We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tent Village Rules!!!”
Review of Balmer's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balmer's Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Tent Village Rules!!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

To start off, my friend and I only intended to stay for 2 nights... We stayed 11 days!! the staff is so amazing nothing can beat it. They always have a happy hour at the tents, hammocks to relax in, hottub to socialize, and also tanning chairs. There is always an event almost every night, not always including drinking, but that is always an option!

Angie, Christine, Hayden, Laura, and Mark always made sure the village and it's facilities were clean and in top shape. I would have really missed out had I chosen a diiferent hostel. Thanks for everything guys!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthas1772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    99
    49
    25
    14
See reviews for
14
60
66
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2011

What was meant to be a 2 night stay in the tent village quickly turned into an 11 day stay! The staff are so friendly and helpful! Eric was so great and always had a smile on! At tent village Hayden, Angie, mark, Dan, and Christine were so great- such friendly people. We instantly became friends with each one of them. They are the main reason we stayed so long! Tent village is so great, the set up is different from anything and gave it such a unique and homey feeling. We would have stayed longer but unfortunately had to catch a flight. We plan on going back next summer, I would more than recommend this place to anyone. And be on the look out for Carl at the metro bar, great fun!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randi8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2011

a disappointment. rooms sparsely furnished. minimal conveniences supplied. youd think someone would think to put a hook in the tiny shower room to hang a towel, or a shelf for shampoo bottles. this just one of a dozen examples.

the breakfast is total crap. its a joke really, to where you wonder if you are seriously supposed to enjoy that.

mostly young travelers, kids, if you value half-way decent accomo, look for something else!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visavisberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here with a friend of mine for 2 nights in March 2010, and was completely surprised at what I found. This felt more like a private ski lodge in the middle of the Alps than a "hostel". We were visiting during the off-season, so the town was pretty quiet, which made our stay at this lodge even better. We had a private room upstairs with a skylight where you could look up through from your bed, watching the snow fall on the roof. It was a pleasant 15 minute walk to the main street of the town. I would highly recommend this place to others. You will NOT regret it. I cannot wait to go back already!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_And_Tell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2011

I had a lot of fun at Balmers. The beer garden had a very friendly atmosphere and it was easy to get to know other travelers. Also the happy hour deals were great.

I stayed in a ten bed dorm, and for the first 2 nights I was the only one there, starting on Thursday the rooms started filling up and the entire place was full by Saturday.

I also liked that everywhere in town was within walking distance.

I will be back

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanJMcCulloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

I've stayed in quite a few hostels over the years and it's difficult to get the balance right between meeting other people and having your own space/getting some sleep. Balmer's Herberge is basically a great place to meet other people, but an absolutely woeful place to get any sleep.

The experience is essentially like living inside an American frat party. There is no personal space to speak of - the rooms are incredibly cramped with a seemingly impossible number of bunk beds crammed into them. Worse than that, some of the beds (which are barely the width of a human being) are actually pushed right together, mattress to mattress with no barrier, so it's essentially like sharing a double bed with a complete stranger. Rolling over in the middle of the night will result in either falling on the floor or accidentally lying on top of someone.

You might get away with that if you were sharing with people you enjoyed the company of (like your friends) but being here as a solo traveller was just horrific. About 98% of the people I encountered (and I encountered a lot of people) were drunk American teenagers. If you are a drunk American teenager than I guess you might enjoy that, but I honestly don't think I met a reasonable, sane person the entire time I was there. Don't get me wrong, I like socialising, I like meeting other people, I like parties, but this... this was just like living inside the movie "American Pie".

No doubt if you enjoy this sort of thing - which probably requires you to be about 18, North American and obsessed with "partying" - then you'll love it, but I have no hesitation in labelling Balmer's Herberge as my own personal hell. I'd actually rather stay in a prison than stay somewhere like this again - at least in a prison a warden comes along eventually and tells everyone to be quiet!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blank_frackis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed at Balmer's for 3 nights. I chose it for the price, location and due to breakfast being included in the price as we were out of hotel by 8.30 AM every day. The hotel can be reached easily by foot from interlaken west station or by bus. It is a mere 40-50m from the Hotel Sonne stop.
I have stayed in youth hostels before and hence knew what to expect regarding the crowd and the atmosphere. But we were in a room facing the garden where there was a party every night - we needed ear-plugs. Breakfast was just a choice between bread rolls and museli - but I guess it was something to get us started in the morning.
On the plus side, there was a decent kitchen, fridge,dry storage, free wi-fi of accessing from your own devices, free bus tickets, good advice from the reception, game room, TV room, nice garden as well as lots of restaurants around.
Go for it if you need budget accomodation with good facilities and can sleep through a rumbunctious party!

Room Tip: The private rooms are a good option for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JadedTouristLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matten bei Interlaken
0.7 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#31 of 40 in Interlaken
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#13 of 40 in Interlaken
170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
#1 of 23 in Interlaken
589 reviews
0.7 mi away
Interlaken Youth Hostel
Interlaken Youth Hostel
#2 of 23 in Interlaken
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmer's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer's Hostel

Property: Balmer's Hostel
Address: Hauptstrasse 23 - 33, Matten bei Interlaken, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Matten bei Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Matten bei Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Balmer's Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Balmer's Hostel. We are the first established private hostel in Switzerland, providing a comfortable and friendly location from which to explore the adventure capital of Europe. The Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau (Swiss Alps) at our doorstep and two big glacier fed lakes are just a stones throw away. We have dormitories, private rooms, apartments and tents. Rated Top 10 hostels of Europe, a product of over 60 years of experience.We are the heart of all hostels. We strive to bring fun and memorable experiences to our guests so come push your boundaries and party in our Club with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Balmer's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer`s Herberge Hotel Matten
Balmer's Hostel Interlaken/Matten Bei Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing