We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, but not super special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Lago Verde

El Lago Verde
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.69*
and up
Lanzarote Day Tour Including Wine Tasting
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in El Golfo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice place, but not super special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

If you are close by, check it out, otherwise maybe not really worth the effort. It is a nice green lake, or inland water, not much more than that.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luar_LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    713
    654
    319
    75
    14
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exactly as described”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Well El Golfo is off the beaten track but this black beach and volcanic pool is a lovely change to the landscape I'm the area. Some very good fish restaurants are in the village and a great place to see the sun go down in the evening!

Helpful?
Thank ADL-ATR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best thing for me in Lanzarote”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I had a great time here had visited in my 20;s returned again in my 50's nothing changed..again Lanzarote is such a timeless place. I appreciated it more this time than ever we were their for sunset so got lovely pink clouds and the moon came out..the lake stays the same colour..walked down the chippy slope (take shoes that don't let pepples in and have good grip) to walk along side the lake which I also greatly enjoyed..you can hear the ocean here more than you can up above and it seems to echo it..what a special place to have both the ocean and a lake like this so close..I took a panaroma side shot of my friend with the sea, lake and sky great...!

We went at about 5pm not too busy and great it is free as it should be really as its natures natural wonder.

If you were organized you could walk from another village and approach it the other way would like to find time to do that.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

A small beach with a very unique twist, worth going to see, the waters are beautiful and the views from the cliffs are amazing. There is also a few restaurants if you don't mind a bit of a walk close by. Worth having a visit my son loved it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

A dramatic bay in the SE of Lanzarote. The cliffs that form the bay are the remaining half of a volcanic crater. The other half of the crater has disappeared in a violent explosion sometime in the past. The remaining beach is essentially where the centre of the crater once was. Stand in the centre of these geological features and imagine the magnitude of the forces of nature that produced them and you may, as I did, experience a moment when the hairs on the back of your neck stand to attention.

The fantastic swell of the Atlantic Ocean and the curious Green Lagoon add further interest to this special place. Lanzarote's laudable eco tourism policy means the bay has no development, allowing you to enjoy the majesty of the bay almost as nature created it. Curiously this does mean you are unlikely to make a trip to El Golfo in isolation. I would therefore recommend you visit it on one of the island tours.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DP1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Lago Verde also viewed

Lanzarote, Canary Islands
 
Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Lanzarote, Canary Islands
 

Been to El Lago Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing