We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balmers Tent Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Balmers is a beautiful hostel located in between breathtaking mountains. There are so many different things to do here. The bathrooms are clean and so are the tents. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summerashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 164 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

There is no better place for a chilled environment, great views, friendly staff and a hot tub in Interlaken.

The location of the tent village is just outside the main city of Interlaken and there is no shortage of buses that will take you into the town. But it is a great walk if you fancy doing it. Which is free might I add. You literally wake up to the sun rising over the mountains.

The service is fantastic as they are very friendly and there is free tea and coffee all day and night. You will get great advice on what you can do in Interlaken and you can book it right from the village.

The value is great because you are paying nothing for good beer/cider, location, tent/bed, security and friendly people.

There is a hot hub. Period!

Free wifi!

Room Tip: One closed to the hob tub and a bottom bunk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Picked this hostel on a whim, as other inter-railing plans fell through, and because it was cheap. The hostel couldn't have been any different from what i had expected. When I read "Tent village", it reminded me of previous camping trips; usually bad food and worse hygiene. The tent village has done alot to redeem my view of camping (although it is far from traditional camping), with its free and large range wi-fi, free tea/coffee and the ability to use a microwave (made my stay so much cheaper). That doesn't even factor in the hot tub and pool (yes, you did read that right. A hot tub in a tent village).The staff are also very helpful, and available all day

Brilliant place to stay, with comprehensive services, low cost, nice staff and quite comfortable beds. would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I came here with a group of 12 people and it has been absolutely amazing! The pool, hot tub, and hammocks make it even better! It's great because if you plan on going on any trips (i.e. canyoning) they will pick you up at the tents in the morning and they make it very convenient. The tents themselves are way nicer than I initially anticipated as well and I know my friends and I will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aproc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Totally wicked place with really cool staff and good value rooms/drinks. Great vibe and there's always something going on

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcusarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

This place was our favourite so far! Hot tub, pool, microwave, fridge, coffee machine, free wifi! And a proper bed! Bus stop out the front, but the train stations are walking distance. Supermarket across the road too. Gorgeous views of the alps, and the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. This place gave us more than most hostels:)we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The tent village is an awesome place to spend night in Interlaken. We walked to the village from old station, and stayed in Los Angeles tent. The location of tent is right between the mountains. Hot bath, swimming pool, internet, maps, brouchures, coffee, beer....facilities are uncountable.
Complete value for money!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matten bei Interlaken
0.6 mi away
Balmer's Hostel
Balmer's Hostel
#1 of 3 in Matten bei Interlaken
355 reviews
0.8 mi away
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
#1 of 28 in Interlaken
608 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort
The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenh...
#1 of 1 in Matten bei Interlaken
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmers Tent Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmers Tent Village

Address: Gsteigstrasse 80, Matten bei Interlaken, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Matten bei Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Matten bei Interlaken
Price Range: $39 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Balmers Tent Village 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmers Tent Village is specialty accommodation, large tents with double beds or bunk beds inside set on wooden flooring. Fresh air and mountain views outside. We have funny bikes you can borrow, slack-line, hot tub, swimming pool, badminton Bubble ball games and more....We have a great location close to train station, with lots of parking and open space. You can even land with paraglider or skydive in the field next to us!We offer a free barbeque area and there is a large supermarket across the road. New summer 2016- Check in is from 17:00 to 22:00 , and enjoy a late 12 noon check out :-)Bedding not included but availabe for hire. Bring a sleeping bag if you have one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Balmers Tent Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmers Tent Village Interlaken/Matten Bei Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing