We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunston Castle”
Review of Brunston Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brunston Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2011

The Resort is located close to Dailly which is a very small village about 6 miles from the coast.We were given a 3 bedroom unit despite there only being the two of us. It was not very upmarket but comfortable with a fully equipped kitchen and a large open plan dining and sitting room. The bedrooms contained only single beds and in the main bedroom these were pushed together to make a double bed. The staff were friendly and helpful and there is a minimum of fuss at check-in and check-out. The beds were comfortable and the lodges well positioned so there is little interference from third parties.Laundry facilities are available at the main reception.The area is excellent for walking and we encountered many hikers on our exploring of the surrounds. The Brunston Castle golf course is very picturesque and a very short walk from the resort. It was disappointing that there was no actual Brunston Castle but, according to the lovely lady at reception, there is supposedly an old ruined wall part of it nearby. We made up for that disappointment by visiting Culzean castle which is about 5 miles away and that was really special to visit. The coastal road to Ayr is very beautiful with good views of Ailsa Craig and the island of Arran. We found that the ASDA supermarket in Girvan, (about 6 miles away) had everything we needed and had probably the cheapest prices of all the supermarkets in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bob_N1522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 424 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed with his cousins at Brunston Castle Season's at the end of April 2011.

The location is just beautiful. Lovely rolling hills with a golf course down the road. Our cottage was spacious with two floors. The lower floor had a good sized bedroom with it's own private full bathroom and the main floor had two spacious bedrooms with one full bathroom (and Jacuzzi tub) and a second two piece bathroom. The living room was massive with two additional pull out leather sofas and a dining table for 8. The kitchen was well equipped for average cooking.

In the Reception building was an indoor swimming pool as well as exercise room. They do offer free wifi, but I had difficulties logging on with my laptop. It seemed to only work when I was stood right at the reception desk... so that is where I did all of my logging on. The staff were simply delightful. Everyone was very friendly and service was prompt.

The only downside for me was the single beds pushed together to make a larger bed. The beds were on wheels and were not clipped together so my hubby ended up falling between the two beds.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tyme2trekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

I am a Seasons member and I booked a 4 night stay at Brunston Castle for 6 of us, which inluded my 4 year old grandaughter. We were in a 4 bedroom lodge which was well furnished and well equiped. There was huge leather sofas in the living room which was more than adequate and the beds were very comfortable.
I would recommend this for seeing the area which is beautiful. My grandaughter had a great time with her mum and dad at the pool most days. As it was September, there was no problem with crowds. Towels were also supplied at the pool.
Also great for golfers, although none of us are!
The adjacent golf club served nice reasonably priced food and the staff were very friendly and great with my grandaughter. Special mention to Moira.
We also ate at the Roxy in Girvan which quite reasonable and good food and had a nice beer garden.
Ayr is only about 20 minutes away, so had an afternoon there.
We also shopped at the Co-op in Dailly.
While the others went to see the electric brae and the Pirate Island (I think that was the name), myself and my friend took a drive down the coast to Stranraer which was really worth it for the views.
The only downside was the downstairs bedrooms were a bit damp and musty smelling. Although the weather was changeable, we had a really enjoyable break.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggydee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We have recently returned from Seasons at Brunston Castle, staying in a 3-bedroomed lodge. First of all, we can say that the grounds of the resort are very well maintained together with the reception/pool building. Of all the timeshare lodges both in the UK and worldwide we have visited over the years, we have never come across one as basic as these are. The furniture is what we would describe as flat pack, the cooker and hob had definitely seen better days with temperature gauge numbers non-existent. The back of the TV remote had either been lost or smashed, and oh dear, had been replaced with a large plaster instead! If you are used to luxury, we would not recommend these lodges at all as you are likely to be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank TheCloos65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed in one of the Seasons lodges. We loved it - modern, spacious, clean, comfortable to the point of luxurious and well-equipped, a real home from home. A fantastic place to stay - we'd recommend it to anybody. We were also in one with a great view of the valley - not all have that view, but it's green all round so very pleasant wherever.

The pool area was hardly used, so no problems accessing it. No real communal sociable place to gather though or bar / restaurant.

Lots to see and do - car essential. Ayr is a lovely beach resort and the water was really warm for May. Great family location with lots of free activities. The National Trust place is fantastic - well worth a full day's visit. Lots of excellent golf courses. Glasgow is only an hour away.

The only downside is that the resort is a long way from anywhere, especially if you're travelling up form England. When you get to the Scottish border it's still 2 hours drive.

We'll definitely go again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenhillsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We exchanged a week to be here, and were not disappointed. Well-planned and very comfortable bungalows, in a most beautiful area. Location was superb, good access to all the lovely places around this part of Scotland. We mostly catered for ourselves - admittedly having 6 of everything for the 2 of us made life considerably easier, but the golf course restaurant served quite adequate and reasonably priced meals. Plenty of information was provided on local sights and restaurants; the added bonus was that the weather was kind to us, only one real day of rain. We shall certainly be back, hopefully for longer next time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silvertraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank lexav214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen P, Manager at Brunston Castle, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dailly
13.9 mi away
Western House Hotel
16.7 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
314 reviews
4.4 mi away
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Turnberry Links Estate
Turnberry Links Estate
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
17 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Brunston Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunston Castle

Address: Brunston Avenue, Dailly KA26 9GB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Dailly
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Dailly
Price Range: $81 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a magnificent rural idyll, the resort and golf course is named after the original 16th Century Brunston Castle. Set in 25 acres of landscaped grounds in the peaceful Girvan Valley, just five miles from Ayrshire's picturesque coastline, Brunston Castle makes the perfect place from which to explore the wonderful west of Scotland and perfect for a golf break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brunston Castle Hotel Dailly
Brunston Castle Scotland/Dailly, Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing