We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't even think about staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Not central in Interlaken. Grubby, shabby dirty hotel. The rooms were dirty, bathroom smelled of urine, dust everywhere, holes in the sofa. TV from 1970s. Beer cans littered around the pool. Luckily our travel company organised a full refund for us and relocated us to a much better hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 91 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2010

Pls take my humble advise and stay away from this absolutely pathetic place. We booked for 4 nights at the hotel and checked out after 3 nights... Mind u we were a family of 4 and had booked two inter connected rooms...It was the worst hotel in our 14 day trip across several cities (six different hotels) in Europe... this was by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in...
Couldnt stand the dirty rooms, bedsheets with holes in them, pathetic quality of towels and linen..(pillows and beds - so bad you dont want to touch !!!); room flooring so dirty seemed as if had not been cleaned for ages... bathrooms with such gawdy wall paper - it'll depress the hell out of u...basically the place needs to shut down - its a ramshackle, abs run down dirty place with no visible signs of any one caring for customers...more of backpackers dorm than a hotel.. and deserves to be priced at around $ 10 a night...
So go at your own risk....

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShobhitM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Watch out! This hotel has two names - the second name is ' funny farm'. If you are seeking for a bit of freedom, don't go there since the hotel is also a youth hostel!!!
And the prices for the rooms are too high for what they are - old fashioned, dull and even mould in the bathroom...

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pingu25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2009

I stayed in this beautiful hotel with my two young sons for four nights. It was very confortable and had lovely spacious rooms. The boys enjoyed the 45 TV stations! Large bathroom and deep bath. Lovely garden (with pond) to run around in. Easy 15 minute walk into the centre of Interlaken. Views to the mountains. Gorgeous dining room with substantial breakfast. Internet access.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UgglaOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We chose this hotel for a well located budget stay for 3 with local character. My husband and I were travelling with our 18 year old son and found this hotel perfect for the experience we wanted. Yes the hotel's best days are behind it (the stair runners are worn, etc.) but it was clean and full of character. Our room (427) had possibly the best view in all of Interlaken with a perfectly centred view of the Jungfrau mountain from our quaint window balcony. The days were hot but the cool mountain breeze made the rooms wonderful for sleeping at night. The staff was helpful, the continental breakfast more than adequate and there was free internet in the large lobby/lounge. Several restaurants serving local cuisine were nearby and while we had a car, they provide you with a free local transit card. There are many adventure outfits close by and we chose to go canyoning as a family at Grimsel with Alpin Raft - a fantastic decision to say the least and their meeting spot was just behind the Mattenhof! If you're a spoiled, pampered type who needs the latest design decor then it's not for you, but if you're down to earth and want casual ambiance and would rather spend your money doing things in Switzerland then the value's here.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Land_Designer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

We were directed to this alleged hotel when our one-night reservation at another hotel was lost and they could find us nothing else. In retrospect, it probably would have been worth sleeping in the car instead. This is a backpacker's flop. The rooms are at least clean, though old, worn and spartan. However, to get to them you must run the gauntlet of semi-inebriated college students and choking cigarette smoke in the lobby. Parking is free, wireless internet in the lobby for a nominal fee. Lots of noise from the pub across the street, though thankfully it subsided about midnight - my guess is the next evening it would have gone on longer as Ziggy Marley was scheduled to perform in the lounge. Oh, good. The worst part of it all was I paid CHF 200 for my wife and I to stay one night in this dive, and then paid only CHF 160 per night the next 5 nights at the truly grand Grandhotel Giessbach nearby. The two opposite ends of the spectrum. Stay away from this one.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Shortstop44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
535
Reviewed April 8, 2006

I will have to have a little chat with my travel agent on this one. The Park Mattenhof was strange to say the least. It may have been a Grand Hotel in it's day from the pictures on the walls, however I think it is more of a backpackers hotel now than anything else. The bar in the lobby had a number of locals hanging out. The cigarette smoke smell was putrid to say the least. Were were on the 4th floor and all my clothes in the room reeked of smoke. It obviously came up through the vents. The hotel itself reminded me of the hotel in "The Shining". The running joke our whole stay was that I was waiting for the kid to come down the hall on his tricycle or see the twin girls. It was an eerie sort of place to say the least and we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matten bei Interlaken
0.9 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 39 in Interlaken
393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Central Continental
Hotel Central Continental
#7 of 7 in Unterseen
209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort

Address: Hauptstrasse 36, Matten bei Interlaken, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Matten bei Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matten bei Interlaken
Price Range: $115 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park-Garden Hotel At Mattenhof Matten
Park Mattenhof Interlaken
The Park-Garden Hotel At Mattenhof Resort Interlaken/Matten Bei Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing