We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Go-To Place in Interlaken (Every Year!)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balmers Tent Village
Stittsville, Canada
Level Contributor
216 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“My Go-To Place in Interlaken (Every Year!)”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Over the past few years I've made it a point of stopping in Interlaken whenever I can - either as part of a summer vacation to Europe, or at the end of a business trip. This stay was for the later; after 5 days of meetings I dumped my suits at a train station locker, and headed out to Interlaken.

This was my 4th time staying at Balmer's, and the 3rd at the tent village. I much prefer it to the hostel building, as it has better security - years ago I woke up to some stranger off the street robbing us, as there were no locks on the door.

This time I had a bunking tent with 6 beds; loved the new hot tub that was added to the area - as amazing as Interlaken is, that's nothing to soaking in a hot tub on a cool day/night, and staring at the surrounding mountains!

The staff is always friendly and fun too - I really can't say enough! Always good conversations, and willing to help out with any questions/problems. I ended up getting moved around a few times due to double-booking, but didn't mind when I was given a few free drinks.

Location is outside of the city, but I never minded walking there. It's a good walk with a beautiful view, and only about 5 minutes away from the main hostel building where they have a full breakfast. Not sure why some people commented the breakfast was lacking - they do have a full breakfast at the main building, where they have kitchen facilities.

You still get full access to the main building as well, although there are showers and washrooms on-site, that have been greatly improved since the previous year.

All in all, if you're not visiting Interlaken - you should. And when you do, stay at Balmer's Tent Village!

Room Tip: If you can, choose a private tent if you're a couple. Very spacious, and secure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    37
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
17
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

There's nothing like waking up in the alps, lounging in the hammocks, slacklining, playing basketball, and resting in the hot tub at night. Switzerland is known to be an expensive country, but you get so much for you money here- I highly recommend it. Don't skip out on Switzerland because of money- we spent the days lounging and hiking (free!) and bought food from the close grocery store and grilled on the communal grill at the village. The staff wasn't ideal, but the other travelers really made up for it! Stayed 4 nights and didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My sister and I stayed here in June, and it was one of my favorite hostels... Great staff (so helpful with suggesting things to do), amazing accommodations, and the coolest common area of any hostel we've seen. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harper L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed 1 night in the tent village. Public facilities were clean but we were not as lucky as other reviewers here since our duvet were not very clean.
It gets really cold at night in september but I guess it's sort of expected from switzerland.
Overall experience was a lot of fun since it was diferrent than other hostels that we stayed and the view outside was just breathtaking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

You have an option of booking into a 2,3,4,6 bed tents. We had initially booked for a 2 bed tent but later one more friend decided to join us and the reception changed our booking to 3 bed over a phone call - no need for online cancellations or new booking.
Our room had a double bed, a bunk bed, one small table n chair, a dressing mirror,
Clean bed linen, towels, blankets are duvets.
The common areas like showers, wash rooms, dining room are clean and well organised.
Hot water is available only in the showers...
They do provide the guest with a fridge, microwave, some cutlery in the common area.
The tent village has a small above ground pool and a hot water pool/jacuzzi outside. They also have a bar.. but guess its open only till 10 pm.
In case you happen to check-in late and the reception is closed, they do have a provision for you to get the key to your tent.
The guest can do bookings for outdoor events at the tent village itself.
They do have lockers and storage area available at a small fee.
The interlaken card provided by the reception entitles you free ride on the Post Bus services. This was quite helpful for us. There is a bus stop just across the street - Oberland shopping.

The only down side was it was raining heavily the day we reached Interlaken and we found the beds to be ice cold and our tent roof was leaking ... so half of the double bed was wet.
Guess we were just unlucky due to the bad weather.

Overall it was a wonderful experience staying in the tent surrounded by such amazing view of the mountains.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brinz_elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The best place to stay!! Deserves all the excellent ratings it has got.
This place has a bunch of 2, 4 and 6 bed tents. We were a party of 3 (me, my partner and her brother) and we picked a 6 bed mixed dorm since the others were full.
There was hardly anything which was not perfect:
-- The staff is amazing and we had a quick check-in and short orientation about the place, the hot tub (it really does exist, wow), kitchen etc.
-- The kitchen, shared bath, common area etc was really well organized, clean, spic and span.
-- The tents are the best part. Clean with enough space (even in the 6 bed dorm that we were staying) and neat linen and towels.
-- Even the tents had a number lock .. a cool thing =)
-- Finally the whole atmosphere was relaxed and chilled out.
And all this for a dirt cheap price.

Highly recommended for all travelers, budget or otherwise.

PS: The tents are really strong. The night before we moved out had really heavy rains and strong winds and not a drop of water was inside the tent.

Room Tip: Everyone of them is great. Look forward to meeting people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in a privAte motel tent. It was clean, bed was huge, staff was great. The large hamocks and sun beds are great for relaxing in the sun. The place has clean showers, a fridge and microwave and a grill. You can book activities directly there. I would recommend to stay here over the actual Balmers hostel which is 5 minute walk down the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swismis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matten bei Interlaken
1.2 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
2,205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#33 of 40 in Interlaken
48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
642 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balmer's Hostel
Balmer's Hostel
#2 of 3 in Matten bei Interlaken
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmers Tent Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmers Tent Village

Property: Balmers Tent Village
Address: Gsteigstrasse 80, Matten bei Interlaken, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Matten bei Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Matten bei Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Balmers Tent Village 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmers Tent Village is specialty accommodation, large tents with double beds or bunk beds inside set on wooden flooring. Fresh air and mountain views outside. We have funny bikes you can borrow, slack-line, hot tub, swimming pool, badminton Bubble ball games and more....We have a great location close to train station, with lots of parking and open space. You can even land with paraglider or skydive in the field next to us!We offer a free barbeque area and there is a large supermarket across the road. New summer 2016- Check in is from 17:00 to 22:00 , and enjoy a late 12 noon check out :-)Bedding not included but availabe for hire. Bring a sleeping bag if you have one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Balmers Tent Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmers Tent Village Interlaken/Matten Bei Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing