We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a shame”
Review of Brunston Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brunston Castle
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Such a shame”
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

As a mother of young children I am very disappointed about the leisure facilities - in fact after one swim with my children I refused to get in the pool again, which is usually a highlight of our holiday, however it was filthy and full of hair. Also all the edges are mouldy due to the fact the pool is lined with a rubber sheet - not tiles that we usually have. The small baby pool opened on the last day of our weeks holiday and there's no Jacuzzi. We had no tv for the whole week despite being told when we checked in that it was being sorted in the next couple of days as it was only due to a fault with an aerial. Once reception closes at 8:30 everyone has to leave the communal Tv room and games room and the place closes down. It is surrounded by some nice hills but that's about all. With regard to the cottage it is ok but dated, I know mattresses need protecting but I have never had a bed with plastic sheeting and only a very thin sheet covering it. This has to be the worst exchange we have made and we will not risk a seasons location again. On the plus side for the area culzean castle is well worth a trip especially if you have national trust membership.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bonnybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    115
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
167
123
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were very impressed with the countryside around the resort as we drew up to the gates. When we actually got into the lodge it was another matter. The lodge was dated and fixtures and fittings are in need of upgrading, soon. The onsite facilities are minimal and the cost for simple things like DVD rental are high. The kids pool was out of use for our entire stay. There isn't a bar onsite although you are directed to the castle golf club. The titular castle is accessible via a short walk across the greens of the golf course and it is surrounded by nettles and thorns.

Overall compared to other exchanges we have done the lodges are dated and the facilities poor. We expected more.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This place is a bit of a plain Jane. The accommodation is fine, and it's well built because we've had quite a storm go through today.
The pool is ok, but if you look closely there is mould on the rubber sheeting on the water edge, having worked at a pool this can be easily scrubbed off without chemicals, just a piece of scotchbrite.
What is infuriating is the lack of TV, the aerial has suffered some sort of flood damage, so they are waiting the delivery of some internal aerials which will then be fitted by their maintenance guys ( two required per aerial) so I doubt I will see any of he Paraolympics this week. They are offering free DVD rentals, but please.........there's no B&Q store nearby or other places with aerials? Either they are blatantly lying, or they are trying to source them cheaply at the expense of this weeks guests.
Blowing a gale my kids couldn't go out and wanted to watch some TV, no chance, and I've listened to several guests complaining about how much they've paid to have an important facility un available. In fact it's possibly illegal to advertise these units with TVs and then they don't work.
Girvan is the local town, a fair sized ASDA but that's it. Ayr is 15 miles away with some shopping to be had and bigger supermarkets.
Anyway, we were told about the TV situation as we checked in, since then they've communicated nothing, not even a printout to be out on a board, or the front door, totally amateurish customer care, but then it's just young girls managing the place, no sign whatsoever of a manager.
I advise you to really think hard about coming here, there are better places to spend your money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LargefamilyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy Valley
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Just got back from a week at Brunston Castle. The accommodation was excellent, as usual for Seasons resorts. The resort was well maintained and was in quiet and pleasant surroundings. We knew from a previous visit that there was no bar or restaurant on site, but that there were other leisure facilities. Unfortunately these all closed at 7:30pm. As we were there during the long summer days this meant that we were unable to use the facilities on most days as we were out enjoying the surrounding countryside. We found that the free wifi extended to just outside the building, but found that we were attacked by midges after sitting outside for 5 minutes one evening, as the lounge was locked. Whilst using the lounge it would be nice to be able to get a cup of coffee and some chocolate or other snacks, even if only from a vending machine, however as reception is manned between 10:00 - 20:00 surely it would not be too difficult to have a small shop selling non perishable confectionary. When compared to other Seasons resorts I'm afraid that Brunston Castle does not represent good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ifangoch a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I did a timeshare swap with Interval and was again pleasently suprised by the 2nd Seasons Resort in a month. Lodge was roomy and warm and well appointed. Rented a 3 bedroom Lodge but the only down side was the twin room which was on the small side. The cooker had seen better days and the numbers were missing (rubbed off) for the temperature dial, even after getting the manual from reception and trying in vain to get the oven to a reasonable temperature we gave up and just used the microwave instead. One of the party took ill during our stay and the resort staff were marvellous calling the local doctor and even coming up to our lodge to see how the ill person was doing. Definately need a car here to get round to the local shops and Girvan is a little dream of a fishing village. Will try to swap again next year to this resort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karmazyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Just returned from a week's holiday,very high standard of accomodation lovely clean site pool good. Check out The Roxy Pub Bridge street Girvan excellant food and garden overlooking the harbour.

Room Tip: lodges are better at the top of the hill near reception, just so that you don't have the walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I went in april 2009 and love it and are going back in june 2012!
great lodges very nicely decorated, homely and large.
the swimming pool and bar are all very nice and all staff are great, friendly and welcoming.
Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dailly
6.9 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
449 reviews
4.3 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
128 reviews
5.1 mi away
Southfield Hotel
Southfield Hotel
#2 of 5 in Girvan
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
274 reviews
4.4 mi away
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
4.2 mi away
Turnberry Links Estate
Turnberry Links Estate
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunston Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunston Castle

Property: Brunston Castle
Address: Brunston Avenue, Dailly KA26 9GB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Dailly
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Dailly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a magnificent rural idyll, the resort and golf course is named after the original 16th Century Brunston Castle. Set in 25 acres of landscaped grounds in the peaceful Girvan Valley, just five miles from Ayrshire's picturesque coastline, Brunston Castle makes the perfect place from which to explore the wonderful west of Scotland and perfect for a golf break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brunston Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunston Castle Hotel Dailly
Brunston Castle Scotland/Dailly, Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing