We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A very different experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balmers Tent Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balmers Tent Village
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very different experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

As the title suggests, this was a very different experience for us, staying right between the mountains in a tent. And it was totally worth it. The pros:

1. The whole idea itself of staying in a tent right in between nature with some amazing views of the Alps is awesome.
2. Its one of the cheapest accommodations available in and around Interlaken, and at that price you can hardly complain.
3. The hot Jacuzzi tub - While you can have as many Jacuzzi baths in the 5 stars, having it right below the skies with the Alps around you is unbeatable. Though when we went to use the tub was slightly muddy, courtesy the group which had just used it before us.
4. Away from the Interlaken town which has almost nothing to offer except the Harder Kulm view point which can be easily covered anytime while coming/going from Interlaken OST station.
5. All the other facilities like the hammocks, sports activities, slacklining etc. which are really appealing if you are spending more time at the place (unfortunately, ours was only a 2 day trip).

A few minor cons:
1. Being a tent, it does get a little cold at nights, but we were provided extra blanket when we asked for it.
2. When we entered the tent, there was a bit of a foul smell, but it passed away in an hour or so. Don’t think the management could have done anything about it.
3. Would have liked the kitchen area to be slightly more organized (though my views are biased because of the amazing kitchen facilities we had in our hostel at Lucerne).
4. On the second day, we cut short our outdoor trip to enjoy the Jacuzzi tub, only to find a party was going on and the facility being closed. We would have appreciated some kind of prior intimation about the same. (To be fair to them, not too sure if they had put something around reception area as we had left very early in the morning).
5. Situated slightly away from station, which can be a bit of a problem coming into/ going out of the place

All and all, it was a very good experience and would consider staying there again if I visit Interlaken in near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    34
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
16
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Friends and I stayed in the Balmer's Tent Village for a weekend in Interlaken. It's a really cool idea for a hostel, almost like camping, but without the hassle. It's not spectacular, but at 25CHF per night, it was great. There was no one there to meet us after 10PM when we arrived, but there was an envelope waiting for us with details about where we were sleeping. However, other people arrived after us who hadn't made a reservation and there was not a single staff member to help them out. So, other residents had to try and help these people connect to the main hostel down the street. There's lots of comfy space to sit around, hammocks outside and yes, a hot tub. Pool too! I appreciated having a fridge to put some food in and there's a grocery store right across the street. When staff did arrive the next day, I found most of them to be awesome, with a few exceptions who came across as very abrupt. Overall, great stay, lots of awesome people to meet and would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoopycat781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stittsville, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Over the past few years I've made it a point of stopping in Interlaken whenever I can - either as part of a summer vacation to Europe, or at the end of a business trip. This stay was for the later; after 5 days of meetings I dumped my suits at a train station locker, and headed out to Interlaken.

This was my 4th time staying at Balmer's, and the 3rd at the tent village. I much prefer it to the hostel building, as it has better security - years ago I woke up to some stranger off the street robbing us, as there were no locks on the door.

This time I had a bunking tent with 6 beds; loved the new hot tub that was added to the area - as amazing as Interlaken is, that's nothing to soaking in a hot tub on a cool day/night, and staring at the surrounding mountains!

The staff is always friendly and fun too - I really can't say enough! Always good conversations, and willing to help out with any questions/problems. I ended up getting moved around a few times due to double-booking, but didn't mind when I was given a few free drinks.

Location is outside of the city, but I never minded walking there. It's a good walk with a beautiful view, and only about 5 minutes away from the main hostel building where they have a full breakfast. Not sure why some people commented the breakfast was lacking - they do have a full breakfast at the main building, where they have kitchen facilities.

You still get full access to the main building as well, although there are showers and washrooms on-site, that have been greatly improved since the previous year.

All in all, if you're not visiting Interlaken - you should. And when you do, stay at Balmer's Tent Village!

Room Tip: If you can, choose a private tent if you're a couple. Very spacious, and secure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

There's nothing like waking up in the alps, lounging in the hammocks, slacklining, playing basketball, and resting in the hot tub at night. Switzerland is known to be an expensive country, but you get so much for you money here- I highly recommend it. Don't skip out on Switzerland because of money- we spent the days lounging and hiking (free!) and bought food from the close grocery store and grilled on the communal grill at the village. The staff wasn't ideal, but the other travelers really made up for it! Stayed 4 nights and didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My sister and I stayed here in June, and it was one of my favorite hostels... Great staff (so helpful with suggesting things to do), amazing accommodations, and the coolest common area of any hostel we've seen. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harper L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed 1 night in the tent village. Public facilities were clean but we were not as lucky as other reviewers here since our duvet were not very clean.
It gets really cold at night in september but I guess it's sort of expected from switzerland.
Overall experience was a lot of fun since it was diferrent than other hostels that we stayed and the view outside was just breathtaking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theresia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

You have an option of booking into a 2,3,4,6 bed tents. We had initially booked for a 2 bed tent but later one more friend decided to join us and the reception changed our booking to 3 bed over a phone call - no need for online cancellations or new booking.
Our room had a double bed, a bunk bed, one small table n chair, a dressing mirror,
Clean bed linen, towels, blankets are duvets.
The common areas like showers, wash rooms, dining room are clean and well organised.
Hot water is available only in the showers...
They do provide the guest with a fridge, microwave, some cutlery in the common area.
The tent village has a small above ground pool and a hot water pool/jacuzzi outside. They also have a bar.. but guess its open only till 10 pm.
In case you happen to check-in late and the reception is closed, they do have a provision for you to get the key to your tent.
The guest can do bookings for outdoor events at the tent village itself.
They do have lockers and storage area available at a small fee.
The interlaken card provided by the reception entitles you free ride on the Post Bus services. This was quite helpful for us. There is a bus stop just across the street - Oberland shopping.

The only down side was it was raining heavily the day we reached Interlaken and we found the beds to be ice cold and our tent roof was leaking ... so half of the double bed was wet.
Guess we were just unlucky due to the bad weather.

Overall it was a wonderful experience staying in the tent surrounded by such amazing view of the mountains.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brinz_elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matten bei Interlaken
0.5 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#32 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balmer's Hostel
Balmer's Hostel
#2 of 3 in Matten bei Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
#1 of 22 in Interlaken
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.4 mi away
Funny Farm Hotel
Funny Farm Hotel
#10 of 22 in Interlaken
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
1.3 mi away
RiverLodge
RiverLodge
#16 of 22 in Interlaken
3.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmers Tent Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmers Tent Village

Property: Balmers Tent Village
Address: Gsteigstrasse 80, Matten bei Interlaken, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Matten bei Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Matten bei Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Balmers Tent Village 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmers Tent Village is specialty accommodation, large tents with double beds or bunk beds inside set on wooden flooring. Fresh air and mountain views outside. We have funny bikes you can borrow, slack-line, hot tub, swimming pool, badminton Bubble ball games and more....We have a great location close to train station, with lots of parking and open space. You can even land with paraglider or skydive in the field next to us!We offer a free barbeque area and there is a large supermarket across the road. New summer 2016- Check in is from 17:00 to 22:00 , and enjoy a late 12 noon check out :-)Bedding not included but availabe for hire. Bring a sleeping bag if you have one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Balmers Tent Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmers Tent Village Interlaken/Matten Bei Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing