We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not a "Funny Farm" experience any longer...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a "Funny Farm" experience any longer...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

we chose this property based on my husband's past stay here 12 years ago as a college aged backpacker, who remembered it as a highlight of his europe adventure after university graduation. Lets just say, much has changed. the hotel iself is situated on a beautiful property with amazing views, but it is not being maintanined to the standard it should be. Cleanliness is an issue in the bathroom, with mold on the showercurtain and in the tub. not just a little bit, either.
The rest of the room felt cleaner, but the bed linens were so worn and old and threadbare, i wish i had brought my own. the pillows had clearly not been replaced in years and years. the staff were friendly and helpful, and we had a Wonderful time canyoning with the AlpinRaft group situated on the property. with more attention to keeping the property in top shape it could be a great place to stay, but we are thrilled to be out of there after 2 nights. Sadly, the atmosphere my husband remembered was long gone. i think this "resort" needs to re-market itself and not try to get residual funny farm business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljones3900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    21
    13
    19
See reviews for
30
23
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

OK, so there are some very positive reviews, and some very negative reviews. After four days here I can see how the reviewers arrived at both. This is an older, typically Swiss/German (read: spartan) hotel that has at times served as a backpackers' retreat. The furniture is older, the beds not terribly comfortable, and the room was a bit musty at times--keeping the windows open helped. But there are a lot of positives as well. First, the setting: this was clearly at one time a grand old hotel and resort set right at the bast of the Bernese Oberland. The south-facing rooms have incredible views up the valley to alpine peaks. The gardens are beautiful, and there is a large pool, both features you're not going to see at other hotels. There is a restaurant with decent, standard Swiss-German food (fondue, rosti, etc), and several bars on-site that charge very reasonable prices in otherwise expensive Switzerland. There's also a couple pubs and restaurants near the hotel that are enjoyable (try The Three Tells), and it's kind of a little "backpackers area" with several hostels around which gives it a younger, more bohemian vibe. The thing that really makes this place is that the staff is great--they're fun, cool, laid back, all speak English, are helpful, and all have great insight on what you need to see and do while in Interlaken. There's just a great vibe to this place that you're not going to find in the nicer hotels--and yes, there are much nicer hotels to be found. I really think it's worth a shot for the more adventurous traveler (not tourist), and if you can see past the wear and tear, it's a great base camp for your alpine adventures.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AZFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlaken, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Mattenhof Resort is an traditional old country resort with excellent amenities. We have enjoyed our stay at this resort. The staff is very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hitesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

we were given a very big room (2 king-sized bed) with a barely working heater so we almost slept with our entire ski attire. we changed room & was given a much better, smaller room. but the building needs heavy reconstruction as even the lift jolts like crazy each time. needs better lighting too as it makes the atmosphere very spooky.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicitra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Matten bei Interlaken hotels

Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

A 15-minute walk away from Interlaken Ost, a nice walk from the town, this was a really pleasant place with good customer service. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the only negative would be a lot of damp coursing in the bathroom. Good surroundings and mountain view from the spacious and cost-effective rooms. Basic breakfast that really did the job. I would certainly recommend the Park Mattenhof for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOREANDRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Room was spacious and had a balcony with a lovely view of the snow capped mountains, the quality of breakfast was good. Located at Interlaken, but not easily walkable from the station however the bus stop with buses to both the Interlaken Ost and the Interlaken West stations are close by so u can go easily to Jungfrau highest point in Europe from here)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielLuroso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

It was a horible experience with family around.Shabby room,poor service back-up,pathetically non-cooperative staffs,old furnitures, not-so-convenient location, etc..etc.. all such issues had made our stay for couple of days in this old-fashioned hotel a really horrible one!!...advice Family people to stay away from this hotel at Interlaken.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHAITALI_JANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matten bei Interlaken
0.9 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#6 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Central Continental
Hotel Central Continental
#8 of 8 in Unterseen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort

Property: The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort
Address: Hauptstrasse 36, Matten bei Interlaken, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Matten bei Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matten bei Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park-Garden Hotel At Mattenhof Matten
Park Mattenhof Interlaken
The Park-Garden Hotel At Mattenhof Resort Interlaken/Matten Bei Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing