conclusion must be, don't go on a Tuesday and don't select from the offer menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelenthused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    62
    22
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, nice staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is what we call a proper country pub. Good atmosphere, good choice of beer and very nice food. Staff were first class and very welcoming and friendly. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rotherhamred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Peacock at Oxhill - If you have not yet been you are missing out on a real treat the beer is good, staff are welcoming and attentive and the food is some of the best you will find in the area. We have now been several times and I am working my way through the menu and can honestly say every meal has been first class. Steve on the other hand has had fish and chips every time because they really are something special! It has a lovely atmosphere and once you visit you will be back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“FAULTLESS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Last night we had supper at The Peacock at Oxhill
The food was superb and the service was brill
The home made fish and chips is the best around for miles
Something to note- our full tummies and smiles
The staff are attentive, keen and able
And Henry the pub dog even checked on our table
A busy friendly pub with plenty of atmosphere
An outstanding eatery for all who live near!

Another brilliant meal nailed at The Peacock!! Well done guys don't change a thing!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Award winning pub restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

From the outside the Peacock looks like any other country village pub, but step inside and you will find a large bar and restaurant eating area, great food, great beer and a friendly young and enthusiastic team to serve you.
A great dining atmosphere, book ahead and eat in the restaurant as the bar area can get a bit noisy

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank philinda24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peacock Oxhill also viewed

Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon
Armscote, Ilmington
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Peacock Oxhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing