We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a peaceful place to eat”

Restaurante Bogavante
Ranked #6 of 15 Restaurants in El Golfo
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Rest Bogavante is located in a privileged area from which you can see magnificent sunsets surrounded by the sea breeze of the Atlantic, while tasting the typical cuisine of the island, among which is our wide range of seafood (viejas , gallos, meros, lapas, octopus, etc), along with our soupy rice with lobster or carabiner; also you can taste our scalding gofio. Come and enjoy a family friendly environment, which you can enjoy with your family puddles hosting diverse marine life.-
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Such a peaceful place to eat”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Out family stopped here to get a bite to eat before visiting the famed beaches nearby. What a peaceful, pleasant place to stop. Food is super fresh and the service is excellent and friendly.

Helpful?
4 Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    158
    56
    16
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Low quality, old disgusting fish and total rip off!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I read reviews about this place and went for a dinner. The owner was very rude as we arrived quite late but i asked if was still ok to eat or too late. She said was ok so we stopped by.
Apart from "puntillas" which were good, we were served old disgusting fish as main meal with only a few papas arrugadas and no salad or vegetables of any kind as it normally happens anywhere else.
We left most of the fish in the dishes..
We also ordered a jag of white wine "of the house" so didn't come from a bottle at all which was ok but, apart from the fact that it tested like water, the price was a total rip off. Almost €15 while in other places we paid between €6 and €10!
We'll never go back to a place with rude people, poor service and low quality food like this!
DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS AT ALL! We tried other places around this restaurant so the choice is vaste and it's definetely possible to eat better at El Golfo..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Franco Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This restaurant couldn't be closer to the beach!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

You sit right beside the black beach watching the sun go down whilst listening to the waves crash on the black rocks and eat the divine fish caught locally that day. It's perfect. Definitely one of the best meals we have eaten on the island. Staff were helpful and friendly too. Tip go for the catch of the day for the best fresh fish which is boned for you at your table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A delicious lunch right on the beach”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stopped off here for a leisurely lunch after visiting the volcanoes. We were reasonably early (about 12.30pm) so managed to get a table at the front of the terrace, with a uninterrrupted view of the beach and sea. It is certainly a stunning location, albeit a little windy (but it is Lanzarote alfter all!). The service was very good and our waitress was attentive. We chose a selection of dishes as tapas, and can definitely recommend the prawns in garlic (delicious) as well as the fried cheese and grilled octopus. Watch out for the cats brushing against your legs!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mags005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely views, food, situation”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lovely place. exceptional seafood simply cooked. Sit out by the waves and the sea air!
Only thing, watch the feet / under the tables if sitting outside. It seemed to be a giant cat litter tray, but that didn't take away from the experience at all.
staff could be a little friendlier and more attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevinthecamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Bogavante also viewed

 
El Golfo, Lanzarote
 
El Golfo, Lanzarote
 

Been to Restaurante Bogavante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing