We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why only 2 stars should be 5”
Review of Hotelito del Golfo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotelito del Golfo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in El Golfo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Hotelito Del Golfo is a small Hotel run by Marta and her mother Isabel.
It has 9 great rooms with totally equipped bathrooms.
The rooms are being cleaned on a daily base and have an excellent sea view situated at the poolside. Breakfast is continental with sufficient types of bread en ham, cheese etc. every day an egg, little pancakes, and fresh orange juice and so on.
The pool filled with seawater is nice and there are sufficient chairs around it where you can lay on. The whole day Marta is somewhere around to serve you drinks and little snacks.
In the evening it is very quit because there are no further hotels and all the tourists who are there during the day disappeared.
To be short the Hotelito Del Golfo is a typical family run hotel where the never lasting smile of Marta is always around.
It is a sure thing that when we are coming to Lanzarote again we will be surely return to the Hotelito Del Golfo, the place to be on Lanzarote

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 94 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Hotelito for one night. Never again!

On arrival we were met by an elderly gentleman who gave us our room key. There was no checking-in process and no information about what was and was not included in the cost of our stay. No one asked to see our passports. This is the only time I have ever stayed in a hotel in Spain (and I have stayed in many) and not been asked for sight of my passport.

Our room was fairly large, had an en suite bathroom and was quite clean but that is where the good news ends. The furnishings were old and tired as was the decoration. The bathroom was dingy and old fashioned and there were a number of electric cables present which I didn't think was very safe. There was a shower over the bath attached to a loose bracket but no shower curtain. This meant that when taking a shower one had to either accept that the bathroom floor would become very wet - another safety issue - or squat in the bath which is both undignified, and for someone of my age, uncomfortable. When I mentioned this on checking out to a lady who I think was one of the owners she said, in a rather irritated way "I don't like shower curtains." So much for customer service!

The bedroom had no air-conditioning and no electric fan was provided even though the temperature was in the upper 20's. The consequence was that the windows had to be kept open at all times which meant that mosquitos had easy assess to the room and I ended up covered in bites.

Breakfast was very plain to say the least. It included doughy bread, 'plastic' ham, tasteless orange squash and the most bitter coffee I have ever had.

On checking out we were told that we would have to pay extra because two of us shared a double room - we thought that was what double rooms were for. This is information which should have been given to us at check-in had there been one. Instead we were presented with a fait accompli. The outcome was that we paid more to stay at Hotelito than we did to stay at the modern five star and very comfortable Gran Hotel Arrecife last year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelitodelGolfo, Propietario at Hotelito del Golfo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

We don´t have any comprehension for non-constructive feedback, as it´s expressed in this type of commentary.
El Hotelito del Golfo ia a small and family hotel, not belongs a big company. For this reason here Works all our family (grandparents, parents, offspring...)
Of course, we do understand that here are persons who may not like the style and decoration of the hotel. Naturally, there can be critics and suggestions and we try to improve. This is a rural hotel for this reason the furnitures are typical and rural.
Some rooms have bath screens, we are changing this slowly.
When you made your reservation through booking.com, you can see that we have not air conditioning in our facilities.
Breakfast is included, we believe that our buffet breakfast is ok, because contains fruits, yogurt, cereals, different types of bread, cheese, ham, jams, eggs, tomatoes, cakes, coffe, orange juice (This hotel has 2*)
The problem with your reservation was that you booked a double room individual use, and you and your partner are two. We tried to explain your mistake, because you choose this type of room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

tIt takes a lot for me to want to write a bad review and my 40 contributions on TA to date will attest to that. My partner and I have travelled extensively for 35-40 years. We have stayed in hotels all over Spain and the Canaries and are Lanzarote residents.

We will never return to this hotel for several reasons. It was obvious to us from the beginning of our stay here that the owners pay little attention to quality. Yes, it's a 2 star but it compares poorly to many others we have stayed in over the years - it's neither cheap nor value for money yet the owners seem happy to do things "on the cheap".

Let me give you some examples:
1.On arrival the we were met by a very elderly gentleman sitting at an outside table drinking cans of beer. There was no sign of staff at Reception.
2.Our room (in mid-October) was extremely hot, even at night. It was almost impossible to sleep. I can't imagine how hot it would be in the summer months. There is no air conditioning and the hotel doesn't provide fans.
3.The heat in the room was made worse because the curtains are ill-fitting and don't stop sun coming into the room.
4.The room had some cheap and dated furniture and the beds and bedding were basic. The sheet on my bed had a very noticeable stain. When I tried to inforn someone on Reception, guess what? Nobody was there.
5.The bathroom has dangerous loose wires hanging above the sink. There was no shower curtain, meaning that water went all over the floor near the toilet and sink. For older people like us, that is dangerous.
6.The breakfast was poor. I advise you not to believe previous reviews. I hadn't expected much but the sight of pale, cheap-looking bread rolls, plain oats, a large bowl of plain yoghurt, jam, slices of cheap sandwich ham and cheese, were uninviting. The most tasty item was slices of tomato.The orange juice was thin tasteless orange squash but, worst still, the coffee had a dreadful chemical smell and taste. I couldn't drink it. Like I said earlier, the problem is that things are done on the cheap here.

After lying awake most of the night, at 7.30am staff could be heard talking continuously and at full volume just below our room. Do they think that's acceptable to guests?

Finally, if we had not had a bad enough experience already, at check-out we were told "you have only paid for one person", and were asked to pay a significant amount extra for the room. I was aghast. Why would a hotel wait until you were leaving to tell you this information? We were made to feel like cheats and were treated with disrepect. When making this booking via booking.com I searched for a room for 2 people and then booked a twin room. Although the fault has turned out notto be the hotel but the booking.com system, nevertheless we were made to feel like it was our fault by the hotel staff and at the end of our stay.

After reluctantly paying the hotel the amount demanded, we later realised we had insufficient cash which caused us additional problems. We were so pleased to get home after this disasterous experience in a poor hotel. Never again. Please be warned.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PaulPDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelitodelGolfo, Propietario at Hotelito del Golfo, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We will not expand so much, because I have cleared all your points in the previous review, that your partner made on 18/10/13.
We are open to suggestion, not lies, because it is a destructive review.
El Hotelito del Golfo has been open for 15 years and never we have a comment like this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hotelito means small, almost tiny hotel - and "El Hotelito del Golfo" in the small white village of El Golfo, some 16 km west of Playa Blanca in the Southwest of Lanzarote has only 9 rooms, 6 double and 3 single bed rooms. Maximum capacity of guests: 15. But is has a nice little swimming pool with salt water from the ocean and almost all rooms have a balcony overlooking the coastline, which is perhaps 100m away, impressive with its black lava riffs and rags and the never ending surging billows of the atlantic ocean running against them. The hotelito is clean, has spacious rooms, a good breakfast, dayly room service, one of the best "gambas al ajillo" cooked by the owner who used to operate a restaurant together with the hotel. Now it is managed by Martha, her daughter, who studied turism. Both are very friendly and responsible for an atmosphere of calmness and relaxation.
We stayed for 7 days and had fish and sea food every lunch and every dinner in one of the lovely simple (6 or seven) restaurants of this fishermans village. By chance: the two best of them are neighboring the hotelito and - differing from the majority of tripadvisors comments - we even liked El Restaurante del Mar (Raffa) even a bit more than "La Lapa", but they are all serving excellent fresh fish and sea food.
O.K., when Martha or her mother are occasionally out, there is no service of a coffee or a glass of wine on the spacious terrace with much more seats than the capacity of the hotelito asks for, but these are consequences of the tininess of this charming place which we gladly accepted.

Room Tip: Our room was No. 1 and very spacious with balcony and views of the ocean and the hotels terrace - ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Imhoffj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

A little gem in Lanzarote where you can enjoy breathtaking sunsets and relax. Clean and furnished with taste (most of the rooms, say n.2). One only complain: rooms are priced very similarly while room quality varies a lot. El Golfo is gorgeous.

Room Tip: Avoid room n.2. Though El Golfo has plenty of opportunities for dining, be prepared to drive if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pico_Giramondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My friend & i have just returned back from El Golfo in Lanzarote (Nov 12). We had a really great time. The Hotelito del Golfo was a great little place with great service, food, everything you can imagine. The rooms were lovely, clean & spacious, cleaned each day. The owners were really lovely people, the continental breakfast each morning was just perfect, couldn't wait for 8.30am, each morning! El Golfo was a real surprise, it was just so beautiful & full of very friendly locals. All of the restaurants were busy each evening, our favouite being La Lapa, right next door to the hotel. The village is right on the coast, sunsets amazing, the whole feel of the place was just wonderful, has a really great time, we would highly recommend El Golfo & the hotel. If you go you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We visited El Golfo last year for lunch as we heard that the little whitewashed fishing village has some great seafood restaurants. We were not disappointed and so drove back another day for lunch. When planning our Lanzarote trip his time, I wanted to stay a few nights in El Golfo as I wanted to take a bit more time (two days) enjoying the restaurants (without having to plan for around who is going to abstain from the liquid lunch to drive home), to see the village in the evening when the daytrippers had gone and to wake up with the rugged sea that is so much a part of El Golfo.
There is very limited accommodation in El Golfo so was delighted to see the Hotelito del Golfo. The price per room is very reasonable and the place is very well maintained. It has a pool and plenty of seating areas for guests to enjoy the sun and views. Our room and its bathrom were spacious with a balcony with a great view of the sea and village. The room and the general areas are spotless as they are cleaned daily. We had an infant with us and the balcony was enclosed and safe and as the bathroom was big enough, we were able to roll the cot in there in the evenings. The breakfast is a continental buffet breakfast which while limited in variety it made up for in the selected items. The tomato and garlic bread was fantastic each morning.
My advice is to try and make your visit to El Golfo an overnight stay to get to really take it in and stay at the Hotelito del Golfo as your room of choice. El Golfo is a great base to explore the lava fields around Timanfaya national park and has an interesting green pool in an old volcanic caldera within walking distance of the village.

Room Tip: Room 9 is one of the two upstairs rooms with probably the widest and unhindered view of the sea. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WhaleBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Golfo
8.5 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,010 reviews
19.3 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,576 reviews
8.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Hotel Diamar
Hotel Diamar
#3 of 9 in Arrecife
477 reviews
20.9 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
4.6 mi away
La Casona de Yaiza
La Casona de Yaiza
#1 of 5 in Yaiza
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelito del Golfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelito del Golfo

Address: Avenida Maritima 6, 35570 El Golfo, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > El Golfo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in El Golfo
Price Range: $74 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotelito del Golfo 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotelito del Golfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing