We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just avoid Basil...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Neve Ilan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Neve Ilan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Neve Ilan
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just avoid Basil...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2010

If you can avoid the Basil Fawlty manager character that lurks around this hotel ready to tell you off for such crimes as arriving at the restaurant 5 minutes after closing or daring to want to pay $15 for 4 coffees after dinner then this is a pleasant hotel. The corridors on each floor are on a curve that can seem to go on forever and ever when you're returning to your room at the end of the day but I suppose it's character. The rooms are clean, they have AC but it's not switched on unless the Israelis think it's hot and there are tea and coffee making facilities, well, there's a kettle and sachets, you are meant to buy the milk each day from the bar. The shower is nice and strong and the TV picks up English speaking channels. The location is OK, you will need a car to get to Jerusalem and the locality is a bit of a building site but it's not too bad. Arriving back in the coach the 13 speed bumps you have to go over were a bit much but I survived! The dining hall is large and well stocked, the stray cats staring wistfully in through the windows and the praying mantis on the ceiling were an interesting addition! We enjoyed the communal seating in the lobby but missed out on the outside seating that was also meant to be very nice. Rumour had it that there was also a gym that you had to pay to use, not sure if this is true. Coming from the UK I was slightly surprised to see the receptionist had marked our nationality on the bill as The Netherlands but I guess it doesn't matter. Interestingly while we were there the hotel seemed to be changing currency at a spectacularly good rate, they must have been making a loss, but when we pointed it out they were adamant that they were correct...which is just fine by us.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackQuatermass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    56
    19
    18
    3
See reviews for
89
22
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

We stayed two nights, one of which was on a holiday. The hotel is equivalent to a nice Holiday Inn. The rooms were clean and comfortable, except for the chairs. The quality of the facilities were highly variable, but the important ones, like the dining room, lobby and patio were very nice. It was very pleasant to sit out on their deck having something to drink in the evening, while enjoying the cool breeze of the Jerusalem hills. Service was very good. Everyone seemed to want to please, and the holiday crowd did not seem to be too much for them. Parking is free and relatively close to the entrance. Nearby Abu Gosh offers some excellent Arab restaurants. there is a pool and sports club next to the hotel, which guests can use.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2008

I recently stayed at this hotel in Jerusalem. I will go by pieces. a) it is far enough away from the actual city of Jerusalem that for those who like the quiet view it is nice, but also so far that without a car it is worthless, and you cannot plan to comeback during the day; b) It is a classic groups hotel, we were lucky and got in just ahead of 4 buses unloading a hoard of groups that would have made the check in impossible; c) while it has amenities, they are extremely limited, i.e. 3 hotels for this many people are insufficient; d) better plan for breakfast elsewhere, for while included, it really does depend on your tastes (and trust me I have traveled around the world and am willing to eat most anything).

In summary, if a quiet view is what you are looking for, if you want to be close and in contact with the city, look elsewhere because it isn’t that cheap.

  • Liked — Simplicity
  • Disliked — Location and cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonzalorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2008

We stayed at the Neve Ilan hotel the night before New Year's Eve. The hotel room is somewhat similar to "extended stay " hotels like the Amerisuites in the US; it large and comfortable but without character. The staff is courteous but not as tourist friendly as the staff in the hotels we stayed in Tel Aviv. While it is a OK place, it is not impressive.
We chose the hotel because it advertised itself as being only 15 minutes from Jerusalem, how ever this is not the case. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere and getting to Jerusalem can be challenging. The best option is a Taxi that will cost you 20 dolars each way, but then you have to call and wait at least 20 minutes. In both occasions traffic was pretty heavy and it took us 40 minutes to get to the Old City. By bus it is almost 1.5 hours. There is no shuttle service.
There is also no place nearby to stroll around have dinner or enjoy the night. The closest city, Abu Gosh is somewhat too far for a walk and there is no walking path.
For the money we spent in transportation and the time we lost we would probably be better off paying more for a hotel near the old city.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ampmtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

Orbitz messed up our reservation but we got in anyway when we arrived. it is a simple, but comfortable, mostly but not completely clean place. it lies in an incredible location in the Judean hills and the folk there are very friendly, helpful and interesting. The nearby Moshav is full of historical interest and it is about 12 miles drive from Jerusalem. Although if you are driving you need to be careful not to get lost beacuse the road maps are ALL out of date. Israeli breakfafsts plentiful delicious and quite good depending on the day. Arab waiters kind.. Weekends are busy with families but it's all great fun. There is a synagogue if you need to thank G-d for anything. Lovely grounds. If you are an Elvis nut go to nearby gas station.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Location indeterminate for drivers
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank HeraldoZomplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
284 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2006

Even though the hotel is on a moshav about a dozen miles outside Jerusalem (so you need a car to get around from hotel), I think it's one of the best kept secrets in Israel. The hotel is in the hills with a great view of the coastal plain below. The rooms are large and comfortable, the hotel is well-maintained, and the full Israeli breakfast buffet is unbeatable. If you've never had an Israeli breakfast before, you don't know what you're missing. All this for $100 per night.

The hotel is right off the main Tel Aviv- Jerusalem highway, so it's convenient to both cities, and to the airport (about 30 minutes away). It's also close to the Israeli Arab village of Abu Ghosh, with great restaurants for dinner. There is plenty of shopping close by in the town of Mevaseret Tsion.

On weekends (Friday/Saturday) the place fills up with people from Jerusalem looking for a getaway, but weekdays it's pretty quiet, mostly with business guests.

The front desk staff generally speak very good English if you don't speak Hebrew. This is a solid 3 star hotel that I've stayed in twice now, and I've been very satisfied with it. If you're willing to rent a car and risk the insanity of Israeli drivers, this is the place to stay near Jerusalsm.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank mrancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neve Ilan
0.0 mi away
C-Hotel Neve Illan
C-Hotel Neve Illan
#2 of 2 in Neve Ilan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cramim Resort & Spa by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
3.0 mi away
Tzuba Hotel
Tzuba Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tzuba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shoresh Green Hills
Shoresh Green Hills
#1 of 1 in Shoresh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gordonia Private Hotel
Gordonia Private Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ma'ale HaHamisha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Yehuda
Hotel Yehuda
#11 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neve Ilan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neve Ilan Hotel

Property: Neve Ilan Hotel
Address: Judean Hills | PO Box 49233, Neve Ilan 91400, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Neve Ilan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Neve Ilan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Neve Ilan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 160 spacious and well equipped rooms, a gift shop, a health club including swimming pool, heated and covered in the winter, dry sauna, steam bath and well-equipped exercise room. For recreation and relaxation there are tennis courts, cozy charming shaded corners and bicycle riding (helmet supplied) along the attractive surrounding trails. The Children's club has a play station and a Consular WII. "Think games" are available for enjoyment of the entire family. The modern convention center offers 12 newly renovated halls of different sizes to hold seminars and business or private events. The well equipped halls provide for conferences of a high professional level. Functions for up to 1000 guests can be held in the banquet garden with its beautiful green surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Neve Ilan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing