We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, budget place in a beautiful town”
Review of Balmer's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balmer's Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, budget place in a beautiful town”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Right from the time we got off at Interlaken Ost we followed the brown signs to Balmer's and located it quite easily. We were quite impressed with their well designed foyer area. The girls at the reception were always helpful and willing to help. And they always had all the information with exact fares and easy to understand directions. We also got a Travel card free which i must say was quite helpful. The rooms were had nice wooden roofs and made me feel like i was living at a local's home. The bar comes alive at night and one can just relax here. Overall a great experience. Im definitely visiting them if i happen to go to Interlaken again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sonkot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    97
    49
    25
    14
See reviews for
14
59
66
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We only stayed here for one night before moving to a quieter option.

The breakfast is great, and there are also plenty of food places nearby, as well as many booking offices for outdoor activities.

The rooms were a bit cramped but not too bad.

There is a bar which we went to a few times, even after leaving the hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magicpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My friends and I had a great time here! The rooms are clean, the view is beautiful, the staff is friendly and location good. The rooms are definitely cozy though. They are also closed for a few hours each day for cleaning. Balmers also has a great bar downstairs (Metro) which is hit or miss depending on the crowd, but is one of the only places to have fun at night. Definitely eat at their restaurant one day for lunch too, so good! We took advantage of all of the activities that are offered next door like the bungee jumping, canyoning and paragliding. Overall, its just a really chill place (they have hammocks) with a fun crowd.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hotel is good and well placed. Even the free breakfast is good. We enjoyed a lot. This is a place where one can stay with family. Room charges is within limit. Bus stop is close to the hotel. We enjoyed a lot within two day stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great little place to stay. Great atmosphere, food and activities. Has a kitchen which is handy because Switzerland can be a bit pricey for food.

Can be a bit noisy, but if you like to party and meet people it's ideal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roothee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This place is truly top-notch for a backpackers' hostel as it basically has everything; food, postal service, games room, and very nice bedrooms.I liked how the rooms were styled in a swiss cottage way, rather than the boring bunk bed style of typical hostels. gives the place a more homey feel. Only complaint is that the walls are too thin and we could hear the noises and conversations of our neighbours rather clearly. Showers were generally well maintained, but the hot water was intermittent so we often find ourselves suddenly attacked by bursts of ice cold water halfway through our shower.

Staff were really friendly and more than ready to answer our queries. The food sold there were also considerably cheaper compared to the eateries outside which is good for people like us on a budget. Don't expect five star dishes though, most of it are fast food like burgers and salads. Breakfast was simple but filling since it's buffet-style.

The location is however, some distance from the train station (~15-20min walk) so it's important to leave the place early to catch the train on time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatahazyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Balmer's is really a classic backpacking hostel - great atmosphere, great people, lots of amenities set against the gorgeous backdrop of the Alps. Location is great - the town is small so its easy to walk around. There's some places near the hostel, otherwise about a ten minute walk to the main road.

The hostel offers free breakfast, a free bus ticket, a restaurant and bar (with free drink coupon), hammocks, nightclub, booking for outdoor activities (great convenience!), swiss army knives for sale that they can engrave right there for you.... there's really nothing they can't do! Staff is super friendly and helpful with advice, booking (do the skydiving!), etc. We had a private double on the third floor in the main building. Cool skylight (which when open really cooled the room down, even without a fan) and sink in room, though never had to wait for shared toilet/shower and always found them to be clean. Wifi worked in room since above common room/lobby downstairs. All of this for not a ton of money - your best bet in Interlaken!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloGal017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matten bei Interlaken
0.8 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#33 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#17 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
#1 of 23 in Interlaken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmer's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer's Hostel

Property: Balmer's Hostel
Address: Hauptstrasse 23 - 33, Matten bei Interlaken, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Matten bei Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Matten bei Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Balmer's Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Balmer's Hostel. We are the first established private hostel in Switzerland, providing a comfortable and friendly location from which to explore the adventure capital of Europe. The Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau (Swiss Alps) at our doorstep and two big glacier fed lakes are just a stones throw away. We have dormitories, private rooms, apartments and tents. Rated Top 10 hostels of Europe, a product of over 60 years of experience.We are the heart of all hostels. We strive to bring fun and memorable experiences to our guests so come push your boundaries and party in our Club with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Balmer's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer`s Herberge Hotel Matten
Balmer's Hostel Interlaken/Matten Bei Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing