We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay for anglers and tourists”
Review of Brown Trout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brown Trout Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watten
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We have just come back from a few days stay at the brown trout hotel and can only recommend it to all. Donna and the girls are friendly and only to willing do to the bit extra to make your stay memorable.
Good food, whether you eat in the bar or in the dinning room
We will be back next year.

Craig, Eddie, Iain and Jim

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimgrout1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

one of the best small hotels in the north we have we have stayed in. The Ritz it is not, no Michelin stars or fancy food. What it does have is good highland hospitality ,friendly owners and top class staff. Donna and Colin are excellent hosts and cant do enough for you. You can forget about packed lunches because once you have had breakfast you don't need anything till dinner. evening meals are top class bar food. Room was clean and comfortable,shower was very compact and was the only downside but we are told work is on going.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaandrewlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I came across this hotel when we wanted somewhere to stay when visiting the John o Groats area. At first i was a bit wary as it is in a small village.

But during our stay all the staff went out of there way to make us feel welcome, and they went the extra mile to make sure our visit was a memerable one.

Would most definetly stay again if in the area

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oldmansteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katharina913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Henrik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie V V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watten
7.7 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
314 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ulbster Arms Hotel
Ulbster Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Halkirk
154 reviews
15.6 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
466 reviews
23.6 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
218 reviews
10.4 mi away
Northern Sands Hotel
Northern Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunnet
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Trout Hotel

Address: Brown Trout Hotel Station Road, Watten KW1 5YN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Watten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watten
Price Range: $104 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a family run hotel offering comfortable clean accommodation, home cooked food and a friendly atmosphere, only 7 miles from Wick and 14 miles from Thurso. It is an ideal base for all your needs while in Caithness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brown Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing