We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality At It's Best!”
Review of Le Chaton Rouge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Chaton Rouge
Reviewed September 20, 2012

What a find! Sarah is a most amazing host and wonderful cook! The accommodation was extremely tasteful - what a restoration tour de force! Thank you Sarah we arrived as guests and left as friends! We will be back and cannot recommend this highly enough to other travellers.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Exchangers1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 72 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

What a beautiful home! Sarah was the perfect hostess and made us feel so welcome. The 2 bedroom suite was ideal for our family of four enabling us to enjoy Sarahs wonderful cooking whilst the children slept. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSF_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

What a wonderful start to our French holiday. Sarah welcomed us as she would an old friend. The rooms were so cosy and the meal in the garden and perfect mix of informality and terrific food. If only the rest of the holiday accommodation was that good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobH547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My partner and I stayed overnight on our way back to England. Sarah was a very welcoming and talented host, and cooked us a delicious dinner. We stayed in the top floor room, which is actually a bedroom and living room, and there was plenty of space. The rooms are at the front of the house, and although the D road outside does get a few long distance lorries at night according to Sarah, we slept well. If we had arrived earlier we might had drink before dinner at the pleasant looking village bar across the road. The charge for b&b is a little expensive but then it is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andygryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at this superb B&B on our way down, and then a week later on our way back from the Dordogne. Sarah is a wonderful host and made us so welcome, I cannot recommend this place highly enough. The rooms are beautifully clean and all the little luxurious touches made our stay so special. We we're given Bubbles and Cassis outside in the pretty courtyard before dinner, and then treated to a feast! All the food is fresh and most of it comes from Sarah's own garden. Breakfast was delicious homemade bread and a variety of homemade jams and preserves and a big bowl of fresh fruit from the garden, along with a lot of other things,croissants, cereals etc. Wouldn't hesitate to go back if we are ever in this part of France again. Thank you Sarah for helping to make our holiday so special.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Enjoyed a fantastic stay- only wish that we could have spent longer! Sarah prepared a lovely al fresco meal for the kids and made us feel so welcome. We were then treated to a delicious evening meal - the food, wine and company all superb! The rooms were equally stylish, clean and comfortable. Thank you Sarah!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlewis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Unfortuately we only stayed one night on our travel back up to the ferry and we wished we could have stayed longer! This b and b is totally charming - decorated beautifully and full of character! Sarah is a wonderful hostess - we enjoyed a couple of glasses of fizz with home-made cassis on arrival and then were treated to her culinary skills over dinner - 4 fantastic courses served in the courtyard in the the covered dining area which is so cosy. We will return for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmylu220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Chaton Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chaton Rouge

Address: 4 rue du Calvaire, 72150 Saint-Pierre-du-Lorouer, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Saint-Pierre-du-Lorouer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Pierre-du-Lorouer
Price Range: $105 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the countryside of the Valley du Loir, between vineyards and forests; the B&B of 'Le Chaton Rouge' welcomes you with open arms.Located in the middle of the picturesque, small village of St Pierre du Lorouer.Le Chaton Rouge is an ideal place to stop-over for a night or more thanks to its accessibility and numerous activities & sights close by. (Tables d'hotes available when arranged in advance)Only 20 minutes from Le Mans circuit, and 10 minutes from auto route A28 junction 24. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Chaton Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing